Motivation logo

"Be a Santa- Bring a smile on face"

"A good deed"

By Rumzz Bajwa Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2
"Be a Santa- Bring a smile on face"
Photo by Gabrielle Audu on Unsplash

To witness a good deed sometimes leaves a lasting impression on us. We all have someone who pushed us to be a better person in life. Many incidents that occur to us in everyday life leave us in a shock, sad, happy and seldom excited with the curiosity to live it more. Humans are beautiful creations of God while human emotions are strong, giving us the ray and direction to live a life. Without emotions and feelings that allow us to connect with others, we are nothing but stone-hearted bodies.

Life is like a cake to it our good deeds are like a cherry on top. Winters bring hope. Sometimes you have to become your own Santa on other times you have to become Santa for the ones who never wish for him to appear. Some stories leave us inarticulate, some stories we give ourselves. To grant and exert has shifted to a task now, a task that never ends for we spend our lives in this circle.

It's a story of cold winters where people like you and me sit near the bonfire and enjoy the barbecue or sit under the blanket enjoying popcorn while watching movies. I went to the market near my home for some grocery shopping. It was a Mid-December Night, the wind was blowing like a storm hitting my body so hard, with every step it felt like something pushing me back. It was a pretty cold night with my feet and hands getting numb. I finally reached the store and rushed inside and it felt so good to be there like pure bliss and the feeling of warmth. Finally, my body got some heat. So here I wasn't alone, my friends were with me. We purchased all that lacked for the home.

Once we were done with billing we decided to have some hot chocolate or coffee in the nearby cafe. So when we got out I saw a woman near the store with a thin layer of cloth on her, she was shivering so bad and looked so dead as she hasn't eaten for a long time. We were walking towards the cafe with every step her face was getting clear the more I was looking at her, something was dying inside me. By now we were just two steps away from her, her eyes looked like they were full of sorrow and words she may never utter, tomorrow is Christmas Eve I said at the back of my mind then I looked all around me I saw happy faces who were there to buy things or gifts for themselves or their friends and family. They all were so happy in their happiness that no one noticed this woman here; my heart was thumping bad now.

Something made me stop right there a step away from her. I had no power left on me to unseen this. My friends asked me what happened and I dropped all the things that I brought on the road. My friend shouted, "Are you mad?" I ignored it all and ran back to the store. I purchased one warm blanket, jacket, a few warm clothes and some food items. After that, I went to that woman and handed her all that I brought and wished her 'Merry Christmas'.

She was speechless, her tears were falling, she was thanking me again and again but for me what I did wasn't enough. I gave her some money and asked her to go somewhere safe and cover herself in a warm blanket. She said to me "You came as angel today or I say as a Santa. My kids are hungry at home. This money, blanket and food items you gave will bring a smile on my kid's face, thank you. To this, my friends asked me why I did that but all I was feeling at that time was if one day I'd be there at her place what I would wish for? I'll wish for someone to be my Santa as I was for her. This whole incident brought a big change in me, winters never felt the same after this. It costs nothing to bring a smile on someone's face. Kindness leaves an impression for life on our soul, body and mind.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Rumzz Bajwa

A writer by day and a reader by night as, a big music lover and foodie. When I am not doing all these, I try new things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.