Motivation logo

Back to School

Look what Vocal made me do

By Jazzy Published 9 months ago 3 min read
17
First day!!

I have made declarations about going back to school, not only to take classes in writing but as a way to expand myself. My darling little kid just started kindergarten, and by the way, I spelled kindergarten wrong on her look school board. See Exhibit A above. My child is part of why I want to get even better, and I want to show her we are capable of anything.

I have three degrees as of right now, all in science. My dream was to study anthropology or history, which is super exciting. I may still take those random classes, but my focus now is to expand my writing. I have been attempting new styles and reaching out to see other profiles and types on Vocal.

Vocal is full of top writers who are willing to commit to the craft; how do you keep up? I know a lot of advice states that we writers should "just write.". However, I point out that if you write a lot in the same style or about the same things you always do, you don't expand. You may be a master of this style, but is that enough? For some, that is enough. It is not for me.

I do morning pages for "writing more," which are more about my dreams than anything. There is this idea of morning pages being a form of shadow work. This is where in the morning, you dump all your thoughts onto pages for as long as you wish (for some people, they do it based on page number or minutes), and it's cathartic. (Thank you, Naomi Gold, for that comment on an article I read.)

Therefore as I am teaching my little one to read and write, I am trying to expose her to classic work. Then, I will get online on Coursera, take those classes, and learn. I took "The Science of Well-Being" online through Yale University on Coursera. This class is their most popular elective class, which is SO fascinating. I learned more about happiness and the human condition and recommend it to anyone with any skin in that game.

Coursera offers certificates and free classes for anyone interested, all online if that is your speed. I have also been looking into the public library near me, and they also have writer communities that I would love to be more involved in. I may also look at my local college to take in-person classes; there is something romantic about being in a classroom. I want to be surrounded by people like us who want to do more with their writing and share it with the world. Vocal is this dreamy place that has motivated me more than anything in the world has for my writing. I owe a big thank you to this platform and you, readers, and writers for making me want to improve. I hope we take this creative energy and create; the opposite of war is not peace but creation. Humans were meant to do more than survive, we have this gift of humor and prose to connect, and I intend to use the fuck out of it (You're Welcome, Dana. Threw that Fuck in there just for you.)

Special Announcement: I will be reopening my podcast, and I hope to share my work through my voice on the show and showcase some more stories I find on Vocal. If you have any of your work that you are okay with me reading on the show, please drop it below! I look forward to what you share. (I still need to reach the word count, okay, there I did.)

happinesssuccessadvice
17

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    You have a beautiful family Jazzy. Also, congratulations on earning three degrees that is so awesome. 🎉🎉 I always enjoy when you point out that you’re trying to reach the word count. I crack up every time lol.

  • Darkos9 months ago

    and strangely i came back to the writing on paper as long as i will feel on the go it does really help also when you need to go through a grief, loss I am happy of the connection in here is bringing my life a different world ! Love Your truth writing !

  • Darkos9 months ago

    So Happy for You ! I also love Coursera and I am about to or trying back in there.. as You never know what tomorrow brings to take care of Thank You for sharing Your goals and an new approaches !

  • Jenifer Nim9 months ago

    The idea of you and your daughter learning writing together is so sweet! And also I love what you said about the opposite of war is not peace - the opposite of destruction is creation, it's so true!

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    Three degrees that's AMAZING!, all the best for the podcast!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Beautiful family! 😍 How amazing that you are starting this new chapter. And I’m glad you’re doing the morning pages. You are correct, it’s not enough to just write. You also have to do a ton of self-reflection, and be able to look at your own writing with a critical but patient eye. As passionate as you are, I have no doubt you will do that.

  • Whoaaaa, you have three degrees?! I have one and it almost killed me 🤣🤣🤣 Oooo, Coursera seems very fascinating! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  • This was so lovely to read, and to see your beautiful family in the photo 🥰❤️✨ I’m much the same with my love for learning. I am constantly studying something that takes my interest! (And that’s mostly everything except for engineering and tech 🙈) I will check out the site you mentioned as it’s one I haven’t heard of. Laughing at you mentioning Dana’s article.. I think it’s on everyone’s mind 😂 I actually began an article as an open reply to his question yesterday, until I realised how much I had taken on. I may or may not finish it 🤭

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    You are definitely motivated and that is a big part of achieving success. Lol on the misspelling of kindergarten. It was great to point that out and set the tone for your article. And best of luck with all the classes you plan to take. Wish I could find the time.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Congrats! :D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.