Motivation logo

Arborist world of trees

life, love and hope!

By Sarah urfferPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
6
Arborist world of trees
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

I love the Forrest. Trees have always spoken to me since I was a little girl. Living right next to the woods I would explore amongst the plant life, singing to the birds and creatures of the magical mystical world. I felt alive and connected to this bigger than me experience inside the wonders held in the ecosystem within the forest.

By Mary Ray on Unsplash

Along with my love of trees, is a natural connection I have with animals. We owned some horses and I would always work on the farm taking care of them and their other horse friends I befriended as a child. Riding horses kept the magic alive and enhanced my experience in this wooded jungle of super tall towering giants. Every time a leaf fell I imagined as if it was the trees themselves dropped them to say hello. When with the horses I felt more magic every time I was with them in the Forrest it’s was as though it made it happy I was there with my friends, the horse, trees and all the life inside.

By Jacques Bopp on Unsplash

I’ve had a lot of odd jobs not all kept me connected to what really brings me life and purpose. Starting at delivery news papers to soliciting door to door. I dove into deli work and a factory job. Then I didn’t something crazy different, I joined the United States Marine Corps -Ooh Rah!- which I gained a larger understanding of the importance of being true to yourself and others - Semper Fi- camaraderie to not just your blood family but to your larger family humanity.

By Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

This lead me to chase every dream I had, all the passions within rose to the occasion and I would just follow the pull life took me. I loved to bake and cook so after departing my service in the Corps, I took on challenging myself, I left all I knew to study under great chefs at Le Cordon Bleu in Arizona. While working as a front desk clerk at a local motel it payed the way in my major in pastry arts at this school. I took my creative love of the Forrest and etched it into my work in the food I’d prepare and decorate. I’d would later work as a cake decorators and also as a bread baker after I graduated.

By Deva Williamson on Unsplash

But even this didnt satisfy my soul, something big was missing my heart could feel this wasn’t just what I would be. So again I moved back to my hometown in Pennsylvania. It was back here i took up working with seniors who needed care. I had some many good clients who taught me so much as I helped their lives get better.

By Visual Stories || Micheile on Unsplash

This strong willed women Brenda with her second round of polio showed me how resolve to beat the odds is all you need along with someone who truly cares to make you better. For years she has been unable to speak and or help bring food to her own mouth. Every day I was with her I would help her regain motor functions, it wasn’t until my last days here before I moving away again to chaise a dream, that I realized the impact my dedication to life and others paid off. Brenda had a huge breakthrough with her husband and sister in law there. She was able to bring a cup to her mouth and drink, as I told them I would be leavening Brenda reached out and grabbed my arm and speaking for the first time in years - NO DONT GO- we all broke down in tears as she still gripped my arm with her hand. It filled them with so much hope, she could again recover from her second round of polio.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

It was that connection with Brenda and her family that showed me it’s important to keep chasing your dreams and never loose hope that things will get better with work. I moved to California and worked with the homeless this humbled me more than I could imagine and would lead me to leaving again after a few years to find my calling again.

By Matt Collamer on Unsplash

So back to Pennsylvania I went but I needed work yet again starting at the time only job available working at a beer store. Eventually managing one beer store to have it sold and to be recruited into another one the next town over. I worked 6 years in this industry and put my hearts and soul into improving it and connecting with customer and employees to keep life fun and stay challenging myself.

By Wil Stewart on Unsplash

Then Covid happened…

By Fusion Medical Animation on Unsplash

it all crashed down the early September 2020 when I lost my job at the beer distributor due to waiting for my negative results to come in. My employer had thought I was lying and also was already secretly in the works of selling the company. I was fired upon getting my results. Despite my dedication to my job I lost it anyway, I became angry and upset feeling lost and without work and no job was comparable in pay. But then it happened the trees spoke to me.

By Victoria Palacios on Unsplash

As they have always been connected with me, nature helps me keep centered and being an arborist helps me keep others safe as well as the trees and surrounding eco systems healthy it’s an important aspect to the worlds health too, we are all connected. Trees help keep the world cool from the immense heat of the sun. It provides shade from the sun and protection to animals and critters all over. Without trees we would not have homes and some of the most beautiful aspects of life. Trees support us all in the world and the fungus keeps the trees connected to all plant life in the Forrest.

By Camille Brodard on Unsplash

As an arborist in a struggling world I provide affordable tree felling and care for those in need. It’s a hard line of work and it takes a lot out of you during the harsh summer and winter months. Although it’s well worth a high rate given the danger in everyday tree felling offering a more affordable rate helps lower risk for those in need of service. With the on going struggle of ash trees striving to survive the ash bore beetles we have been the answer to many struggling to afford removal of the many dead ash trees in my area in Pennsylvania.

By Uwe Conrad on Unsplash

With the constant heavy storms, high winds, flooding and now tornadoes hitting this area. Many home owners are at the pit fall of dead trees and also fallen limbs due to lack pruning. Being an arborist let’s me help those in need keeping them and there possessions safe and saving money. By removing fallen trees from driveways, roadways, and from hanging over homes we let people have peace of mind.

By Jared Rice on Unsplash

I’m so glad to be an low income friendly arborist Especially during Covid 19 when everyone is struggling enough. I love trees with all my soul and to be the one to help make affordable what normally is not gives lower income families a way to keep safe. It’s only a bonus that I get to send my days out in the magical wonders of the woods. The view is amazing!

By Yoshi Takekawa on Unsplash

I would like to thank everyone who reads this. It’s not always easy to find a job that give purpose and also helps everybody stay safe in a dangerous world. It’s a skill that not everybody can do, takes alot of thought strength and a good understanding of physics to do properly. I risk my life every day doing it, with the use to chainsaws with a chance of kickbacks and climbing in trees and at times may have splits and hollows that in a wrong cut can go terribly wrong. My love for trees fell upon me my whole life and now it come tree fold 😅. I would never change a thing, I love being an arborist keeping the world and its creatures safe!

happiness
6

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.