Motivation logo

An Open Letter To The Easter Bunny: From April 2020

A Weird And Wonderful Virus-Focused Easter. You Did Not Stop Hatching Though.

By Justine CrowleyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Oh dear...would "Happy Easter" be an appropriate word to say to people in these fuzzy, confusing and dark times?! Yes dear reader, you could be reading this letter right now (as at the time of writing this, as of Easter in 2020), or even a year from now...perhaps even 2,5, 20, 50 or even 100 years from now. If you happen to be in the latter camp of readers at the time: let me remind you that we were all having to self-isolate and #stayathome due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic...way beyond our normal. Easter 2020 is/was a forced dark period on every single human alive...even a forced period of an unplanned vacation, depending on your point of view.

The Easter Bunny has undoubtedly been in existence since the 1700's from rabbit food rich in Vitamin A. Before very long, that Vitamin A rich vegetable was traded for some magnesium rich cocoa from the cacao trees.

COVID-19 has brought a surge of sales in alcohol, and wait for it: chocolate too. Why do I know? Yesterday I received a text message from my boss (from the chocolate shop I work at part-time) at around 6:20am, asking if I could work all possible trading hours that day, minus an hour. At 8:10am I hopped to it (pun intended) with a resounding yes; and what an education I received in empathy while greeting customers at the door with hand sanitiser and not sample pieces of chocolate; ensuring that social distancing measures stayed in place. Many fellow chocaholics and Easter egg lovers had to wait a bit before I could say "please come on in."

Easter Bunny, because we love you so much at Easter, COVID-19 did not stop us from buying those chocolate goodies. Online sales hit record highs with my part-time employer. Over the last couple of days, there were an abundance of customers also turning up to the shop...a few with smashed bunnies to be exchanged with an online order that did not go according to plan, of which were happily exchanged; and on the other hand a few more disappointed (and in the words of my older, wiser friends: impatient) customers who ordered their Easter eggs online about a few days ago, of which did not arrive...more problems being solved with a smile. People also phoned in to place orders for pick up, while Deliveroo's cash flow was echoing the likes of "cocoa ker-ching." Some of my colleagues suddenly became 'call centre operators' for the day, while I felt like a nurse for the majority of my shift, as the chocolate hand sanitiser queen. There are bigger issues out there (yes, people infected, in ICU's fighting for their life, and dying from COVID-19 right now) - yet a smashed bunny and online chocolate orders not arriving as planned are causing more upset for some. (First world problems??) #perspective

The Easter Bunny is alive and kicking for sure. My chocolate cravings have been so amplified, that I even went to the supermarket after one of my shifts at the chocolate shop to buy some Easter eggs there. It did not make sense, as I could more conveniently buy them from work. Then again, the product that I did not buy (among many others) was donated to some hospital front-line workers, to thank them for all their hard work in these testing times. #angels

Good luck does come in threes, and the day before the Easter long weekend I enjoyed them. I got paid to work with Easter products (even telling each and every customer that the shops Easter goods are discounted - a great problem to have right now); my man saw me working at the door and gave me an extended hello; and the best Easter present of all: my boss verbally confirmed that I will receive the historic job keeper payment in Australia, where I only have to work my normal 10-hours a week in order to receive this unexpected manna from heaven. That means I am also getting paid to study UX Design come May. Way better than Easter eggs (a couple of friends have already showed me happy snaps of their Easter stash while we should only be eating fish and those cinnamon treats right now)...although like the thousands of customers that brought their Easter goodies from my employers shop over the last couple of days; I am eating chocolate too, irrespective as to what my dentist and the tooth fairy thinks. (Thank you wonderful employer. I enjoy working for you and with chocolate so much, I wish to still be working for you during Easter next year in normal times.) Isn't dark chocolate the natural anti-depressant? (If the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, and Psychiatric Times think so to name...I'm still in.)

Thank you very much for reading my work, and hopefully you're enjoying your Easter this year, despite some of my partners words in a text message to me: "Happy Easter to you as well. It's going to be an unusual one." Agree, with no Easter show in my home town of Sydney, Australia either. Whether I only earn a few cents or a motsa - pumping out this article with my way of words and photography for your reading pleasure has been so worth it...gaining more Easter mindfulness, and saving another motsa on therapy.

Chocolate or no chocolate. Bunny or no bunny, have a Happy Easter from the comfort of your own home in 2020. If you happen to read this in 2021 onwards...I want to wish you an even happier Easter, as dreams do come true.

NB: In keeping with Vocal Media's editorial guidelines, there are no religious mentions.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Justine Crowley

Freelance Internet Moderator/UX Writer/UX Consulting Designer/Graphic Designer

http://smashwords.com/profile/view/JustineCrowley

linkedin.com/in/justinecrowley

Lives in Sydney, Australia. Loves life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.