Motivation logo

An Artist's Utopia

A place where creatives can shine.

By Maylynn Cosby-MartinPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Creation is what my spirit yearns to do. It is what my life revolves around, and it is my life's purpose. Through creation, I wish to express myself and set a change in movement. I wish to have made some sort of mark on the world - or at least a considerable group of people, by the time I am gone.

Society needs to regulate art more. Music, art, dance, crafting - they are the core of life. They are things that have been passed down from the beginning of time. Art saves people. It heals people. I firmly believe that it shouldn't be nearly as hard as it is for creatives to survive off of their passions. The starving artist has gone out of style - and I can argue on whether it ever was at all.

I have been singing and dancing since I was 5 years old. My parents were extremely supportive, and put me into various classes. Ballet, hip hop, acting, voice, sports, etc. We all realized that I gravitated heavily toward the performing arts very early on.

As I grew older, I learned more about the arts. Due to my parents' constant push and support, I became multi-faceted. I didn't only enjoy doing these things, but I was good at them.

When the time came to look into high schools, performing arts ones were on my radar. I auditioned for multiple schools, but there was one that I had my heart set on - Fiorello H. LaGuardia HS of Music and Art and Performing Arts in NYC. I auditioned and got in for both Voice and Drama. I then had a choice. I chose voice, and I majored in it there. LaGuardia helped me grow my vocal range and strengthened my voice. I left there feeling confident enough to sing any vocal style - and I do it. I love it.

During my time in high school, I had begun writing my own music. My repertoire continuously grows even now - especially now, after I have experienced life much more.

After graduating from LaGuardia, I begun to hone in on my dance skills more. I started doing covers on YouTube. I began looking into acting opportunities. And then COVID hit.

I hate to say it, because it was a terrible time for the world - but I am glad COVID happened. Why? The time in which I lost my job (which didn't pertain at all to my goals) gave me the opportunity to really focus on the things I wanted to do and accomplish.

I decided to start my own business. I became a voice and dance teacher. I started my own website, made business cards. Of course, due to the circumstances, the lessons were all on Zoom. However, this gave me the chance to connect with a wider range of people. I connected with people across the country, and felt like I was really helping them. As things began to open up again, I started teaching dance lessons in person.

As I continued, I gained more and more clientele. People come to me because they admire my knowledge, talent and genuine care for my students. I utilize a fluid teaching style, in which I help my students learn as they do best because I am aware that not everyone learns the same way.

I pondered, every time I finished a lesson, the thought of having my own space. A place where creatives and artists can come and let loose. Where they can be themselves, and network. Growing up, I realized just how hard finding a place like that is. A multi-faceted studio that offers classes for all performing arts as well as a space for musicians to jam, and for artists to paint.

This is my dream. I wish to open my own studio. Not just a dance studio, not just a music studio, and not just an art studio. I want to have my own space where I can let loose as a dancer and brainstorm new songs. There will be performances, and things to work toward. I want to help people like me find their own path by having a solid place to start. I wish to empower people and inspire them, while helping them learn and learning more myself.

For artists, memberships would include a certain amount of free easels per month. For singers, there will be a database where members can easily access tons of sheet music for free. The amount of sheet music a member can download is unlimited. For dancers, memberships will include a free weekly stretch class in which they can loosen up their bodies. For actors, there will be a set yearly amount of free consultations they can attend when they have auditions coming up. For all creatives, memberships will include access to various events, class package deals and discounted studio rentals.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.