Motivation logo

Aiming for Stars

Questions for the Universe

By Benny ShlesingerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Upon gazing at the stars, I realize something. It is a strange something. An absurd idea, too interesting to have come forth from the depths of my mind. I am perturbed. This thought is not mine, though it has risen from my mind.

As if summoned, the Universe manifests a face in the stars so that it might assist me. It nods a massive head, encouragingly.

"Speak, my boy," booms the Universe. It would like to hear this most interesting of thoughts.

I look up in wonder and hesitantly utter a quiet response.

"The right questions need not an answer. Rather, they put me on a path that gives me more than whatever answer I thought I wanted."

The Universe wears a glittering smile made of cosmos and stars. "That is wise, my boy."

"I don't know what it means." I make the admission ruefully, embarrassed that I could say something I don't understand.

I did. But I didn’t know that then.

How many times have I sat to think and wonder - wonder about what answers I needed? If only life would bestow upon me the secrets. The truth.

The Universe smiles wider, it hears my thoughts.

I gather my courage. “I’m not complaining or anything, Oh Great Universe. I just want the answer. If you give me the answer, I’ll listen.”

The Universe shakes its mighty head at my foolishness.

“Oh my sweet, confused boy,” I imagine it might have thought. “The answer cannot exist without the question. Without a question, an answer is just a thing, lifeless. Moreover, the answer is like a star or the moon. You can move ever-toward it, yet never grow closer.”

“So I haven’t gone anywhere,” I protest. “What is the point of this cruel game where I am to chase stars that I can never reach!” I am upset, tears at the edges of my eyes.

The Universe laughed then - a deep, bellowing type of chuckle. “My boy, I never told you to chase the stars, just that you will never reach them.”

I am quite confused now. I furrow my brow and put my head on my chin. After carefully thinking I ask in a quiet voice, “What am I to do then, if not chase the stars?” The question saddens me and I hear the pain in my voice. I feel lost and hang my head in the meaninglessness of it all.

The Universe, far wiser than me, lifts my chin with a gentle finger. “Why do you want to chase the stars? Is it not enough that they illuminate your path?”

I cock my head to the side at that. It makes me think very hard.

“I don’t understand, why walk the path to a star I’ll never reach?”

I look up at the Universe. I’ve never thought about these things before. I want to convey to the Universe through my body language and the severity of my facial expression that I am deeply concerned. I cross my arms so as to ensure the Universe understands that I am quite serious about my question.

I am surprised when the Universe answers me with a question.

“What else is there to do, my boy? You’re here, you may as well dance along the path you find interesting."

I am surprised. This is not the response I had been expecting. "How should I dance?"

The Universe, now beginning to dissipate into stardust gives me a fading wink and I hear its voice in my head.

"Dance well, my boy. Dance brilliantly. There’s good meaning in that.”

healing
Like

About the Creator

Benny Shlesinger

Amateur philosopher, avid keyboard pitter-patterer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.