Motivation logo

Age Is Just A Number

By: Karly Krull

By Karly KrullPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

As we grow up I feel we are taught this concept to be with a significant other who is in our age group. We are also taught to mature and act our age. What if someone else is able to mature faster than others? Than this person probably should not date in their age group I would say. My husband's 48th birthday is today and it had me reflecting on this today. I am 24 and I may not be quite as mature as my husband but, I can say that I have never really related to others in my age group.

I became a Mother young at age 20 and I got a lot of my "partying" out of the way in my teen years. Many people tell me they feel sad for me because, I did not get to really "live" my twenties. This hurts me and I feel they are wrong. They do not understand how I have lived my life or choose to live it. It makes me feel like they are saying that because I became a mother I cannot live my life. That is entirely wrong and being a mother gave me more purpose in life.

When we look at a clock we think of time obviously and in a way time is life. We only have so many days, hours and minutes to live and we have to live our lives to the fullest no matter what. So time is described using numbers and age is just one of these numbers. The age difference between my husband and I is just a number. I relate more to my husband, his friends and family members in his age group more than people I went to high school with. I am happy about this because, it makes me feel like I am welcome and fit it. In high school I was neglected and bullied. I did have my small group of friends and am a social individual but, I still felt neglected and was bullied quite a lot.

Onto a more positive note, tomorrow morning when you wake up think as your life as a clock. Reflect on what you would like to do with your life and live it to the fullest. If you want to go to Europe do it as soon as you have the opportunity and don't wait until you retire. If you want to see your favorite band before they retire and stop touring also do this as soon as you have the opportunity! Do not work yourself to death and let it exhaust you to the point that you cannot even live your life! Take time to live your life and make sure you tell people how you feel and tell your loved ones you love them.

No one lives forever and our life clock is constantly ticking. I hate to sound negative but, I do not mean this that way. If you have not seen a close friend for awhile send them a message and meet up. Spend time with loved ones as much as you can because, age is just a number and we are just a part of the numbers on that clock. Live your life to the fullest!

advice
1

About the Creator

Karly Krull

I am open-minded, a free spirit and mother of Viktor Karl 10/9/17‍ 👶💕 Oats Mr. Sprinkles🐈🐈Always good vibes ✌️☮️ Writing is my passion! ♥️#heartlikeahandgrenade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.