Motivation logo

A story that cares about you

A narrative is like alcohol, it reveals who the author is.

By Lost for a reason Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
A story that cares about you
Photo by Balagurubaran Ramar on Unsplash

If my siblings, friends, and right about anyone who has spent more than an hour with me, had to describe me with one word, they would all laugh and say "weird". I'm the kind of weird obsessed with stories. I love that feeling of seeing someone see what I imagine as I describe it to them, seeing them believe as much as I do, or feel invested in a few minutes to give criticism.

My biggest fear is that one day I will wake up and I won’t have any more ideas, so I tell people the ideas I have. One for criticism and two to face my fears, to feel like I could always have another idea that will be better, even if one felt like my magnum opus. If I am a person who faces my fears then my stories will make you feel like you can do the same without the narrative being about this particular struggle.

For a moment I want to take you on an experience. imagine a story where a character has been bestowed the power to reap the rewards of his future self's hard work, through the simple act of a promise. so something akin to a wish he becomes stronger, faster, and more knowledgeable, but wisdom that's something u can't learn, that's something you draw on from experience. what he didn't expect was the day a promise must be fulfilled, just to survive. imagine going to the gym, 4 times a week with no gains or learning and reading every spare moment you have but you already understand it. He's trapped by the very effortless freedom he carelessly enjoyed, but with time he comes to understand that he's grateful to be alive, to have enjoyed the fruits of his labor so early in his life, to not have been crushed by the weight of his mistakes.

Or what about a 7-year-old girl with a rare hereditary disease that's unpredictably passed down to the females of the family, her greatest regret is a wish she made on her birthday. "to outlive everyone and anyone", an innocent whisper onto the smoke of her unintended pain, a childish strength to believe in the burning flame of hope. so even as she is left orphaned, she does everything to be strong and succeeds. she builds an amazing family, with no sign of her daughter having the same disease. Until she does and she sees the same patterns emerge, feeling like she is the sole cause of so much pain and misfortune. This particular story is about dealing with grief, that you aren't at fault for and it was better to love and hurt than to never love at all.

These are two narrative ideas are just to show how I'm obsessed i am with stories, but obsession alone doesn't achieve anything. so what is my aim? to make a production company that focuses on producing cinematic short stories, but cares about and brings up its actors, singers, and crew. This may be cliché but for me, but being rich is not the goal. I want to even in my early days pay everyone I work with well, difficult it may be, my actions in real life must reflect the messages of the narratives I write.

We are all liable to our own confirmation bias and it’s a fact our brain looks for things that confirm our way of thinking and beliefs. No matter how open I try to be, how careful I am of what ideas to consume. There will always be a degree of me finding what I like and what I think is right. So it makes sense to make sure that I'm a good person, one who looks for the good even when they don’t want to because only then can you have a story that cares.

How will I make the productions financially viable? I upload these short stories to youtube but upload them a week earlier on a subscription website, with exclusive behind-the-scenes content. Originally I thought Patreon would be a good choice but with the host of new platforms who aim to optimise maintaing an audience, i might reconsider.

So why believe in me? at 24 I decided to changed from medicine/biomedical science degree to a literature one. originally I wanted to have something stable and work on my creative projects in the background. However, quarantine has forcibliy made me face myself and I decided to take a risk on the one thing I have thought about incessantly since I was 16. I film with my phone to understand camera angles and composition, I will take every opportunity that I can for the sake of the dream that I have, bravely in the face of abundant fear.

I'm not entirely unrealistic to the idea dreams don't always come true but then it's the same as always ill find a way to make it happen, or ill keep failing till the day I can't.

I'm having fun, I found my purpose, and I hope I inspire others to do the same, even if you're the only one. as long as you dream, do so confidently like the sun, consistently bright and as always tell a good story.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Lost for a reason

In search of meaning, one story at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.