Motivation logo

A Perspective On Fear

Fear is only the messenger

By Rachel LynnPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I can feel my heart beating in my ears, my throat closing up, my world crashing down around me as words of frustration, pain, and hopelessness clash together in a cyclical argument. I can’t move forward or backwards, either way I know will make no difference. I have found myself on a precipice of uncertainty, a future I cannot see. This feeling of fear has a way of paralyzing me, holding me to the bed, keeping me from moving, even to my yoga mat.

I take a deep breath in - it is the only sense of control I believe I have in that moment. Letting the air exhale from my mouth, I let out a sigh of momentary relief. This is yoga in its most basic form, a uniting of mind, body and spirit in a moment when I feel everything but united or strong.

It’s then in that singular moment of clarity that I ask myself the question, what is this feeling, what is fear exactly? I am brought back to the day before when my sister eagerly showed me one of her favourite YouTube videos - a short horror film. Determined to remain unfazed, I kept my eyes on the screen, trying to enjoy the plot line without becoming so involved that I would get scared. Apparently my determination wasn’t enough and I suddenly felt my body go into a bit of a panic mode. My breath became short, I felt clausterphobic and the paralyzing feeling of my energy tensing up. I had to rush outside into the rain to get a breath of fresh air and calm my nervous system down.

Funny thing was, what triggered my fear-response - a fictional film - wasn’t real, and neither was my fear - it was only a messenger from my brain letting me know “hey, something isn’t right here”. That was all. Neither of these things - the movie nor my response to it - were my reality. This blew my mind because this realization extended into the present moment, a moment in which I was feeling the exact same fear-response I had experienced a few days earlier watching the horror film. Perhaps just as it was then, my feelings of overwhelming, overpowering fear were not my reality, but simply a messenger letting me know, “something’s not right here”.

Now that I knew I could deal with. I didn’t have to let this fear paralyze me. All I had to do was simply acknowledge it, recognize that yes something was off, and then decide how to move on from there.

With more clarity of mind and a regained sense of control, I moved off the bed, rolled out my yoga mat, and let out a long sign as I folded forward. The situation I had found myself in hadn’t changed, no, yet I had found some perspective on exactly what fear is - only a messenger - and that gave me back my sense of control, my ability to move forward.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Lynn

I’ve been a writer since I was a young child, and now I am here to share my writing about yoga, life’s lessons, poetry, and more, with the rest of the world through my blog at motherearthsyogi.com, and through this platform as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.