Motivation logo

A Moment with Peaches and Griff

Dogs and I go walking

By Susie Antara James Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Love on Marazion Beach

Meditation begins as an awareness.

Daylight breaks and the sunlight peeks through the windows and I begin my meditation for the day, meditation is an awareness that reminds me that I am grateful as another day begins.

Walking down stairs I can feel the soles of my feet connecting with the carpet, tufts of wool provide a cushion of softness between my feet and the floor. It is the sensation of the fibres as they tickle that reminds me I am alive.

The sun always rises and brings warmth to the kitchen, my toes curl gently as they embrace the heat from the kitchen flooring. Each step I take awakens my body. The morning ritual begins with a loving cuddle from the dogs, as they patiently wait for their meal, before we venture out for their daily walk.

Stepping out through the front door the slight roughness of their rope leads bring a sense of awareness to the palms of my hands and I can feel the energetic connection between myself and the dogs, walking in unison we step outside and their keenness to get moving evidenced in their movement

As the sun circles the rooftops the rays beam through the trees dappling light on the path. I often wonder if fairies play hopscotch jumping between the bubbles of light.

The pond ripples as our movements cause Flora the frog to scoot back in between the lily that floats serenely on the surface. Sunlight causes the pond water to shimmer as if a cloud of fairy dust has been sprinkled on it. The water sparkles and shines with the colours of blue and green. I gaze into the depths and am reminded of how a labradorite crystal shimmers with similar colours. I am a crystal lover of colour and energy and for a few minutes whilst the dogs patiently wait, I imagine what it must feel like for Flora to be in the cold water floating beneath the lilies, seeing the world above the pond, from a different perspective, where plants, trees, humans and animals loom like giants in a Redwood Forest.

Princess Peaches begins to leap like a kite in the air, reminding me why we are outside, the gate clangs behind us as a sudden tug causes me to shut it with a snatch of my hand.

Right or left which way to go. The decision made we skirt around the gnarly oak tree, its branches swaying in the gentle breeze that has begun to blow, the heat of the sun provides a gentle warmth on my back, and I can feel my energy rising as it blossoms under the balmy feel of sunshine. As we walk I feel the concrete and tarmac hard under my feet, and we head toward the open grassy expanse known as the Oval in the centre of Garden Village.

I kick off my shoes and my toes push into the lush green grass, taking a few deep breaths I sense the soles of my feet begin to tingle and prickle as I connect with the energy of Mother Earth.

Science would support that the magnetic ions of the earth connect with my biomagnetic energy field. I personally believe that science is proving what has been known by mystics for hundreds of years. We are all energy.

As sentient beings we are connected to the earth by energy, that energy keeps us earthed or grounded which in turn keeps our energy field balanced and healthy. All of these thoughts resonate through me. Whilst all the time, I feel the warmth and energy flowing up into my body. The gentle ache in my hip and back fades away as I continue walking through the grass, watching the dogs chasing each other, rolling in the grass rubbing their backs in almost ecstasy.

There is a peace in the air, a feeling of comfortable silence when in the presence of an old friend interspersed with the occasional tweet or coo of a bird. We walk between the tree-lined avenues. A friendly nod from some of the other dog walkers, each in their own world of sorts. Some often passing by without an acknowledgement. I wonder if their contemplative silence is one of meditation too or are they simply oblivious to the world in their own little bubble as I note their furrowed brow! Sending a loving thought out to them we continue on our walk.

The skies are beautiful azure blue with white clouds of cotton candy scudding gently across the vista of blue. Watching the clouds I spot an angel a dragon and a bird appear, these shapes swiftly disappear as if blown out by an unseen breath.

I love how beautiful days like these remind me of my days walking on Cornish beaches. The soft grains of sand scuffing against the soles of my feet, the salty tang of sea air tangible on my tongue as I am transported back to my favourite beach at Marazion. My toes curl as I imagine the cool water lapping over my feet.

Oh! how I long to be back there. Instead, as we continue our walk around Garden Village Griff the older of the two decides it is time to return and gently tugs in the direction of home, a car scoots past disturbing the peace and tranquillity with the woosh of tires and the roar of an engine I am reminded that I am walking in a modern world, and not on a beach in Cornwall.

Homeward bound we pick up the pace as both dogs know that once indoors, a treat, awaits.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.