Motivation logo

A List Of My Possible Next Books

As a writer, I write books, because that's what writers do. But I'm a poet, and blogger too, and I do various Social Media things as well.

By Carolyn CordonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My next book to be released to the world

I self published my first book in about 2005, it was a little book about dogs, a fictional book, in the voice of a dog named Buster. A friend and I put the book together and had it printed. That friend did the illustrations.

After that, I did a few more books, including a children's school reader, then an ebook that disappeared into the mysterious world of 'somewhere online'.

There have been poetry collections, and a memoir looking at my life with Multiple Sclerosis. All up, there have been eight published books, I think. But I have lots of ideas about more books!

The book in the image, 'Plague Invasion' will be launched on 25 July, as it shows in the image. I'm pleased this book has worked as well as it did, and would consider doing an anthology again, for sure.

The List:

1/The next book I have that I know will be published is a a poetry collection, published by a South Australian publisher, Ginninderra Press. I submitted this collection to them recently, and it was accepted.

I'm glad about this, because I want to share this book with lots of people because I consider it to me my best collection of poetry yet! I like writing poetry, and I love sharing it with others.

2/The next one that might be published is a book about Buster the Dog again. I have three of these books, with Buster the Dog, fun books looking at various things from the point of view of a dog. I love dogs, and enjoy writing these 'Buster the Dog' books.

This next one will have a cat in it too, as a character. A writing group friend is going to do the cat part of the book, and it is going to be fun, getting this book out into the world!

3/The next book after that? Well I'm currently writing a Cosy Murder Mystery, and I hope to get it finished next year, but the rate I'm writing it, it might take longer than that ...

There are so many things happening, and I don't give this book the attention it probably needs. A cosy murder mystery has a certain amount of things it needs, and even though I've read quite a few of these kinds of books, actually writing one is much harder than reading one.

4/One day, I want to write a book, a non-fiction book about my personal philosophy of what I believe. This book would definitely include Stoicism as a thing I believe in, Stoic thought.

I'm interested in this philosophy, it seems to make a lot of sense to me. I believe in doing my best in life, helping people, and doing the best I can in my life, doing good things when and if I can.

5/Hmm, well, I've written one memoir, about my life with Multiple Sclerosis, but there's so much more in my life, so I could, or even should write a memoir taking all of what my life is.

I'm involved in lots of things, a writing group, poetry and other books. I've been involved in harness racing, as the daughter of a trainer, and being a stablehand for him in my youth. I've worked in the public service, and I've been involved in breeding and showing pure bred dogs.

6/And I'm a mother, one child only, and I suffered from depression after he was born, and I feel I was 'saved' by the writing of poetry. Creative Writing, or Narrative Therapy, this could possibly be a book I might write.

I feel like this book would suit me and my style. I would need to do some research of course, but that isn't a problem, reading about such things is interesting to me.

6-who knows how many - If that Cosy Murder Mystery works out and gets published, I will go on and write more of them, I have a list of 20 titles, and brief details.

I don't know if I'm going to finish this first one, but I hope I can do this, it feels like a fine and fun thing to be known for, writing about cosy murders solved in the imaginary town I've used for the first of these books.

7/ Depending on how this Plague Invasion book goes, I would be interested in doing another anthology - an anthology of stories about dogs. Similar to the first anthology, this one would have poetry and prose, fiction and non fiction.

People are prooud of their dogs, and they love talking about them. People like reading about dogs too, whether pet dogs, working dogs, dogs have a strong place in our hearts, most of us anyway.

Conclusion

After all of that? Well at my current age, after all of that I may well be ready to 'shuffle off this mortal coil', as the saying goes. Fifty-eight is my current age, and at the rate of producing books I'm currently moving at, I won't have time for any more books!

Writing keeps my mind active, and that is a great thing to have, an active mind. And of course, I'm here on Vocal writing articles, and I also edit a monthly newsletter for my local town, a little town quite similar to the town in my Cosy Murder Mystery, but with relevant details changed. And no murders! Fun, it's all fun, and I love it all.

Having plans for the future feels like a great way to keep on going in my life!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.