Motivation logo

A Letter To My 2021 Self

A year of living intentionally

By Keli MairePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
4

Dear Keli,

It’s another new year. I sincerely hope 2021 will reach a higher bar than 2020 did. At this moment it’s not worth reviewing what you already know about 2020. What’s important is that you lived through the chaos it brought. I am grateful 2020 is now in the rear-view mirror. Instead of rehashing what brought you stress and uncertainty, I want to remind you to focus on creating an excellent, challenging, rewarding, and successful 2021. I’ve got ideas that will make this year shine brighter than any other. I intend to make some big changes that will ensure you live in health, happiness, and abundance this year and every year to come.

I’ve learned how important energy is to the Universe. Energy is what makes everything work. There is energy in everything. 2020 had some bad energy, didn’t it? When it comes to personal energy (body, mind, spirit, thoughts, intentions, attitudes), think of sound waves and the vibrations they produce. When you hit a drum, you make the drum skin vibrate at a particular speed. The air around the drum vibrates too and moves into space. You have a similar kind of “drum” in your ear, and when the air carrying those speeding sound waves hits your eardrum, your eardrum begins to vibrate at the same frequency, and that’s when your brain interprets the vibrations as the sound of that drum.

Like sound, energy has a frequency. Different energies have different frequencies. The great thing about vibrations and bands of frequency is that whatever you emit from your person (body, mind, spirit, thoughts, intentions, attitudes) will attract things with the same vibrational frequency back to you. This is an accepted scientific fact! Relating to vibrational frequency, LIKE attracts LIKE! So whatever frequency you vibrate out into the universe (in thought, word, deed or anything in your subconscious), that’s the exact frequency of return you can expect back.

Why is this important? The energy frequency of your vibrations will attract that same energy frequency back to you. Different emotions, thoughts, attitudes, words, beliefs, feelings, and actions emit different vibrational frequencies. There are tons of scholarly and scientific studies and articles devoted to this, but simply put: you get back what you send out.

Emotions have frequencies. Brain wave recorders have been used to study and measure the frequencies of people experiencing all kinds of emotions. Conclusive evidence shows that higher vibrational frequencies are emitted by emotional energy of the positive kind (like bliss, happiness, confidence, peace, joy, etc.) and lower vibrational frequencies are emitted by the negative kind of emotions (like sadness, anger, frustration, grief, etc.). Want to attract happiness? Then send out happy vibrations. Do things that make you happy. What to attract joy? Send out joyful vibrations. Be around things that give you joy. Want to stay in your grief? Then keep grieving. Stay in your grief too long. Want to stay mad at a person? Then keep getting angry. Keep reliving the argument.

This is not rocket science. You get back what you send out. Raise your vibrations and you’ll experience all kinds of positive energy in your life.

How do you raise your vibrations? Think about pleasant things. Get out in nature. Look at beauty. Appreciate the people in your life. Be grateful, as gratitude has a very high vibrational frequency. Practice this every day. Meditate, pray, practice gratefulness, be kind to others, play with a puppy, pet a purring cat. All of these things raise your emotional vibrations. You’ll be surprised at how much positivity comes into your life when you practice raising your vibrations every day.

I’m going to do this in 2021. I’m very much looking forward to raising my emotional vibrations this entire year, no matter what 2021 has to offer. I’ll be practicing every day by meditating, eating healthy, focusing on positive and beautiful things - even if it’s just to stop and take in the warm sun or smell a flower in my yard. I’m going to laugh with my grandchildren, spend peaceful time with my mom, listen to music that makes my heart sing and dance, and get beneficial exercise. I intend to clean up my vibrational discord this year so I can look back at 2021 as being the year I succeeded at financial health, prosperity, happiness and fulfillment.

Yes, 2020 was tough. I’m still here. I’m still alive. I’m still breathing. This year I’m moving forward with a new attitude of purpose and intention that will bring about a great 2021! And think of how I’ll affect those around me. My high vibrations will travel around others and help them attract back the same for their own lives. There might be setbacks, as there usually are in life. But step by step I’m going to accomplish this vibrational change.

Each month I’ll focus on something new. January will my “money” month, where I’ll practice raising my vibrations about money and finances by learning about investing, experiencing the great feeling of saving more – even if it’s small amounts at a time – and creating the feeling of knowing I’ll be financially okay as I move further into my plan for success. I’ll chip away at my debt until I’m free. I’ll join groups of people who are like-minded about increasing wealth and prosperity. I’ll keep myself accountable by sharing successes and struggles with my financial groups. I’ll get encouragement when I need it and I’ll keep learning from others about how to achieve my financial goals.

In February I’ll turn my focus to a healthier body. I’ll learn even more about what it takes to be my best physical self, and I’ll make great choices about eating and exercising. I’ll concentrate more on my sleep habits and create a routine for winding down each night and taking great care of my sleep. The changes that I begin this month will continue for the rest of the year and the rest of my life. My higher I’ll feel great knowing that I’m healthier. My higher vibrations will attract the perfect program, the perfect trainer, and the best like-minded friends. I’ll record my successes in a journal and be encouraged by changes in my body, my health, and my sleep. I can’t wait to wow my doctor in the fall when she sees my progress.

My focus in March will be all about mental and spiritual health. I’ll be working with a spiritual coach to help me discover areas deep within me that need healing, love, and light. She’ll direct me to online or in-person programs and books and guided meditations that I’ll use to raise my mental and spiritual vibrations and I’ll attract so much positivity back that I won’t be able to believe it! I’ll finally rid myself of any spiritual and mental junk I’ve been carrying around and become whole and healthy, light and free.

In April I’ll have my 60th birthday. All this month I’m going to bask in the glory of me. I’m going to have a Self-Care month where I enjoy a weekend trip or two, splurge on a massage or a day spa, and get back to floating at my favorite sensory deprivation place. I’ll release any stress I might be carrying around, all while raising my vibrations so I’m receiving and experiencing joy and happiness.

In May I’ll celebrate moms. I’ll spend more time with my mom, and that is always an enjoyable thing to do. We have the best time together laughing and playing cards and eating together and just talking about good things. I always feel great when I’m around mom. I’ll also celebrate my children. I plan on taking a trip to see them and their families. By this time, I’ll be in such a high vibrational state, they’ll catch some of those vibrations while I’m there. The laughter and love I get when I’m with my children and their families is an excellent way to raise my emotional vibrations. I’ll know I’ve done well when they see how happy I am.

June is garden season, and there’s hardly anything on earth I love more than getting my hands into the soil to plant flowers and vegetables. If there’s any other physical activity that would raise my vibrations more than gardening, I have yet to find it. I love being close to nature and the earth and the universe. Getting into the garden each year creates a vibrational symphony for me. I’ll know I’ve done well when I see those first sprouts. This feeling of wellness and happiness will continue all the way into the growing season as I enjoy the fruits of my work.

In July I intend to be at a beach for a while. The beach is always a happy place for me. With the success I’ll have at that time after increasing my financial health, I’ll have what I need to take a trip back to Costa Rica. The purpose of this trip will be to find a place to retire in that beautiful, friendly country. The feelings and emotions I have when I’m at the ocean are so high in vibrational frequency, I’m sure this trip will be nothing short of exceptional. I’ll know how the vibrations have changed when I return home and people notice my peacefulness, happiness and absence of stress.

One thing that makes me feel calm, peaceful, and joyful is cooking. August is going to be a cooking month for me. I love trying new recipes. By that time, I’ll have changed my eating habits to healthier meals, so it will be a great time to learn new ways to cook, new tastes, and new food combinations. I’ll take a cooking class or two. I’ll have friends over and serve them the new dishes I’ve learned. I’ll be in another happy, exciting place and I’ll see how those high frequency vibrations return even more happiness to me.

In September it seems that life shifts. School starts again, people have had their fun summer vacations, and the year seems to be starting its final lap around the track. September’s focus will be walking in my neighborhood. The weather will be perfect for getting out in the evenings, watching the trees start to change color, listening to the birds, and visiting with neighbors. Walking gives me the chance to unwind in the evenings. Peace and joy will come to me, because I’ll be sending out vibrations to attract even more peace and joy back to me. To be accountable, I’ll use my fitness tracker and count steps, with the goal of increasing the number of steps per day by month’s end.

In October I will direct my attention to charitable acts. Giving to others creates a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment. Giving also makes me grateful for what I have, which raises emotional vibrations. I’ll give my time, my talents, my money and my prayers to those in need. When I do this, joy and peace and love and light will come right back to me. I’ll know I’ve done well when I make someone smile and when I know I’ve contributed to someone else’s wholeness, even if they don’t know it was me who helped.

November will be my month of gratitude. I’ll meditate each day on something I’m grateful for. I know by this time I’ll have so much more in my life than I do at this moment and the gratitude will make even more positive, wonderful things come to me than I ever expected. I believe I’ll be awed at how the universe will provide even more greatness to my life in November.

December 2021 will wrap up the year with my attention on joy. The joy of being alive. The joy of every gift I’ve been given. The joy that comes with the holiday season. The joy that I know I’ll have in abundance after intentionally raising my emotional vibrations. I can’t wait to be at the end of December 2021 and look back at what a successful year I’ve had.

2021 is going to be my year of wholeness, health, prosperity and abundance. I’m going to get there by living intentionally. I’m going to succeed at raising my emotional vibrations and by healing my physical, spiritual, and emotional bodies.

2020 wasn’t a very good year for many people. That is all behind us now.

2021 is going to be the beginning of the best years of my life.

happiness
4

About the Creator

Keli Maire

I just want to write, and do it well.

View some of my short articles on my website https://thesoberfeast.com/

Peace!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.