Motivation logo

A Conversation with the Sun

Entry #1

By Jessica HérmesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I have this on and off relationship with the sun that’s been going on for quite some time now, and I can’t seem to understand why. Every day we meet at the same spot, the rooftop of an 18-floor apartment building, and we talk about many things ranging from daily quandaries of life to bigger dilemmas beyond my control. Sometimes we don’t even talk at all and just enjoy the moment in silence. This relationship could go on for a couple of days, but then one day I come to the same spot, at the same time, waiting, and she doesn’t show. Needless to say, I tend to get upset when she does this, even more upset because this could continue for days and I don’t know when she might come back. She leaves without a warning; no letter, nothing. I am at my worst these days.

It kind of reminds me of Davy Jones, cursed to wait a whole 10 years only to spend one day on an island with his love, Calypso. That’s waiting 3,640 days, 3,650 if unlucky (because leap years), to be with the person you love. And on this one day Calypso didn’t show. There’s a reason why he’s known as the deadliest pirate across the Seven Seas. Love does that to you.

So I decided to have a talk with the sun when she eventually showed up. When she did after a few days of absence, I asked, “Why aren’t you always around when I need you? Are you tired of our relationship?”

“Of course not." She replied. "What makes you think such?”

“Well, you come and we spend time together. This goes on for some days. Then all of a sudden you’re gone, you leave without any warning and I’m left to wonder what I did wrong. Then you come back again after a few days and pretend nothing happened. Where do you go? Are you tired of me? I can understand if you’re tired, after all, people always get tired of each other in relationships. That’s why I don't like them. But I don’t want to feel like this in our relationship. Please don’t make me. “

There was a long silence. I could tell that the sun was thinking. Perhaps she would decide to leave me altogether because of my complaining. Why did I have to complain? Now I’ve ruined everything.

My line of thought was suddenly interrupted as the sun then said, “I’m sorry, but there are many other people who need me even more than you do.” She paused, giving me some time to let that sink in before she went on.

“You see, I can’t be with you all the time. There are many other things that I need to take care of. There are people across the continent who need me. A lot of people are depressed, sad, and can’t find reasons to go on. I have to go to them, to be a reminder that even amidst difficulties life still goes on. Flowers will blossom, trees will grow, birds will sing. I try my best to extend my touch beyond the blue sky with hopes that it would reach as many people as possible. There was a boy the other day going through a really tough time. I kept chasing him until I finally caught up with him. You should have seen the smile on his face when he realized this — a smile I’ll never forget, and I know he won’t too.

So, you see, while you might be strong and in a good place, not everyone out there is like you. I can’t be held down by the borders of a relationship. I need to spread my light across to reach other people. Do you understand now, Jessica?”

I was silent most of the time as she spoke. I'm very well aware of the different levels of selfishness and greed that comes with being human, but I couldn't bring myself to impose such a trait on that which did not belong to humans. Who was I to want to hold back the sun on which I had no claim over? And I couldn't help but agree — humans are such fragile little creatures who need all the help they can get.

So I told the sun that I understood completely. I couldn't promise not to get upset during difficult times in her absence, but I knew that on those days when she would extend her touch across the sky and birds would flap their wings in the horizon, I'd be sure to appreciate her. I sincerely hope others will do the same.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Jessica Hérmes

Excessive introspection could ruin your imagination, but you can read my stories here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.