Motivation logo

75 Hard Days 1 & 2

My journey on the challenge

By Emily McDonaldPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
75 Hard Days 1 & 2
Photo by John Arano on Unsplash

Third times the charm right?

It’s my third time trying to complete the 75 Hard Challenge. I am determined to get it figured out and completed this time around. No more excuses, just results. I was ready. I even had my boyfriend ready on the sidelines to help push and motivate me when he needed to.

For those of you who don’t know 75 Hard is a challenge created by Andy Frisella and it is a physical and mental toughness challenge. There are 7 tasks you must complete daily. If you do not complete every task you go back to day 1. These tasks are:

45 minute workout indoors or outdoors

45 minute workout outdoors

Drink 1 gallon of water

Read 10 pages of a self development book

Take a progress picture

Do not drink alcohol and no cheat meals

Follow a diet

For my diet I am just eating as healthy as possible and following my macros. I have a history of eating disorders and restrictive eating so I did not want to do anything that would put me at risk of falling back into that. I wanted to do this challenge while protecting my mental health.

I had made the mistake previously of making both of my 45 minute workouts intense. I ended up getting so burnt out that I had to take a rest day and start over. This time, after seeing others do it, I decided that my second workout would be low impact and relaxing. I will do either yoga, walking, stretching, bike riding, stuff like that. This way I will not burn myself out and I will still be getting some benefit of exercise and enjoyable movement.

Day 1 I woke up ready to start the challenge. I did a 45 minute HIIT workout in the morning, so early on in the day, workout 1 was done! I did my usual 15 minute walk on my lunch with my dog, and then a 30 minute yoga workout after dinner on my deck. I honestly did not want to do my yoga at all. I’m typically not a huge yoga fan as I tend to get bored and want to give up. I made myself stay committed and actually ended up enjoying the workout as a whole! I may even start incorporating yoga into my fitness routine after this challenge!

I was able to get my water in fairly easily which was honestly kind of strange. I tend to struggle to get a gallon of water in and end up chugging a couple of water bottles before bed. I actually was able to finish my gallon before I got off work at 6! It was nice going home knowing that I was done with that task and could just focus on getting my other tasks checked off. I didn’t drink alcohol and I ate well all day! It was a really strong start to the challenge and got me excited for the rest of it!

I got my reading done in the afternoon and I am loving the book that I am reading. It is called the 5 AM Club by Robin Sharma. It is a different approach to self help, self development books but it is a great read so far! I’m loving the different format of it, it is such a nice change of pace.

Day 2 I woke up and did a 45 minute strength training workout. It felt so nice because that previous week I had been in Hawaii and didn’t have access to weights so I mostly walked since I had left my knee brace at home. I usually walked for 45 minutes to an hour every day and I also went surfing one day. (Surfing was super fun and made me incredibly sore the next day. I highly recommend it) It felt nice getting back into strength training as I got back into my daily routine. I did wake up extremely tired and I was not thrilled to do my workout. Thankfully, I was able to force myself out of bed and drink some pre-workout so I had the energy to complete my workout. I felt great after and was excited to get back into my normal lifting routine.

I went for my normal walk on my lunch with my dog, and as soon as I got back to the door after 15 minutes I realized that I had actually locked myself out of the house. Thankfully, my mom is an angel and was willing to drive 30 minutes to help me get back into my house. I took advantage of the extra time and decided to walk for another 30 minutes so that way my workouts were done and I was all set for the day. Gotta make the best of a bad situation!

Getting my water in wasn’t as easy as it was the day before but I was able to get all of my water in. I was again able to get in my gallon before I got off of work and my 10 k step goal was very close to being reached by the time I got off of work and then my watch died so I had to charge it when I got home but I did it! I got my reading done in the morning as well and 2 days into this challenge I am tired but excited to see what I’m going to accomplish in the next 73 days!

goals
1

About the Creator

Emily McDonald

27, fur mom, mental health focus. I'm also a fitness and lifestyle blogger. I hope you enjoy the content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.