Motivation logo

5 Tips on How to Motivate Yourself

Why Self Motivation is Paramount for Survival

By Jessica MillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Self-motivation is convincing yourself to get through a day, move on from a breakup, studying for an exam, earning a good amount of money, or maybe just getting out of bed! It's a potency that comes from within, which helps you move forward in your life.

Self-motivation can either be intrinsic, i.e., internal. For example, you work for your self-satisfaction rather than to earn money. Or it can be extrinsic, i.e., external. Where you solely do a job to make money. Another exciting type of motivation is doing something out of love for someone. For example, a person earns money to provide for their family, well-being, and need fulfillment motivates a person to work.

The question is, why is self-motivation important? Without this skill, the willingness to do anything doesn't exist; therefore, the implementation becomes almost impossible. Motivation plays a significant role for us to grow, be creative, and competent. Self-motivation helps you to overcome setbacks and take the opportunities that are offered to you. In simple words, it's the key to a successful life.

To learn more about my story and nature work, go and check out our website, we specialize in vegan lipstick and paraben free make up. We partner with only the top manufacturers in the United States (while formulating in compliance with the EU's stricter safety regulations) and consult with a diverse global network of beauty experts. Even with our high standards, though, we take a smaller margin than other brands to deliver products that look and feel luxe — without the luxe price tag.

Check out these five ways I discovered to motivate myself!

1. Anticipate the loss

Thinking about the consequences of not doing a particular task always motivates me. If I don't study for my test, I may fail. If I don't move on from the breakup, I might end up in depression. Invest yourself in the goal to the extent that the failure may haunt you, and then watch yourself as being all motivated for the task.

2. Scheduling

Each hour of the day needs cashing. We all need a little time to sit idle, but it consistently exceeds the limit. Scheduling brings me a sense of responsibility, predictability, and security. One thing that helps me throughout the process is breaking down goals into smaller ones. This way, I don't feel burdened, so it makes it easier to reach the goal.

3. Accountability

When I make myself accountable for my actions, I automatically start to value my time, energy, and effort. Accountability helps me to be productive by making use of my time efficiently. Not being accountable for my actions ultimately leads me to ignore the consequences of not being successful.

4. Eliminating distractions

During my working hours, the biggest distraction is my cell phone—a message from a friend or a notification that people commented on my posts. The best thing to do is to keep the distractions out of your reach, at least when you are working to stay motivated.

5. Prioritize

Generating a hierarchy of tasks, people, events, etc., helps you choose what is more important to work on. The motivation is forced by the worth a job holds and its credibility. Procrastination has become human nature; I consider my affordability before wasting a single second which predictably pushes me to be motivated.

The saying goes, “You can have anything you want. However, you can’t have everything you want.”

So, turn your phone off and leave it in a different room. Close the door. Turn the music off. Delete distracting apps. Take a few minutes to close your eyes and remember your successes, however small – relive and feel into them.

Remind yourself that you are not punishing yourself – you’re just focusing on your goals. Then, remember what you truly want in the long-term.

Remember, you can’t do everything at once. That’s why the painter Vincent Van Gogh said, “Great things are done by a series of small things brought together.”

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.