Motivation logo

5 Tips For Cleaning in the Face of Depression

You are more than your mess.

By sleepy draftsPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
43
5 Tips For Cleaning in the Face of Depression
Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

There are weeks when the dishes that sit on my countertop become small ecosystems.

The home is supposed to be a reflection of the self... but what if you haven't been yourself in months?

I have Bipolar 1. The episodes of mania and depression are rarely predictable, and often intense. When I experience an episode of depression, one of the first things to go is my ability to keep the house clean.

Over the years, I have managed to develop a few tricks that can get me through these episodes, while keeping the mess at bay.

The main thing I had to learn was...

#1 - Forgive Yourself.

By Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

This feels like oversaturated advice, but it can't be emphasized enough.

It's OK if you don't get everything done. Some days, I can only wash three or four dishes before having to crawl back into bed. When I wake up again, though, it feels so good to look at those three or four dishes and know that I accomplished that small task, even though, at the moment I had struggled to do it.

Sometimes, there is release in lowering your expectations of yourself.

Sometimes, it is worth asking if what you are demanding of yourself is not only realistic but if it is kind.

#2 - Celebrate Medium-Good

By Tj Holowaychuk on Unsplash

One night, at an old retail job, we were rushing to close. As we were running late, our boss told us, "It's OK - just make sure everything in the store looks medium-good. We can touch it up tomorrow."

Medium-good. Not "average" but, an imperfect and acceptable level of "good."

This concept made me re-think my own standards and spectrum of what "good" is. I realized that it's not necessarily achievable to expect "perfect-good" or even "great-good" from myself, 24/7.

Sometimes, the best we can give is "medium-good."

And even medium-good feels pretty great.

So celebrate the unfolded clothes in your dresser. Celebrate not pairing your socks, or Marie Kondo-ing your underwear drawer.

Just celebrate the fact that your clothes are no longer waiting in the dryer.

#3 - Write an "Accomplished" List, Instead of a "To Do" List.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

To Do lists have a tendency to leave me feeling restless and dissatisfied.

Even if I complete 8 out of the 10 chores, those last two unchecked tasks nag away at me.

When I do finish everything on the list, I end up looking for more things to add - even when I no longer have the time or energy to finish anything else.

So instead, I've started writing "Accomplished" lists throughout the day.

Every time I do something, even as seemingly small as getting rid of an e-mail notification, I put it on the list.

Brushed my teeth? Add it to the list.

Changed my clothes? List it!

By the end of the day, instead of beating myself up over what I didn't do, I can look back and relish in all that I did.

This is especially helpful when I'm depressed. It sets me up to feel just a little more confident the next day.

When I stopped measuring my success by a fantasy list of infinite tasks, I was able to instead measure each day by my own definition of "accomplishment."

#4 - "Put the Garbage in the Garbage, and the Dirty Clothes with the Dirty Clothes."

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

This is perhaps the simplest piece of advice I have, as well as, my favorite.

Even as a kid, I would get easily overwhelmed with the sheer capacity of cleaning I left for myself.

When this would happen, my Dad would break it down for me into this very easy, two-step, little mantra: "Garbage in the garbage, dirty clothes with the dirty clothes."

For some reason, this saying calmed me immensely. It felt like a lullaby I could recite to myself and fall into, as I methodically put one thing away after the other.

When I only had to focus on "garbage" or "dirty clothes," I was able to compartmentalize while cleaning an overly messy space.

This saying also reminds me that sometimes cleaning really is that easy: just putting things back where they belong.

#5 - Use the Art of Distraction!

By Beazy on Unsplash

No matter how many tips and tricks you have, sometimes the best solution is just to distract yourself and dive in.

On those days, I have a list of podcasts that I turn to, in order to occupy my mind, as well as, motivate me.

This method works for me, as I'll become so engrossed in the podcast I'm listening to, I'll forget that I'm cleaning. And then, when I do remember, it's usually because I finished a task before the podcast ended, and am looking for something new to work on just to listen to the rest of the story.

If you need some ideas to get going, check out these "5 Podcasts to Make You Forget That You're Cleaning"

Conclusion

Mental health is unique to everyone. There will be good days, and there will be bad days.

Forgive yourself for the moments your mental illness takes away from you. Celebrate yourself for the resilience, creativity, and resourcefulness that you've developed in the face of it all.

The beauty you've created is still here. Even if it's hard to find in all the clutter.

Note from the Author

Thank you for reading my article! I appreciate you taking the time to consider my thoughts, and I hope that they help you out. If you enjoyed this article, you can let me know by adding a "heart," or by reaching out to me on Instagram at @sleepmily or on Twitter @sleepydrafts!

If you want to support my writing, check out my author profile for more articles, thoughts, and short stories. Tips are never an obligation, however, they are always deeply appreciated!

Thank you again for your support. I hope this article made your day a little brighter.

advice
43

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Outstanding work Sleepy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.