Motivation logo

5 Reasons to Use Your Gifts and Do What You Love

"A man is only great if he does as he pleases." ~ Benjamin Disraeli

By Samyog kandelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

5 Reasons to Use Your Gifts and Do What You Love
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Like many of us, I grew up struggling. My parents' relationship was unhappy and inappropriate, and their grief left me feeling lonely, afraid, and anxious most of the time.

The environment in which I lived was so unpredictable that I often withdrew from my family and friends, losing my joy.

I fell in love with music at an early age. The radio became my chest, my protector, my healer, my escape. I sang and blossomed and made myself a star, thinking of the thousands of crazy fans singing my songs to me with tears in their eyes.

Music inspired me to do everything. Create art. Write songs. Sing. Dance. The law.

As a teenager, I knew exactly who I was and what I wanted to be. I was a good writer - I was curious about people and what made them tick. And I loved music.

I wanted to travel the world as a rock journalist, follow my favorite bands, write about their lives and their music, and live like a rock star. And one day I was going to start my own band, get on stage, and become a rock star. Those things would be my “gift” to the world.

But it never happened.

I listened to people tell me that my dreams are too big. That the works of rock journalists were few and far between. That I was untrue and would never make a good living that way.

So I did what I thought I should do. I have found a stable job writing company that offers health benefits and a good retirement plan. And finally, I lost contact with the creative, spontaneous, and brave girl with big rock-star dreams.

I focus on my longer, more real life. I had no time for leisure activities without dreams or dreams during the day. And not long ago, I had no rest, no loneliness, no anger, no sadness.

I changed jobs many times and with all the new jobs, my grief increased. I was very angry. I was not sure why.

I suspected work. I suspected nature. I even blamed my coworkers.

It was during a long and depressing period that I found a great source of my anger and frustration. During the medical study, my counselor encouraged me to think back when I was happy in my life.

“What are you doing here that makes you happy, Angela?” he asks. “So how do you spend your time? How did you feel? ”

I realized that I was very happy while using my creative talents: music, writing, art and performance. Using my gifts made me feel like myself. And hiding it made me sad.

So I committed myself to rediscover my art of honoring and honoring my gifts. It was scary for me, so I started small. I committed to one hip-hop dance class.

And suddenly the dam broke. Before I knew it, I was singing again, making jewelry, taking pictures, and teaching myself to play the guitar. Anything and everything that sparked a creative fire for me was the right game.

And soon, I felt happy! Like me. Like I took a deep breath and finally gave up. I became more optimistic, more optimistic, happier than ever.

This trip has taught me so much about the gifts we have all received and why it is so important to respect them:

Our gifts are an expression of our profound personality.

It’s not just the things we “do” and our time. Our gifts reflect who we are at the core, and that the world needs us to be who we are. If we deny that, we are denying our true nature and inflicting great pain on ourselves.

Using our gifts keeps us motivated.

Our gifts show us the right way, help us to focus, and show us the right way to happiness. When we receive our gifts and learn to use them, we no longer worry about who we are or why we are here.

Using our gifts builds our confidence and self-esteem.

Most of us have to overcome a lot of fear and refuse to use our gifts. Each time we do that, we feel more confident about moving forward, and we are more confident that everything we do is a direct step forward.

Our gifts fill and strengthen us.

Using our gifts gives us a sense of accomplishment and fulfillment. Having this measure of happiness in our lives keeps us from seeking the fulfillment and assurance of empty evil, attachment, addiction, and unhealthy relationships.

Our gifts help us to help others.

When we do good to ourselves - what we really love to do - and share it with the world, it also helps other people find their way.

I’ve started writing again and re-contacting that brave girl with big rock-and-roll dreams — the one who still jumps and shouts loudly when her favorite band arrives in town. I think the world really needs him.

I also work with a mentor who encourages me, guides me, and supports me with an amazing amount of patience, compassion, and humor.

The journey has been difficult. I spent a lot of time wondering and guessing about my gifts. But I am happy to report that I finally gave up. In fact, if I ever get back to questions and insecurities again, I have asked my counselor to answer the following:

“Shhhhhhhh. Faith, Angela. Keep writing

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Samyog kandel

I am a passionate writer, trying to inspire other through my story..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.