Motivation logo

5 Life-Lessons From 100-Year Olds

If you want to learn, listen closely to the ones with the most experience

By Patrick KrukenfellnerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
5 Life-Lessons From 100-Year Olds
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Today I stumbled across a video called “Life Lessons from 100-Year-Olds”. I was immediately blown away by the idea of this video and the statements of the people within it. So much so, that just had to write an article about it.

Of course, I highly recommend watching it by yourself, but if you’re lacking the time, or you want to hear a different interpretation, here’s a short summary of the most interesting quotes, and the way I interpret them.

Live for the Day

When Mr. Crozier was asked what’s the secret of living past 100 years old, he gave the following answer:

Age is only a number, you live for the day. — Clifford Crozier

He doesn’t give value to the time he has left, but only the moment right now. That’s something I think very few young people can do. Back in my earlier days at school, I used to be extremely nervous before any upcoming exam.

Even though I did everything I could to prepare myself, I was still afraid of what was coming. A few days before the test, I couldn’t think about anything else. That of course resulted in being completely unproductive and unhappy within those days.

It took me years to learn how to live for the day. Prepare yourself as good as you can, but then stop worrying about whatever is coming, because it will cost you hours, days, in some cases even years.

Make the Best Out of Every Situation

One thing all the interviewed had in common was their optimism. They managed to find something good, no matter how terrible the situation might seem.

I’ve had a relatively easy life, even with the RAF five years of war. It was an adventure, more than a penalty, even amongst the bombs. — John Denerly

This one left me speechless. I can only imagine a few things that are more terrifying than the bomb attacks during the war. Nevertheless, John didn’t stop in his tracks and complain about the circumstances. Instead, he took the situation as it is, and even found something good within it. For him, it was an adventure, rather than a penalty.

I believe that’s a perspective we’re often missing when something goes wrong, or we’re in a bad situation. There’s always a lesson to be learned. If you can manage to take the best out of difficult times, you’ll remember every bad moment in a much more positive way, because there will always be something you’ve learned.

Mr. Denerly wasn’t the only one who followed this idea. There’s another quote within the video that perfectly represents it:

I don’t have many failures. If I’m making a cake and it fails, it becomes a pudding. — Clifford Crozier

Don’t Regret Your Decisions

When Mrs. Harper was asked if she had any regrets, she said:

None. None whatever, I can tell you right from my heart. — Emilia Harper

103 years old, but not a single thing she regrets. That’s an extremely strong statement to make. It means that whatever decision she has made in her life, whether it was right or wrong, she stood up to it.

Regretting a decision you made in the past is a waste of time. Instead, focus on what you can do in the future to make it right.

Plan Ahead and Don’t Be Afraid to Ask for Help

In the last part of the video, the interviewed were asked for one tip they would give from over 100 years of experience. Mr. Crozier was the first to answer.

Time spent on reconnaissance is seldom wasted. And be as independent as you can, but don’t be reluctant to ask for help when you think you need it. — Clifford Crozier

The part about reconnaissance is an old quote that initially stems from Erwin Rommel, a German field marshal of world war two. And it’s applicable to many different scenarios.

Before you tackle a task or encounter a problem, it’s always a good idea to inform yourself and develop a plan or strategy. No matter if you’re preparing for an upcoming test, or developing a business model, ask yourself questions like:

  • What do I want to achieve?
  • Are there any risks I have to take?
  • Do I have the resources to achieve my goal?
  • Are there possible problems I might encounter?
  • Who can help me solve those problems?

Prepare yourself well, the more time you spend on reconnaissance, the easier it becomes reaching your goal, and the fewer obstacles you’ll face on the way there.

The second part of the answer, which was about asking for help, had a huge impact on me. I usually try to do everything by myself. When I have to ask for help, it feels like I’m too weak to do it on my own. I believe there are many other people out there, that think the same way.

Some problems can’t be solved alone. They require a group of people with different skillsets and talents. Don’t be afraid to ask them for their help.

Treat Others With Respect and Offer Your Assistance

When Mrs. Harper was asked for her final tip, she said:

A good idea is to behave well to other people, show them respect. And help them as much as you possibly can, and it will be repaid hundredfolds. — Emilia Harper

There’s so much truth in this statement. Helping others benefits not only them but also yourself in many ways. Care for the people around you, and always maintain a healthy relationship. Help them wherever and whenever you can.

And in return, they will be there when you need them. If someone helps you, there’s always the feeling of having to repay them. Same works the other way around.

These people have lived five times as long as I have, and that’s why I will listen to their advice and try to put them into practice as much as I possibly can. And so should you.

~Patrick

advice
2

About the Creator

Patrick Krukenfellner

Software engineering student and freelance author, writing about how to improve our lives in every aspect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.