Motivation logo

40 Plus and loving it!

It's time to start living...

By Rita HurryPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've had many conversations with ladies in their 20's and heard many conversations where these ladies cringe at the thought of becoming 40 plus. Not only women, but some men react to a woman in their 40's with some negativity.

I had a conversation with a guy a couple of weeks ago, who was very obviously trying to flirt with me and one thing he said when he found out I was in my 40's was "You are too pretty to be 40!". I was shocked! What was he trying to say about us women who have hit the 40 mark? That our looks go downhill from then?

I pulled him up on it, and of course, as men do, when they are flirting, he tried to woo me with compliments, but was getting nowhere from the get-go!

This guy seriously needed to re-think his lines and his opinion of women over 40. He obviously hasn't seen those beautiful celebs that are now 50 and looking better than ever and in better shape than they were when they were in their 20's!

As a woman in her 40's I have experienced that life is just more open and more beautiful as I've grown older. The way I look at life now compared to how I looked at life back in my 20's is way more open and free.

When you have experienced life and I mean truly experienced life, the lows and the highs and the changes that growing older brings, you begin to have an appreciation for life that only being 40+ brings.

You totally understand yourself in a whole new light and are less afraid to make decisions, as you are wiser on what you want.

Now I know that today's 20 somethings are very different from when I was 20 something. The younger generation are more confident and assertive. But life is more than just being those two things (although they play a big part). The expansion of life and what it brings comes to light.

You become whole again - you feel, you connect, you expand mind, body and spirit. You recreate and create some more and your vulnerabilities stare you in the face!

When this happens, you can stand up and face them or you disappear. But the choice always is yours and you fully accept all responsibility.

Now I am not saying that all 40 plus women feel this free and love it, but I wish they would. I would love for every woman to never fear getting older and looking after themselves mind, body and spirit.

The freedom in age becomes a beautiful thing when we embrace it and allow ourselves to flow into it gracefully.

The lines under our eyes tell a thousand stories. Stories of ups and downs but of life and living life. Being ashamed of them only creates resistance.

Change doesn't have to scary, if you allow yourself to enjoy it and go with it, it can bring enlightenment to life. It can nurture you and make you whole and as a woman in her 40's, this really is a beautiful thing.

If you are reading this and are 40 plus, smile and know that you are in the best phases of your life. You can be the star in your life and create new exciting things in your life or revisit old things that make you smile.

But know that disappearing from the experience of life is not an option. It's a choice that you don't have to settle for. You have a beautiful gift that has no age limit. It can shine the brightest at 40/50 or even 60, hey Jane Fonda is in her late 70's and she is still looking amazing and living life on her terms and still acting and exercising!

I love being in my 40's coz it feels so good and my hope is that you feel it too. It's not a death sentence but a wake-up call to start living and enjoying this blessing of life again.

You can reshape your life and start again if you want to...it's never too late unless you decide.

So my message to you today is - don't be afraid to shine and give life the best of you. Embrace your 40's and get excited as I'm sure you are going to love it as much as I do!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Rita Hurry

Coach Rita is an Arts, Media and Film Coach. She has been coaching for over 17 years and is an Award-Winning Law Of Attraction Coach.

Coach Rita's clients include Casting Agents, Actors, Musicians, Singers, Writers and many more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.