Motivation logo

4 ways On How To Get Motivated To Write Your Stories

Tips on how to get motivated to write.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
4 ways On How To Get Motivated To Write Your Stories
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

You have days that you don't know what to write, or even motivate yourself to write. I have that sometimes too. Sometimes it is too bad, that I say to myself, "forget it", I'm not going to write anymore, today.

Well, you're not alone in that.

It is hard to motivate yourself? Sometimes I have difficulties to motivate myself.

Just like yesterday. I know what the reason was: I drank a glass of wine in the evening Sunday. I know when I drank alcohol the day before, I have difficulties to concentrate on work the day after. I also know I shouldn't have done that at all. I slept through my four alarm clocks. I have four of them, as I want to wake up at 5 am to start writing.

Waking up at 5 am, that is very early, makes me more productive than when I wake up 7 am and prepare bread, and drinks for my daughters first, for school and then going to write when I come back.

When I wake up at 7 am I start working very late in the morning and I don't do anything productive. When I wake up at 5 am, then I work massively more productive.

So, one year ago, I found out what works for me to be more productive. And it is not only being more productive in write hundreds of articles per day, but writing what you love to write about and that you have done everything, also from not writing, that has been on your list for that day.

Here are some tips for you to get your writing done and get you more motivated. I just tell you what worked for me.

Wake up and go to bed at the same time that works for you the best

As I have said, I wake up at 5 am because I love silence around me when I am writing. I don't want to be distracted when I am writing articles, stories or even my book. When I wake up at 5 am I make my hot strong coffee to wake up with.

This time works very good for me. So, find out and experiment with times that suits you best. Try a different method every week to get used at least one week to the new routine. I found mine last Summer and I loved it immediately, that is also possible.

Go to bed at least on the same time to get enough sleep of eight hours. That is very important to get that motivation you want and the motivation you need to be that productive as you want.

My bedtime is 20.30h. I love it, even when it is still light outside. I am a deep sleeper, so I when I wake up, it goes very slow. I need a half hour more to wake up, thus my alarm goes off a half hours earlier, at 4.40 am.

For you, it can be totally different.

Write about anything that matters to you

I highly recommend writing about anything you love to write about. When topics are important to you, then you defectively should write about it. Even when you have a lot to say about.

I mean, when you write about more topics, then you have much more stories and articles you love and more engagement with your audience. That is important for you as a writer. People come to you because you're passionate about the topics you write about. They feel and they read it through your words.

Enjoy the topics you're writing about

Another important thing is to enjoy what you wrote. Enjoy the topics you love to write about and enjoy your writings at all, every time you write. It doesn't matter the topics.

Your readers will read if you enjoyed writing your stories and if you are enjoying writing about these topics and the stories you're writing about. They will love it as much as you enjoy writing them.

When you enjoy writing about the topics too, you feel more motivated to write more about these topics and also to try new topics, and even try other sites to write about.

You will eventually go out of your comfort zone. That feels so good when you're writing. I smile when I am writing about topics I never thought I will write about.

Read as many other stories, books and readings to get inspired

I believe you have read a lot of news items, books, articles and essays. Maybe other silly things. Make notes of all the things that is very important or you never thought it was possible. I believe you get twenty other ideas to write about.

With every idea, note what is important to tell, not everything that is important for you, not everything what you loved.

All these stories, books, essays, even your instruction book for your laptop or phone will inspire you to write and will be a motivation for you to write.

Where are the little things to write about?

success
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.