Motivation logo

36 YEARS IN..

I Don’t see myself as being Almost 40, rather a fierce player, 14 years away from Halftime!!

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
EDB 1984

It is hard to believe it. I don’t know how to process it. Thirty six years ago, this journey, my journey of life began. The question most get asked on their birthday is quite frankly annoying, which makes me so happy, you haven’t asked me; because as I mentioned earlier, I don’t know how I am feeling? I don’t know how to deal with the reality that in four short years, I will celebrate four decades on this earth.

Four decades. What have I done in four decades? Has my existence on this earth meant something to me? Have I in these four decades done anything to better humanity?

As I sit here now writing of someone nearing forty? It is crazy how much pressure we place on age. It is crazy to think how life demands we live to the extreme?

By forty you are expected to have a home, to be about ten years into your mortgage, with a family, who by now is entering middle school. We are forced to have a PhD, beginning the journey through the city of highfalutin, USA, with anything other than that being considered a failure.

I can admit now, thirty six years in, the years I have lost in emotional captivity. The years I have lost being boggled by the opinions of those who did not know me, nor cared too. The years of being boggled by those who felt they had a better view of who I should become, who worked to mold me into the person who they’d like, instead of allowing me to grow into the human I was created to be.

Now thirty six year in, I can say how much I hated the education system. No I despised it. Fifteenth years of school, fifteen years of back and forth, stress and struggle, and not one time did anyone ask, who is EDB? AND.. where does he see himself in the future? Rather it was who the system felt I should become. It was some board of smarties, who didn’t know me, believing they could mold me.

I have now realized thirty six years in, there is only two groups of people, who by this point can and will excel. You will either be the children of those who make the decisions, or connected to same? Or you will be the ones who are so defiant, you will dig your heels in the sand, moving towards your dreams with reckless abandon.

Thirty six years in, I now know, the system is not designed for the masses to succeed, a reality we will see for years to come, despite those who are working tirelessly for change. I will not say, we will forever be this way, because I don’t know. Maybe by age forty, my psych powers will kick in, but what I do know is we are living in one of the greatest times ever.

What other time period can you point too? Where many of your most influential people, for sure dropped out of college, many out of high school, and are now worth more than people with double phds. Tell me what time period you can point too? Where a 20 year old high school drop out, is hiring people ten times smarter than he by societies standards, making twenty times less. Basically what I am trying to say is, If you have a dream, pursue it. The only one who can stop you from being great is you.

As I remove myself from your reading device, may I do so with this thought. You may hate the act, but you can appreciate the drive. Adolf Hitler joined the German army as corporal, and because of his drive, his determination, his never die spirt, rose to power and almost systematically destroyed the world we knew. Again what if we had that same spirt, drive, and determination, but fueled it in the opposite direction, man oh man, what people we would be.

I look forward to my forth decade? I look forward to looking back on this note, seeing what awesomesauce things I have been fortunate to accomplish. I see it like this, I am not almost four decades into my life, I am fourteen years away from half time. Let’s Go!! Let’s Do This.....

😻EDB😻

success
1

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.