Motivation logo

25 hour journey

Chap 1: 6:25 in the morning

By Odies Gee IIIPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
25 hour journey
Photo by Clemens van Lay on Unsplash

25 hour journey

My 25-hour drive was a journey that I’ll never forget. On just four hours of sleep due to my last-minute organizing for the journey I lost track of time, laughing out loud (lol)! Well that’s just how I roll sometimes. On the day of the drive I woke up at 4am to get ready so I can meet the crew at the meeting place for a pre-determined departure, pursuing Miami, FL to install cable for Comcast as contractors with the goal of making more money. At the meeting point that’s where I realized that I may have woke up too damn early cause I’m at the spot and nobody else is there. We were supposed to meet at 5:30am to take off and let’s just say that didn’t happen and that’s the beginning of this long journey.

There are six people including myself driving across interstate 20 minus the late bird one of the crew members. We end up stopping to wait on him and he was talking about he couldn’t find his keys lol!!! F-it, we munch on our snacks at the stopping point and gas up then we get back to it, driving down the highway on a long journey to the MIA! Man! we had the highway lit weaving through traffic, speeding-and-shit, glad I didn’t get a ticket because that would put a strain on my pockets. Real talk!! I was full of coffee, and I think I had one energy drink. Coffee was always on deck – all aboard!!! I was wired up jamming what ever was on the radio and the only CD I had. Not much music I must say so I listened to a wide range of music/radio talk shows and made my way.

I’m looking at a Cardinal bird as I write chapter one in my parent’s backyard in Oakcliff, Texas, born and raised. Even in the animal world the male I got to perform an act that get’s her attention. I just saw a bird perform by hovering in one area while aerial flapping its wings and spinning it was cool, I must say. I remember seeing a piece on animal planet on the actions of a male bird desiring a female bird. Now the bird has made its way to the female bird along the line they are on and he is getting closer and closer seems like they are chatting in their language, I’m sure its along the lines of hey how are you, what’s your name my name is….lol!!! they both fly off, aww shit I think he got her, thumbs up to the bird homie. Let’s get back on track.

As we traveled through Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama I remember crossing into Florida on Highway 90 through this long ass tunnel, coming out of the tunnel I saw the ocean a beautiful sight it was. Still a long drive down Florida to get to Miami, all heart now, thinking to myself saying woo wee I’m tired as hell just wired up on caffeine. After paying for the team at two stops cause the company only gave us 100 bucks for gas, I’m shaking my head in disbelief.

As we made it to Miami and stopping one last time for gas, we now travel to our dwelling location only to meet a roadblock upon arriving to the house, 25 hours driving and nowhere to settle in due to a misunderstanding and poor communication. Upon arrival my supervisor would attempt making contact while the crew and I was stretching our legs and conversing about the drive, it’s around 6:25am in the morning and highly humid. Let me not forget how the mosquitos limited our little meeting and back in our respective work trucks we go while we wait on an update. I’m at a point where I’m second guessing this whole decision as I’m gazing around at my tools and belongings. Now!! my mental fight begins from this first issue arising in my 25-hour journey, little-did I know more troubles awaited ahead. To be continued!

adviceself helpsuccessbook review
Like

About the Creator

Odies Gee III

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.