Motivation logo

17 Things I Learned by 17

I looked back through my years before adulthood and picked the major lessons I learned throughout.

By Londyn NicholePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

A lot of times, I am often pegged as the girl who has it all. And growing up that was a very common perception to the people around me mostly due to the fact that I always seemed so happy. I mean what could I have to worry about right? I had my family, two parents who are still married, an amazing older brother, we were financially stable to where my brother and I could have whatever we wanted and needed and I was heavily involved in school clubs and activities. People never believed me when I would say that I had it hard. But they also failed to realize, my family wasn't and isn't always like this; when my brother and I were young we didn't have any money, I watched my parents grow and develop themselves professionally in order to be able to give my brother and I better opportunities. They also didn't see that I had been struggling with major depression and anxiety since middle school. I am by no means saying my life was hard, in reality my life has been very easy and I am beyond fortunate for that, but along the way there have been rough patches and that's where this came from. When I was 17, during my freshman year of college, I decided to make a list of all of the major life lessons I had learned throughout my life, before becoming a legal adult. So, here are the 17 things I learned by 17:

  1. People change and you grow apart, this is something you must learn to live with and accept.
  2. Boys are going to use you, but you mustn’t let that break you.
  3. Candlelit baths and ice cream can’t solve your problems, but they can make them all go away for a few minutes.
  4. If you’re mad; cry, scream and/or break something, just don’t let the other person see you do this, because then they have won.
  5. Silence can hurt. Use this wisely.
  6. Just because he says he loves you, doesn’t mean it’s true.
  7. It’s okay to forgive, but never forget, because then they will think it’s okay to do it again.
  8. Don’t spend so much time worrying about the future to where you miss out on what’s going on around you, learn to just live in the moment.
  9. Your friends are a direct reflection of who you are as a person, so choose wisely.
  10. It’s okay to make mistakes, just as long as you learn from them.
  11. Never let someone tell you that you can’t do something, if you set you’re mind to it you can do whatever you dream of doing.
  12. If you think someone is attractive, don’t be afraid to tell them, you never know what will come from it.
  13. In life there are two different types of females. One, who is codependent and will do anything to get a guy. The other, is independent, she is fine being on her own. Try to be the second one, because nobody likes codependent people and guys think independence is hot.
  14. Don’t let your friends or family tell what you should and shouldn’t like. This is your life. Live it and make your own decisions.
  15. You can’t wait around hoping that your life meaning will just come to you. You have to get off your lazy bum and go out and find it on your own, nothing in life will ever just be given to you. Your true purpose included, this is something you must discover throughout life.
  16. You often feel most lonely when you’re in a crowded room. It’s like you’re looking around, screaming for help, then you realize that, nobody can hear you or see you; that you are alone. And it sucks but you have to carry on.
  17. You may never find out what you did wrong in a situation. And yes, the thoughts about it are going to hurt you on the inside, but it’s a part of life and a part of growing up. You must learn that you can’t always know why, and you have to just move on with life. Which can sometimes be the hardest thing.
advice
Like

About the Creator

Londyn Nichole

I write as a way to seek understanding in the world and within myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.