Men logo

"Unfold"-A poem and article about the challenges we face in life, and how we are not alone.

Series: Fragments of my mind

By CyrusPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
8
"Unfold"-A poem and article about the challenges we face in life, and how we are not alone.
Photo by Danka & Peter on Unsplash

Hi everyone! For starters, I rarely post in this community, as I usually write poems and post them in Poets. However, as I was writing this poem, I felt like it would be something that most men could relate to in this world. Life is of course, full of challenges, and this particular poem of mine aims to capture the many different types of challenges faced by men, in the different phases of life. The first three stanzas involves a flashback to the times I spent recovering in the hospital, facing the tough education system, and training in the military, and regardless of how active, healthy, or old you are, I'm certain that most of you would have experienced at least 2 out of 3 of these challenges in life. And the best part? These aren't the only challenges that we face as men. There's a whole other multitude of issues and challenges that we have to face on the daily as well, and there's simply way too much for me to fit into these simple and short poem...

Well... life is indeed tough.

But as I write this, I really want all of you to know that we are all in this together. That life can throw you any obstacle at any given period of time, and no matter how hard, or how tough it is to overcome them, you are not alone. That there is someone else out there, facing the same exact problem as you in the same exact moment. That there is someone else out there, who has faced this same exact problem before and overcame it. And that you can overcome it too.

And most importantly, these challenges are not for nothing. They make us stronger. They let us learn from our mistakes. They allow us to grow. So, let us go forth into the world and face our fears. After all, it is better to fail then to completely not try at all. And at the end of the line, success will definitely find its way to you, after all the trials and tribulations that you have had to overcome! While the journey to the top may be long and arduous, it's definitely worth it. Think about your loved ones, and the people who believe in you. Think about what it is like, to finally achieve that success. And think about the number of haters that you can prove wrong!

So keep your head up, soldier.

Never give up!

***

The following poem is about the challenges that most men face, and how it makes them stronger. Enjoy!

11 December 2023, Past Midnight

Unfold

I remember the days,

In the hospital

Where I was tended

Where I had hopes.

***

I remember the days,

In the battlefield

Where I was hungry

And cold.

***

I remember the days,

In the classroom

Where I would fear

The untold.

***

I remember...

The challenges

That took quite

A toll...

***

And yet;

They make

Me stronger

***

And yet;

They make

Me grow!

***

I anticipate the days...

In the unbounded future

Where you'll see my success

Unfold!

***

~ Beginning ~

I hope that this article/short poem of my has inspired you to be more resilient in the face of the plethora of challenges in life! If you found it helpful, do share it with your friends who need encouragement as well!

-Writers notes: Leave a like and comment if you found this relatable, and check out one of my Top Stories here! Also, do subscribe for more!

-Oh, and if you have read until here, do leave a tip to help me buy some cookies!(Great snack to munch on while writing. You should try it.)

-If you are interested in joining a community of poets and taking part in fun writing events, do join this discord server: The Writer's Tavern

WisdomIssuesHealthGeneralBrotherhoodLifestyleMasculinityManhoodInspirationEmpowerment
8

About the Creator

Cyrus

Welcome to the fragments of my mind. Thoughts. Ideas. All once a chaotic yet artistic mess, before I expanded them into entire, complete poems.

Promote your Vocal articles here for FREE: The Writer's Tavern

Find me on Pinterest here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Beautifully succinct & powerfully meaningful. You just gained a subscriber, Cyrus!

  • Test5 months ago

    This is an excellent piece. Beautiful and hopeful.

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    This is very hopeful indeed. I think you picked the perfect group.

  • Test5 months ago

    Such a positive message and the article format really enhanced the hope in the poem that followed 🤍

  • Tim Boxer5 months ago

    Thanks for sharing your encouragement for men. So vital!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.