Men logo

My Father's Challenge

Brotherhood or Money?

By Karen JuarezPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Happy together, as I also want.

My Father's Challenge: Brotherhood or Money

A loving harmony once enveloped the birthday gatherings in my young mind. I was always excited to see my cousins again. On my father's side, I had 5 aunts and 5 uncles.

Suddenly, as we entered high school, the tranquility of my life shattered. Was I too content with a boring existence? Did I yearn for excitement? Little did I know that my father's challenges lay ahead.

My father, a successful engineer working for the government, also managed our family's 20-hectare property. Half of it was a rice field, and the other half a fish pond for commercial culture. He purchased a small three-bedroom bungalow for my mother when he turned 30. He was a polite, gracious, handsome man, showering love upon his wife, children, mother, and relatives.

However, when an uncle took charge of managing the land, things began to falter. Profits became mediocre. Then, the unthinkable happened - my grandmother passed away, and chaos erupted.

A 20-year court case ensued, tearing the family apart. I witnessed my father's heartache, his tears streaming down his face, reflecting the depth of his emotional investment in our collective well-being. It was a heart-wrenching moment that left an indelible mark on my soul.

Determined to alleviate their pain, I became a catalyst for change and a beacon of hope. Fueled by determination and a genuine desire for reconciliation, I embarked on a journey of healing through heartfelt conversations.

One by one, I approached each family member, seeking understanding and offering an open heart. The family property had to be legally divided into ten portions. But instead of cooperation, I found doors shut in my face.

Desperate to find a resolution, I reached out to my cousins, hoping we could intervene on our parents' behalf. Their response was silence, as if my pleas had fallen on deaf ears.

Undeterred, I sent an email to my aunts and uncles, imploring them to allow my sister to buy the family home. Only then could our parents have a roof over their heads. With three children in college, my parents had depleted their savings and accrued debts to both my mother's family and the banks.

The pain and strain caused by the dispute shattered the shared heritage that had once bound us together. Another 20 years passed, and some of the disputes remained unresolved. As my parents' 50th wedding anniversary approached, half of the family remained uninvited. We were never included in any family gatherings, and the beautiful children of my cousins were strangers to me.

Yet, my father, despite his difficulties in walking, draws strength from his unwavering faith and love. He speaks of forgiveness and the power of reconciliation, hoping to mend the broken bonds with his siblings.

Will he ever see his brothers and sisters again? The silence between them persists, despite his efforts. But I am grateful to have my father as my guide. Through his example, he has shown me what it means to be a person of integrity. My brother, my sister, and I have not inherited the conflicts he endured.

As the years passed, we surrounded ourselves with a loving circle of friends. Sadly, our family members have been divided in half.

Yet, even in the midst of this challenging situation, I hold on to the belief that someday, the wounds will heal, and the family bonds will be restored. I will continue to carry the lessons my father has taught me - the importance of love, forgiveness, and the power of unity. Hopefully, we can overcome any obstacle and find solace in the true meaning of family.

InspirationFatherhood
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.