Marriage logo

Stepmom To The Bride

What is it I should wear, expect, contribute?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
6
Stepmom To The Bride
Photo by Billy Fletcher on Unsplash

My husband and I have been together for 23 years.

That almost brings me to tears.

How can it already be so long?

His youngest daughter was 14 years old and strong.

When we decided to get together his other children were grown

as were mine and I wasn’t interested in being a chaperone.

I didn’t plan to marry him until his youngest was on her own.

I told him that I had just raised 3 teenagers and I was tired.

I knew her mother and always admired

her with their children. And she was a solid, involved mom.

We were married our daughter turned 18. Nice, quiet wedding, no bomb.

~

Now, we get to her wedding. She was happy to have us there

to participate in the wedding with very little instruction where

her dad will be wearing a tux. He is contributing what he told her

he would be giving her last time. It was a few hundred more, no burr

over that. I had no involvement in planning the wedding.

A destination wedding. I was not informed but wasn’t dreading

it. I knew nothing about colors or food or anything else.

We knew the dates and she helped us to get an ABNB, no yells.

~

I got altitude sickness. Was mostly ill for the entire time.

It held hubby back by his choice from participating in any climb

or other wedding party events. I told hubby that I could give

them a cash wedding gift. He refused that offer, saying we have to live.

It is costing us enough to attend. The mother of the bride is great

decorated for the wedding, and the cake, and sang a song that was top-rate.

My hubby and her mother walked the bride down the aisle. I am so

glad I have gotten past being jealous a long time ago.

They both appeared more awkward than I expected.

I asked not to be in photos with oxygen on. I rejected

being in a few photo groups. I was in photos with

hubby and the bride and the bride and groom with a stiff

upper lip and pushed my husband to be in others with no tiff.

~

I’m sure I will see the photos sometime soon.

The bride and groom are on their honeymoon

It was a beautiful wedding, and the reception was fabulous.

The group was excellent with no clamorous

exchanges. I would like some written step-mother

of the bride's etiquette. And maybe a stepfather

etiquette as well. With five stepchildren, it is

not always the best place to be, not knowing what 'tis

what at a wedding. The oldest two were married

by the Justice of the Peace. I was at one and not harried.

The other, I was not invited to and that was okay.

~

I attended one of Tammy’s weddings and I must say

it was awkward for me. It felt like it would have been better

if I wasn’t there. I thought I should have sent a letter.

The oldest two are happily married. Tammy is divorced.

I never had any trouble with having to be coerced.

Stepchildren are bonus children when you marry more than once.

I love spending time with stepchildren and won’t renounce

the title of stepmom. I was stepmom to the bride and it was a ride

to the wedding and a plane fare home again. I didn’t wish to hide

anything about the time or the trip and so here it is for all

to see. No, it wasn’t my best trip ever and it wasn’t a ball.

I am grateful for the kindness shown and for no hate

throughout our trip and my fingernails still look great!

~

I will get over altitude sickness and we will recoup

what we lost out on. It will take some time, but we will regroup

and do whatever is necessary. I love my two children and my

five bonus children. My life is full, I am happy, and I do not lie.

Stepmom to the bride is a great place to be for you and I.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Published by Penny Press in Medium

travelgifts and registryfashion and beautyceremony and reception
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    This is so insightful and it sounds like you handled everything as well as you could have. I like that you didn't try to take over or replace the mum, but you were just there when you could be and when asked. Maybe you should write the etiquette?

  • So sorry it was awkward. I get how it feels. You've written this in a beautiful poem form and I love it!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Wonderful family and travel poem!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.