Marriage logo

Snow White cake, both the name and the interesting taste.

The recipe for Snow White Cake

By Make Food By YourselfPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Snow White cake old recipe, classic, with ammonia sheets (ammonium) filled with lemon butter cream. Also known as Lemon cake. It is prepared very easily and quickly and has a pleasant taste. Bake 4 tender sheets that are filled with a sour cream. Snow white belongs to the category of "popular cakes", much loved by housewives.

Ingredients

For sheets

  • 800 g flour
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 200 g butter with min. 80% fat
  • 200 g powdered sugar
  • 200 g sour cream (fermented, with min. 20% fat)
  • 1½ packets of ammonium for cakes (10 g) dissolved in 3 tablespoons of cold milk
  • a little grated lemon peel
  • a little vanilla (vanilla sugar, extract or essence)

For the cream

  • 4 egg yolks
  • a pinch of salt
  • 350 g caster sugar
  • 50 g food starch Gustin Dr. Oetker
  • 500 ml cold milk
  • the core of a vanilla pod or 2 sachets of vanilla sugar (or vanilla extract)
  • grated peel from a lemon
  • the juice squeezed from 2 lemons
  • 350 g butter with at least 80% fat, soft, at room temperature

Furthermore

  • a little powdered sugar for decoration

Method of preparation

  1. In the bowl of the food processor, I put the butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, grated lemon peel and mixed them well. I also added the 2 whole eggs and cream (to the cake) and mixed a little more. In a small bowl, I dissolved the ammonium in a little cold milk and poured it over the mixture in the mixer bowl. Also then I put the flour. I briefly mixed the composition and obtained a ball of smooth dough. I wrapped it in plastic and let it rest for 20 minutes on the kitchen table (not cold).
  2. I divided the dough into 4 equal balls (I always use the scale) and rolled out 4 sheets of 33 x 42 cm (the size of my trays). I slightly refined the work table and the rolling pin. The dough is elastic, easy to handle. I moved each sheet onto a sheet of baking paper the size of the tray and then I pulled it with everything into the tray. Simple! There is no need to bake them on the back of the tray. It does not make sense.
  3. Here are the 4 sheets of dough for the Snow White cake, ready to bake.
  4. I also pricked them in places so that they don't form blisters when baking. You can use a fork or a tool for tenderizing the meat, like the one in the picture. It is a roller with many thin blades that cut the dough superficially. I rolled both the length and the side of each sheet.
  5. I heated the oven to 180 C (medium to high for gas ones) and baked the sheets for 8 minutes (2 at a time, on 2 levels). If you bake them one at a time, 6 minutes are enough for each sheet. The sheets should remain somewhat white, with browned edges. Don't leave them too raw either because the ammonia doesn't have time to come out of them!
  6. I left the baked sheets to cool in the trays. You can take them out on the grills, but they are quite fragile, you might break them.
  7. I thought of this cream as a classic vanilla patisserie cream modified as follows: less egg yolks (so that it is not too yellow), more starch (so that it is thicker) and more sugar (so that it also sweetens the butter is added at the end).
  8. In a pot, I put the egg yolks together with the powdered sugar, salt, vanilla and lemon peel. I mixed them a little and added the starch. I gradually diluted it with cold milk, breaking up the starch lumps that form. I placed the pot on medium heat and stirred continuously until it came to a boil.
  9. I let it boil for 1 minute and thicken well.
  10. The vanilla cream with lemon must be cooled until it reaches room temperature. I covered it with plastic film directly glued to its surface (so that it doesn't crack) and I put it on the windowsill to cool.
  11. After it cooled down, I beat it a little with the mixer and added the juice squeezed from 2 lemons. The cream becomes more fluid and has a very pleasant, sour taste. I started putting the pieces of soft butter in it and mixing after each trance. Do not mix too much because there is a risk of cutting the cream! You can also proceed as with classic creams by first foaming the soft butter and gradually adding the lemon cream to it. The result is the same.
  12. If the cream is cut, don't panic! ANY butter-based cream will repair itself if you beat it with the mixer (at high speed) even for 10-15 minutes. Keep an eye on the cream and see how it becomes creamy again. The explanation is simple: by mixing (rubbing), the butter heats up and will be completely incorporated, the result being a homogeneous cream.
  13. I divided the amount of cream obtained into 3 and greased the first 3 sheets with it (the last one remains ungreased and will be dusted with sugar). About 5-6 tablespoons of cream went on each sheet. I overlapped the sheets one by one and finished with the ungreased one.
  14. I lightly pressed the cake with my palm and put it "in the press" until the next day. That is, I covered it with a clean baking paper and placed on it a tray with weights (2 books), distributed equally on the surface of the cake. You can also press it with a heavier wooden bottom or another plank. It is best to place it in the pantry, in the refrigerator (not the refrigerator).
  15. It is known that the Snow White cake needs 24-36 hours of softening before it can be cut. During this time, the cream softens the tops. Traditionally, the Snow White cake is sprinkled with powdered vanilla sugar and cut into 2 x 5 cm rectangles or into rhombuses.

food and drinks
Like

About the Creator

Make Food By Yourself

Food recipes for you and your loved ones. I present both food and sweets, from different countries, for a diversification of tastes to your liking.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.