Marriage logo

My Granddaughter Is Getting Married On My Nineteenth Wedding Anniversary!

And I am so glad it is not a destination wedding!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - December 2023
26
My Granddaughter Is Getting Married On My Nineteenth Wedding Anniversary!
Photo by Diliara Garifullina on Unsplash

It is a short notice, much like my third wedding. At my third wedding, we were not inviting anyone! Not even witnesses. The minister, my friend said, I can take care of the witnesses!

This is her second wedding. My granddaughter had told me earlier that they would be having a small wedding reception later. They are buying a house, moving from a distance, blending children, and starting a new job all in the same month.

The hubby and I didn't have all of that going on. We each had two big weddings already and were so done with that. My supervisor for my new position did have a part to play. He said, "The new legislative session starts the first of the year. You may need to testify. So, please get married soon."

The choice was to marry then or wait until June. It was not necessary, but who knew? Not me. In the twelve years working there, I never needed to testify.

At the last minute, we invited our all-grown children! A much easier blending process. Now, with one in her, 30s, 4 in their 40s, and 2 in their 50s, they don't have to blend.

This wedding we were invited to last minute. My daughter was going to the courthouse to be able to officiate. My granddaughter group messaged me inviting me and her grandpa to the wedding.

By Deva Williamson on Unsplash

Our reception was at Perkins with the five kids that could make it and the five grandkids that came along to the wedding. It was great! If there was a Perkins in our town, that is where we would have had dinner tonight. Instead, we went to the one restaurant with popovers in town.

The granddaughters' wedding and reception are at Sammy's Pizza tomorrow. She reserved a room there. And who doesn't love Sammy's pizza? They have gluten-free crust and my new favorite is their delicious jalapeno poppers.

Besides all of that, her older brother works there! Another grandchild. She has seven siblings.

They offered to buy our dinner! Hopefully, the grandson has a discount card for them. So what do you get a couple who are blending three people and six people? Money? Maybe six blended family counseling sessions? Or maybe send away for prayers?

Okay, just kidding. I am hopeful that they got all the problems taken care of before marriage, as did hubby and I.

By Afif Ramdhasuma on Unsplash

First of all in my culture pointing is considered rude, so he only points now with a full hand or foot, no single finger pointing! Next he makes the cutest faces with his nicely shaved bald head. That really helps.

Tonight when I told him he forgot his teeth when we were out doing business, he said, you told me I am a redneck. Now am I a redneck or not! How can I not laugh at this guy!

We were talking about how we are so lucky. We didn't get married to each other until all seven of our children were adults. Then I called my daughter and as a surprise to the hubby, I said, "Do you think you can marry us too? John married his first wife twice. I thought that would only be fair."

She said, "What about three times? Wouldn't that be better?" Then she proceeded to say, "Of course I will marry you, for a fee!" I then told her that I was kidding, because, of course, I have already been married three times!

Then I wanted to say, do you think I am crazy? But I didn't trust what she may say back!

My mother after I was married three times asked me if I was trying to catch up to Elizabeth Taylor, only she just said Liz, like I would of course know who she meant. After I got over my shock I told her, "Only if I live long enough Mom!"

I was telling my daughter, "I sure hope nothing happens to hubby as I hate to date!" She said, really Mom, you see yourself dating. And only because I knew her fingers would quickly go into her ears and she would start making noises I said, "Well, I have been having sex for 50 years or more..."

In all seriousness, I am so glad to have the wedding, following the funeral I was at this week.

wedding invitationsfood and drinksceremony and receptionbridal party
26

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham24 days ago

    Enjoyed this one very much and I think this would be a good one to share in a Marriage and Family counseling course.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Your writing brims with life and joy. A delightful read. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Xine Segalas4 months ago

    Loved your story - congratulations on making top story!

  • Test4 months ago

    Love the excitement and joy of this! Congratulations on TS and of course on your anniversary!

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Woah, love this. Congrats on making it to top story!

  • Test4 months ago

    Awesome story, Denise E Lindquist! Congrats!!!💖

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Congratulations on top story!!❤

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    omg, this is definitely TS.... wonderful.

  • Yayyyyy I'm back to say congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Thanks for sharing with us

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    My head is spinning with all the weddings, but loved the humor and love shown throughout your story.

  • Lol at your mom's remark about Elizabeth Taylor 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 You guys are all so sweet. I wish your granddaughter and her husband a happy married life!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    A wedding and it wasn't a destination that's wonderful!!! Love how you intertwined your third wedding to your granddaughters second. Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Some great thoughts on weddings! I'm sure it was perfect ❤️

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.