Marriage logo

My First Love Is Beside Me

Short Love Story

By Zain ZPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
2
My First Love Is Beside Me
Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

As the first rays of the morning sun pierced through the curtains, casting a golden glow into the room, I stirred from my slumber. The soft, rhythmic breathing beside me told me that she was still asleep. My first love, Lily, lay peacefully next to me, her chest rising and falling with each breath, her tousled hair framing her angelic face.

Memories flooded back to me as I gazed at her. We had grown up together in the quaint town of Oakwood. Our friendship bloomed amidst shared adventures in the sprawling meadows and secret hideouts in the woods. But as we entered adolescence, our bond transcended into something deeper, something that made my heart skip a beat whenever she smiled at me.

Today was special. It marked a decade since we had confessed our feelings for each other beneath the old oak tree in our favorite spot. To celebrate, we planned a trip back to Oakwood, revisiting places that held significance in our journey.

Lily stirred, her eyes fluttering open to meet mine. A smile lit up her face as she realized the significance of the day. “Good morning,” she whispered, her voice filled with warmth.

“Happy anniversary,” I replied, leaning in to brush a gentle kiss on her forehead.

101 Conversational Strategies for Dating and Romance!

After a leisurely breakfast, we embarked on our nostalgic journey, reminiscing about the times we had spent together. The meadows seemed greener, the woods more enchanting as we wandered hand in hand, lost in our own world.

At midday, we arrived at the old oak tree, its branches swaying gently in the breeze. Sitting beneath its familiar embrace, memories flooded back. I recounted the nervousness I felt when I first confessed my love, and Lily laughed, recalling how she had known all along but waited for me to gather the courage.

As the day waned, we found ourselves at the edge of the town’s shimmering lake. The setting sun painted the sky in hues of orange and pink, casting a magical spell over us. We sat in silence, basking in the beauty of the moment.

“It’s been an incredible journey, hasn’t it?” Lily said softly, breaking the silence.

“It truly has,” I replied, my voice filled with emotion. “And I’m grateful to have you by my side through it all.”

With a sudden rush of courage, I turned to Lily, taking her hands in mine. “Lily, from the moment I met you, I knew you were special. You’ve been my best friend, my confidante, and my first love. Today, as we celebrate this anniversary, I want to ask you something.”

101 Conversational Strategies for Dating and Romance!

Her eyes widened in anticipation as I reached into my pocket, retrieving a small velvet box. Opening it, I revealed a delicate ring nestled inside.

By Annette Sousa on Unsplash

“Lily, will you continue this journey with me? Will you be my partner in all the adventures life has in store for us?”

Tears glistened in her eyes as she nodded, unable to speak, but her radiant smile said it all. With trembling hands, I slid the ring onto her finger, sealing our love and commitment beneath the vibrant sky.

As we watched the stars emerge in the darkening sky, I knew, without a doubt, that my first love would always be beside me, guiding me through life’s beautiful moments.

101 Conversational Strategies for Dating and Romance!

With the stars twinkling above, we made our way back to the town. The night air was crisp, and the streets were bathed in a soft glow from the streetlights. We wandered, hand in hand, sharing dreams and aspirations for our future.

Stopping by our favorite diner, we sat at our usual spot, surrounded by the comforting aroma of freshly brewed coffee. The waitress, recognizing us, brought over a slice of decadent chocolate cake with a single candle on top.

Lily's laughter filled the air as she made a wish before blowing out the candle. "What did you wish for?" I teased.

She leaned in, whispering, "For our love to grow stronger with each passing day."

As we savored the sweetness of the cake, I felt a profound sense of contentment. Our journey together had only just begun, but I knew that with Lily by my side, every moment would be an adventure worth cherishing.

As the night drew to a close, we walked back home, the moon casting a gentle glow on the path ahead. Standing on our doorstep, I pulled Lily close, feeling the beating of our hearts in unison.

"Thank you for today," she whispered, her eyes shimmering with love.

"Thank you for being you," I replied, planting a tender kiss on her lips.

As we stepped into our home, hand in hand, I knew that the love we shared was not just a memory of the past but a promise of a future filled with endless love, laughter, and the beauty of being together.

101 Conversational Strategies for Dating and Romance!

ceremony and receptionwedding invitations
2

About the Creator

Zain Z

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Zain Z is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.