Marriage logo

any idea

secrets come with a cost

By Kathy ColbertPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 months ago 9 min read
Like

I walked down the corridor in my school on the ground floor, I looked up from the ground to see Gina Hall. Gina has been my best friend since we were three, she has brown hair with big curls, dark brown eyes that almost look black and olive skin. I have blonde straight hair and light caramel eyes. She stops me and says “Hey, Hayley!” I wave my hand. With my heart racing. Gina loves me, she always says she couldn’t have asked for a better friend and that we tell each other everything.

Only I don’t. She doesn’t know I have a massive crush on her! I take a deep breath as she passes me. She was holding her boyfriend’s hand as she was passing me, it breaks my heart to see her in love with someone that isn’t me. I could give her everything a boy can but I know she doesn’t feel the same way.

Not many people know I’m gay, the first person I wouuld tell would obvoulisly be Gina, but that would be a mistake because she would ask how I know and who I like. Of course, my mother and father say there’s nothing I could do or say to make Gina change the way she thinks of me and how much she loves me but that could change the minute I tell her that I'm in love with her. She’s a pretty girl everyone knows, including her, I mean everyone tells her. Gina’s not just beautiful, she’s extremely brilliant and smart, she’s always picked first in class, she’s also the kindest kid you could meet and she’s very passionate in what she does, sports, work, music, everything with passion. In class I can see her boyfriend staring at her and when they’re partners I can see how in love she is. I know I could never make her feel that way, I could never make her so in love like he does. I was going to tell her until the accident.

“It’s tuberculosis. I’m very sorry, I’ll let you talk.” the doctor said leaving the room.” my father motioned to my mother. “Honey-” I said loudly. “I don’t want Gina to know.” my father put his hand on my shoulder. “Princess, are you sure? Gina won’t-” I nodded. “Positive! I know Gina wouldn’t think any differently but I don’t want to worry her.” my father started again. I almost yelled. “Can we just go home?!” I lowered my voice. “Please?” my mother nodded and I got in the car. When I got home my phone started to ring. I looked at it and saw my cousin. I answered it. “Hey Tommy, what’s up?” he said. “Tell her.” he said i a spooky voice. I said. “Ha, ha very funny, but I going to need more than just a spooky voice to tell Gina I like her.” Tommy was the frist person I told I was gay. He was very supportive when I told him and always said if I wasn’t comfortable asking a question that didn’t have to answer. He laughed. “Okay, but really you should tell her, Gina has a right to know and I don’t think she’ll just go away, I’ve met a couple of times, she doesn’t strike me as the person to just leave. Even if she doesn’t feel the same way she’ll still be there for you as a friend.” I sighed knowing he wouldn’t let this go. Tommy proceeded “come on Hay, give her a chance, take a risk once in a while. Before you can’t take a risk anymore.” he said sadly. I shook my head no. of course I knew he couldn’t see me. “Tom, my last name isn’t Guerrero for nothing, it’s Guerrero because we’re fighters.” Tommy replied. “Actually It’s Guerrero because your background is mexican.” I said. “Any thing else you want to say before I pass away?” Tommy sighed. “I love you Hayley.” I replied. “I love you too, Tommy.” and hung up the phone. Gina called me soon after two weeks. I answered the phone. “Hey G.! what’s up?” I heard the concern in her voice. “What’s going on? I know you’re not telling me something.” I forced a laugh trying to make it believable but I could tell it wasn't. Gina pushed again. “What’s wrong Hay? Something’s going on, I can feel it in my bones, I see it in your eyes.” I sighed.

“Don’t worry Gina, it’s nothing I can’t handle.” I could hear Gina fighting not to groan. She spoke Calmly. “So there is something going on, hm? Also what do you mean it’s nothing you can’t handle?! You’re lying to your best friend, that’s not handling it, that’s hiding it and pretending it doesn’t exist.” I yelled into the phone.

“Gina, I’m fine! There’s nothing you can say or do to make me tell you! You hear me? Nothing!” I hung up the phone and layed on my bed.

The next day I went to school and tried to avoid Gina but that all ended at lunch. She sat down across from me after maybe like ten minutes I said. “You going to say something or just stare at me?'' She rested her hands on the table. “Which one will get you to tell me what’s wrong with you?” I groaned, throwing my head back. “Neither Gina! Neither!” I got up and walked away, when I got home my mom and dad were talking, until I walked in and stopped. I didn’t know why until I saw out of the corner of my eye two more people. They were Gina’s dads. Her dads, Micheal and Joseph looked at me and then back at my parents. My father stood up. “Hayley, sweetheart. The Halls are worried about you, especially Gina, her fathers are here to see if you could tell them what’s wrong with you, just so Gina can sleep peacefully at night.”

I looked at Micheal in his suit from work and Joe with his curly hair in a man bun, with some oil smudged down his right cheek looking rather worried. I took a deep breath and said. “I’m sick. Really really sick. But you can’t tell Gina! She deserves to not worry about me. Joe looked at me and said. “What are we supposed to tell her?” his voice was deep but it was breaking. I looked at them closely. “Nothing, you keep this between us. Gina will need to move on from my death, but not telling her this is what’s best for her.”

I went out after the Halls left, I was going to the local mall. I walked into Forever 21 and saw Jay.

I walked up to him and said. “Jay what are you doing here? You do know this is a women’s store. right?” He laughed and said, “Yeah, I know. I’m here with Gina.” I started to panic. “Wait, Gina’s here with you? In the store?” he nodded. I then heard a sweet voice say. “Hey babe, what shade of blue would match my nails better?” I froze when she saw me.

Of course being her, she smiled at me. “Hey, Hayley!” I waved with my hand shaking. She looked across the store and said.

“Babe, please go look for shoes. You know my size.” Jay said. “Actually no I don’t!” he said walking over the shoes. “Gina looked at me. “You don’t have to tell me, okay?” I looked at her. “I don’t?” you can but I’m not going to pressure you to tell me. Besides, you’ll tell me when you’re ready. That could be tomorrow, it could be next month, it could be in ten years, it could be when we’re 80 or it could be never.” she smiled and took my hand in hers. “All I care about is that you’re okay.” I smiled. Days passed and nothing bad had happened until at 2:15 in the morning on a snowy Saturday night. I woke up with chest pain and coughing up blood. I grabbed onto my night table knocking my lamp off making a loud crash.

My mother and father along with my little brother, Mattew. ran into my room to see me, on my knees, gripping the left side of my chest and a small puddle of blood in front of me with more coming from my mouth.

My mother ran over to me holding me. “Hayley, baby, what’s wrong? Say something, sweetheart.'' My father came over too. “Princess what’s happening what's going on?” He looked at my little 8 year old brother who was frozen in place at the doorway, shocked and scared of what was happening to me wearing his Spiderman Pjs. my father then said loudly. “Go call 911, Mattew!” I saw him run down the hallway and heard him calling. I passed out from all the coughing.

We were in the hospital. My heart had stopped beating and I couldn’t breathe. My mother and father were scared with my brother having his head resting on my mother’s lap. They were all in their PJs. Tommy arrived at the hospital after my father called his family. He ran up to my family. “Hey,” he said, hugging my father, and mother and then rubbing my brother's dark brown hair. “How is she?” my father shrugged. “They won’t tell us anything.

A while later a doctor walked over to my family and said. “I’m sorry.” My family looked at him confused. “I’m so very sorry. Your daughter, she’s. She’s in a coma.” my mother's eyes filled up with tears as my father tried to hold himself together. The doctor said, “You have the option to pull the plug. Would you like to?” My father looked at my mother and he knew her answer. He nodded slowly, he gave my mother a sheet. “You both need to sign there. And there. My father took the pen. With his hand shaking. He wrote “Maxwell A. Guerrero” my mother wrote her name going off the dotting line going under it. She wrote “Jade D. Guerrero. The doctors then pulled the plug on me.

The next day they held a funeral for me. I was cremated so it wasn’t a big funeral. Gina was standing at the table with my photo. My ashes, my favourite necklace and the watch I left for her. Tommy walked up to her. “Why wouldn’t she tell me?” he replied, `` she didn’t want to worry you.” Gina said. “Did she even like me?” Tommy looked at her. “Do you have any idea how much she loved you?”

Gina said. “Of course I did.” Tommy said “so you rejected her?” Gina looked at him. “What are you talking about?” Tommy said. “It never made you curious about why a pretty girl like her never had a boyfriend?”

Gina shook her head no. “I didn’t think much about it.” Tommy said “it’s because she’s not into guys.” Gina said “what?! Tommy said “she’s Gay. and she had a crush.” Gina said. “Really?! Who?” Tommy said. “You. she was into you, she wanted to be with you.” Gina was shocked. “You didn’t know that did you?” Tommy said And then walked away. “I love you too Hayley.” Gina said with tears streaming down her face

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.