Horror logo

the white haired killer

he didn't want to escape death

By Kathy ColbertPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

I sat in the back seat of my dad’s van playing on my phone, it was 2009 so it was a flip phone so I was pretty bored after playing solitaire for thirty five minutes. My dad said. “How are you doing back there Maxine?” I replied. “Call me max, my friends call me that and so does mom, your the only one who calls me that, and it smells like shit back here.”

my Aunt Mary who was in the seat in front of me starting laughed. My father said “there’s no way that you two are not related.” i pressed “new game” to play another game of solitaire.

After another half an hour of my father and Aunt Mary arguing if I should of come or stayed at home which I was with my Aunt on this, I really just wanted to go shopping with my friends, but it had always been a tradition to go to the pumpkin patch and stop at Rocky’s to eat before we head home. I felt a gentle nudge on my knee. I opened my eyes to see my Aunt turned around looking at me. “We’re here.” she said. I unbuckled my seat belt and jumped out. My mother handed me my napsack. I pulled my skateboard out as my parents tried to get everything sorted, my Aunt helped my five year sister out of the car. She came up to me and put her hands up meaning she wanted to be on the skateboard with me, my sister, Emma had always been obsessed with what I could do that most people couldn’t, like skateboard. I put her on the skateboard with me and skated back to the car.

My father said annoyed. “I thought I told you to leave that death trap at home?!” and looked at him and said. “And I’m a teenager which means I will do the opposite of everything you tell me to do.”

“Ride that skate board.” my Aunt said happily. She then looked at my father and said to him. “It doesn’t work like that big bro.” I stopped the skateboard and high fived my Aunt, at this time my sister had also gotten off. My Aunt and I had always been close. At least more than my dad, probably because we’re both so stubborn. I skated over to a corn maze and saw a little boy standing in it just enough for people to see him. He couldn’t be any older then eight. He had a medium length hair for a boy he had a warn out long sleeve hunter green shirt and dirty ripped jeans, his face was pale and innocent looking but his hair was the thing that creeped me out, it was as white as the snow. I looked around for a adult for him but there was nobody, I looked and him and said. “Hey! Where are your parents.” he turned around and ran into the corn maze. “Hey! Wait!” my Aunt said. “Who are you talking to Max?” I looked back and said. “Oh! Um… don’t worry about it.”

My family walked over to the main barn where everyone goes, whether it’s to buy corn, buy for a pumpkin, pies or grab snowshoes, fishing rodes or things to use in the winter.

I skated over to the photos on the wall, none of them caught my eye but one, it was a little boy that looked just like the boy I saw only his hair was brown.

“Franklin Owen Flynn. Tragic accident.” I turned around to see a framer looking at the photos. “What happened him?” I asked criuously.

the framer said. “he fell into the pond, he went ice skating with his little sister but the ice wasn’t thick enough to hold his weight. His sister screamed when he fell in. when they pulled him out he was never the same again.”

I said shocked. “He was alive?” the framer nodded.

“But he had a carving to hurt people, kill them.” I started to fidget with my ring after the framer mentioned that. “After a year he tried to hurt his sister, thankfully, he didn’t kill her but it hurt him that he tried to hurt someone he loved so much, the next year when the pond froze over he went there and fell through it killing himself.” I was started to get really creeped out by this story the framer was telling. “When they pulled him out his hair was as white as snow, they buried him in the corn feild.” my conversation was cut short since my family had to go.

When I got to the pumpkin patch I saw the same little boy again, this time I said “Franklin?” he nodded slightly. I walked over to him, he stepped back. I said softy “it’s okay.” Franklin shook his head no and showed me his hands covered in blood. He then turned around and ran off. It was only five so it looked like we were going to stay at the corn field for the night. My father paid for two rooms at the motel we were staying at. My mother, father and sister stayed in one room while I stayed in a room with my Aunt. My Aunt ordered a pizza for dinner and we stayed up watching T.V.

The next day, my aunt and I had left over pizza before we headed back to the corn feild, we got a taxi since my parents left early. I looked at my Aunt Mary. “I had a dream last night.” all my Aunt said is “oh.”

“It was weird, I was in the field with Emma and she was screaming.” my Aunt didn’t really answer after that.

When we got to the corn feild we met up with my family. After my father talked to me about what Emma wanted to do when we got home we heard a high pitched scream. My mother immediately said “Emma!?” I ran into the corn feild as the screaming continued. my family followed after me. I found her and said. “Oh my God.” I covered my sister’s eyes and picked her up. My Aunt came next and father was just behind her. My Aunt went to touch her to try and stop the bleeding from the girl my sister was screaming about. My father said. “No Mary, don’t touch her! This whole thing is a crime scene!” my mother called 911 the minute she saw the girl. I saw that her wallet was on the ground, I opened in up to see if I could get any information on her. “Elise Jackson, twenty three years old.” soon the police came and pronounced her dead. After the police left I tried to cover the rest of the blood up with dead leaves but I saw Franklin again. I looked at him and said as casual as possible. “Did you do this?”

he said. “I couldn’t stop it. Get you and your family out of here.”

I asked him. “Why? Why Franklin?”

He said. “Because I don’t want to hurt you, I like you but I can’t stop it.” he grunted and then ran away from me. I felt awful, he just wants to stop but he can’t. I finished covering as much blood as possible and walked back to my family. We all sat down at a table and ate the sandwiches my mother and Aunt Mary had made before we left, I ate a PB and J sandwich that my Aunt Mary had made since she puts extra peanut butter on them. My sister had a chicken and cheese sandwich with no curst but she was still freaked out by the dead girl she saw. After we finished lunch my Aunt Mary said that she had to go to the bathroom, nobody had to go the bathroom other than her so she went alone.

As my mother was buying corn I heard a someone yell. “Somebody! Somebody call an ambulance!” I ran to where the cry from help came. I saw a man in his twenties holding my Aunt Mary. I ran over to her. “Aunt Mary, Aunt Mary can you hear me? Aunt Mary!? Aunt Mary!” the police told my family that she was dead and to give them the information on her family which was just her boyfriend. My family went to fill out the papers. I saw Franklin again. “You killed her?” Franklin was crying too. “I didn’t want to, but I can’t stop.”

I said. “why can’t you stop?”

Franklin said. “because I wasn’t supposed to come back. I was supposed to die in that pond.” I looked at him. “Who said you were supposed to die down there?”

He said. “I do. I killed myself because I was taking the lives of others. You think I wanted to kill my sister’s great, great, great granddaughter?”

I said shocked. “Granddaughter?”

Franklin then turned and ran away as my parents finished with the papers I searched up Franklin Flynn. I was very surprised on his death but one article caught my eye about him.

He killed himself but he left a note for his parents to read, in the note he said after killing so many people he got lonely because all his friends were scared of him so he ended his life because he was lonely, I then heard my mother scream I saw my sister on the ground bleeding, since the police were already there no one had to call anyone. I saw Franklin once again. I asked him “are you lonely?” he nodded.

I said. “Is there a way I can help you with that?” He nodded.

I said “how?”

He pointed to the pond. “You have to fall in.”

I thought for a minute, Aunt Mary and Emma were dead, my father and mother had decided that they were going to go to Greenland after me and my sister turned 18.

I thought i’m 16 and school sucks, so I went over to the pond. There was ice but it was cracking as I was walking on it, as I went farther into the lake I got to a spot where I couldn’t touch. I jumped on the ice to get it cracking I jumped one last time and fell in. The water was freezing, I had never been so cold in my life, I squeezed my eyes shut and my joints stiffened. I woke up a while later in the water. I saw the opening of where I had fallen in. I swam to the top and gasped for air when I got there. I saw Franklin looking down at me.

“I like your white hair.” He said. I grabbed a strand of my hair to see it was no longer dark brown, but white. I said. “Is it just us two?” Franklin nodded and said. “I’ve wanted a friend for so long, thank you.” As time went on life got different the children that Franklin killed would live as a ghost, my aunt Mary and Emma even came back. The pond later got a fence with a lock put around it. I miss my parents but becoming Franklin’s Friend and meeting all the new people I now call my family is the best decision I’ve ever made in my life.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.