Longevity logo

Showcasing the Artistic Talent of Jess Girardo

Both Exhibition & Entreaty

By Diane BancroftPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Texas Sunrise Jess Girardo

Jess Girardo asked me to hold her in the Light tonight. I’m not terribly great at that kind of thing. I can meditate, but I am more of an activist, a motivator of sorts. I believe in the whole "move a muscle, change a thought" philosophy. Jess Girardo embodies this fully, even with the limitations of her body due to Scleroderma, a degenerative disorder involving the hardening of the connective tissue, resulting in a hardening of the skin. This has necessitated multiple surgeries for Jess, with no let up in sight. She has a team of 20 doctors, and speaks often of her progress and obstacles on Twitter, where I made her acquaintance.

Jess said she was tired tonight & in pain, that she had expensive appointments coming up this week. I, too, am sitting here, at nearly four o’clock in the morning, having trouble breathing, likely due to damage I’ve caused my own lungs from smoking & vaping. I, too, have expensive testing that I am avoiding, because a.) it’s costly & b.) I’m afraid. This is probably why I always connect with Jess when I see her on Twitter. Jess is a true warrior! She always comes across with class and care, lifting another person who is hurting during these times.

I know you have a lot of fish to fry, so let me help you differentiate Jessica Girardo from other people with health issues. The GoFundMe link below helps put a face on Jessica Gerardo’s health issues in a way that I am afraid that I could not do justice.

This is humble servant, Jessica Girardo. Day after day, I watch Jess selflessly give her support, love & empathy to others, encouraging people to donate, not to her, but to this food bank or that worthy cause. True, she is raising money for medical expenses, which she, arguably, should not have to do in a first world country. Jess tries to work, when she is able to, and raise money through her art. If you will click below, you will find the link to her Etsy shop.

As you can clearly see, Jess has used the current situation as a Medium for her art, instead of relying on handouts. This is one of the things that impresses me so very much about her. Too busy to click? Allow me to showcase some of my favorites.

America the Bought

"America the Bought" reminds me of a music video that I've seen on YouTube. I am going to link it & see what you think. I wonder if Jess has seen this video since it seems like she & the artists are thinking similarly in some ways:

I think Jess could totally collaborate with Run the Jewels and I’ve also sent her the above link so that it can continue to inspire her own art.

How about this piece?

Bugscuffle Scenery

Jess Girardo has a way of showing her native Texas in ways to which we can all relate and I do love the title of this piece, which is why I have included it. Apparently, this was a scene she shot while doing photography during a wedding, where she said the “venue was lovely” but that she found herself quite ill, due to a chemotherapy treatment. In spite of her profound nausea, she says she was “puking her guts out,” but was “determined to find something beautiful.”

I think that she definitely succeeded in this and it only heightens my admiration for this woman.

Want something a little edgier?

Pen & Ink: United Plagues of America

As a person who is high risk due to her current health limitations, I can only imagine the trepidation that Jess must feel with the global situation, particularly as it ravages her home state. I admire her for flipping her fears into fodder for art and then for making those pieces available on her Etsy shop.

A little more personalized?

Graphite Sketch Dr Ken Jeong

Jess chose medical professional and comedian, Ken Jeong, because as she puts it, “I love him! He’s a doctor who understands what us patients go through, but he’s also hilarious and, to me, laughter is a drug all its own. I drew him for my Etsy shop because he helps me get through the bad days with joy.”

The artistic talent of talent of Jessica Girardo runs the gamut, from photography, to sketches, to jewelry. She twists old favorites like the Mona Lisa, below, into timely contemporary pieces.

Masked Version of the Mona Lisa

Her jewelry is quite exquisite as well:

14 gold filled & amethyst locket in clear resin pendant

Having laid all this out for you, I will ask you to give Jessica Girardo every consideration, every avenue to get the help she needs, continued inspiration for her artwork, more revenue streams and purchase from her shop or, if you are so inclined, to give to her GoFundMe. I ask that you follow, Jessica Girardo on Twitter, continue to give her strength to fight the health battles she faces, help her family, send them all good energy for health and grace, encourage others to see her talent and give her ways to expand on it.

I thank the fates for bringing someone as kind and loving as Jess into my life and I ask that divine will be done in all things and that she is given the ability to handle what is still to come.

art
1

About the Creator

Diane Bancroft

Clean for multiple years, I pen my experiences surviving and thriving with mental illness, recovery issues and whatever tickles me. I have several books published on Amazon under my name and under Royal Elmo Publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.