Longevity logo

I Suffer From Atopy Should I be PRO-VAXXER or ANTI-VAXXER?

The ramblings of a confused writer allergic to penicillin regarding the coronavirus vaccines

By Rui AlvesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Suffer From Atopy Should I be PRO-VAXXER or ANTI-VAXXER?
Photo by Tom Roberts on Unsplash

Now that we have vaccines for SARS-CoV-2, the coronavirus causing COVID-19, we have an ongoing discussion between Pro-Vaxxers and Anti-Vaxxers.

This article relates to my personal experience, as I am not affiliated with any of these groups. Nonetheless, is common knowledge that until now, the COVID-19 vaccination is showing good results worldwide.

One thing is certain. We must find ways to break contagion, as even now we hear disturbing news coming from China regarding Chinese Authorities Seizing Thousands of Ice Cream Boxes Tainted by Coronavirus.

Last year, I took my first penicillin vaccine. The good doctor asked if I had any history of allergic reactions to penicillin.

— Well, Doc. I can’t say because I am a penicillin virgin.

He gave me a friendly tap on the back (this was 2019, thus tapping wasn’t a No-No) and prescribed the usual three doses treatment. I made it to the second dose before the skin rash appeared out of nowhere.

No more penicillin for you, Rui, doctors orders!

I got a new prescription for my usual semisynthetic antibiotic, and three days later, I was feeling much better.

The time will come, maybe next year, when my national health authority will send me a message, asking me to go to a medical center and get my coronavirus vaccine.

Should I step forward and take the shot or refuse because I have a history of an allergic reaction?

We're talking about a state-of-the-art vaccine; consequently, there’s always a small percentage of risk associated. Even the logistics of these new mRNA vaccines sounds mindblowing, explaining why the CDC released a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 Vaccine Vaccine Preparation and Administration Summary:

Is it worthwhile to get vaccinated? Or should I join the anti-vaxxers movement?

Britannica’s website ProCon.org gives an insightful approach to arguments from both sides. Thus, if you haven’t made your mind regarding vaccination, I recommend you read the following arguments carefully before deciding, and most important, always seek counsel from your medical assistant.

Pro-Vaxx arguments

1. Vaccines can save children’s lives.

2. The ingredients in vaccines are safe in the amounts used.

3. Major medical organizations state that vaccines are safe.

4. Adverse reactions to vaccines are extremely rare.

5. Vaccines protect the “herd.”

6. Vaccines save children and their parents time and money.

7. Vaccines protect future generations.

8. Vaccines eradicated smallpox and have nearly eradicated other diseases such as polio.

9. Vaccine-preventable diseases have not disappeared so vaccination is still necessary.

Anti-Vaxx arguments

1. Vaccines can cause serious and sometimes fatal side effects.

2. Vaccines contain harmful ingredients.

3. The government should not intervene in personal medical choices.

4. Mandatory vaccines infringe upon constitutionally protected religious freedoms.

5. Vaccines can contain ingredients some people consider immoral or otherwise objectionable.

6. Vaccines are unnatural, and natural immunity is more effective than vaccination.

7. The pharmaceutical companies, FDA, and CDC should not be trusted to make and regulate safe vaccines.

8. Diseases that vaccines target have essentially disappeared.

9. Most diseases that vaccines target are relatively harmless in many cases, thus making vaccines unnecessary.

My final decision

I will feel confident and grateful when finally it will be my turn to be inoculated. I will do it not only for myself but also for my loved ones and for every other person out there.

Jeffrey Kluger, Editor at Large for TIME magazine, explains how vaccines save lives; fear endangers them. A simple message that everyone out there should keep in mind.

Hence, for me, this is a risk worth taking, and I will roll up my sleeve and present my arm to the nurse’s syringe with a smile on my face, knowing that once again, I'm doing what I believe to be the right thing for humanity.

Help to stop the spread of misinformation. How to report it online according to the WHO:

Currently, there’s an overabundance of information related to COVID-19; some of this information may be false and potentially harmful.

This article is for informational and entertainment purposes only. It only depicts my personal experience and should not be considered Health Advice. Please report to your local health authority for accurate and official guidance.

If you see content online that you believe to be false or misleading, you can report it to the hosting social media platform.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Rui Alves

Hi, I'm Rui Alves, a teacher, army veteran & digital pathfinder. Author, alchemist of sound & Gen-AI artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.