Longevity logo

I Am a Mystery to Doctors​

My medical mystery

By Kay TetzPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
My dog can even tell something is very wrong with me.

As a kid, I was never allergic to anything, and hardly in pain or seeing doctors. One day in May 2016, all of that changed. I found myself in the hospital with severe abdominal pain and zero clues as to what caused it. I had eaten cereal that morning and found myself in severe pain shortly after that lasted all day. I could barely move and felt nothing but that pain, which easily hit a 10 out 10 on the scale. My parents drove me to the hospital after school, where they found the only thing off was my inflammation levels, which were at 48 and should not have been above eight. They gave me an antibiotic to kill the inflammation and sent me home. In the next few days, the same pain kept coming anytime I ate or drank anything, even water. Anything I did physically even, left me in agony on the floor. My parents took me to the hospital every few months when it got worse to see if doctors could find anything wrong with me. Only, they never did. Doctors tried to say I had gastric problems, but none of the medicines or diets helped so that was ruled out. One emergency room doctor even tried to say it was psychosomatic, all in my head, but others said it was clear I had real pain.

Many tests and scans later, they still could not find a single thing wrong with me. They did four scans on my gallbladder, most of which showed normal. However one showed it being slightly overactive, so they decided to schedule a surgery and remove my gallbladder. After that, when they allowed me to be on solid foods, the pain came back, worse than it had previously been.

One doctor came into my hospital room and said "We can either keep removing things in hopes we find the cause or you can learn to deal with the pain," which absolutely crushed me.

I just wanted some answers and something that would help ease the pain. It seemed I was not about to receive any of those things. It has now been three years, and I have stopped going to the hospital. I have been going to Mayo Clinic, the most prestigious doctors in the country, but not even they have found a single thing wrong with me. They said I have what they called "functional dyspepsia," a fancy word for saying "we believe you have real pain but there is no cause we can find for said pain."

I am at a standstill, with no clues as to why I am still having these bursts of pain. I have been put on every medicine for abdominal pain and random causes just so they could rule them out, and every diet they could think of to put me on. None of these things appear to be working. Not a single thing has helped my stomach. At this point, any food, drink, or physical activity leaves me in complete and utter agony. Not the simple "I just ran and now my side or stomach hurts," but a sharp, stabbing pain that spreads all through my abdomen and leaves me unable to move or breathe for hours on end, sometimes even the entire day. It seems there is no hope for my stomach. Some doctors say they hope that it will go away as quickly and suddenly that it came on. They have said I am now allergic to wheat, dairy, and eggs, however, that is not the only food groups that kill my stomach. Even something like fruit and water leaves me in bed for hours crying because I cannot do anything about this pain. Not a single thing I have tried works to ease even a little bit of the pain, and I am running out of things to try. I have doctors telling me this may be a permanent thing I have to learn how to live with, and others simply giving up on me. I am a medical mystery to doctors, and a guinea pig to others. As it stands now, they want to try hypnotizing me to make sure there is no mental influence, but all it seems I am doing is racking up medical bills, which can get super expensive after many many trips just to discover nothing appears wrong with you and the pain is still very present.

industry
Like

About the Creator

Kay Tetz

Hello, my name is Kay! I enjoy photography and videography. If you want tips, I will have many of those within my stories. I will also be posting blogs about my life, and so forth, so stay tuned for more fun!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.