Longevity logo

How to Maintain Yourself During Vacation

And stick to your guns!

By Alix NicolePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello my little lovelies!

So recently I went on a vacation to my parents' where the word healthy doesn't even exist. With my new healthy lifestyle changes, it was very difficult to integrate that healthy lifestyle with the cooking that your mother makes that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. But you know it's so unhealthy for you but you eat it anyway because it's delicious and come on, would you deny your mom's cooking? I don't think so. So luckily, I only gained half a pound despite my mother's best efforts and I will share with you what I did to enjoy mom's cooking but stay semi-healthy at the same time.

Enjoy!

Bring your own snacks!

So one of the things I did when I went up for vacation was I brought my own snacks with me. I brought rice cakes, protein peanut butter (yes, I am that extra), and my protein powder in case I wanted to dip anything into chocolate. Anytime I wanted something sweet, I got some rice cakes and slathered it with the peanut butter or made the chocolate dipping sauce. And those were literally my snacks and only caved when mom waved ice cream in front of my face. But other than that I behaved on my snacks and splurged on my dinner when mom and dad would make their food that was amazing and yet so unhealthy. So bring your own healthy snacks so you don't add too many extra calories when those homemade dinners come. Or if you're someplace not at home and you're in a hotel room purchase healthy snacks that you can have on hand in the hotel room when you are in a munching mood.

Behave yourself at lunch.

So despite my mother's protests, I did meal prep my lunches and she did buy some veggies for me (thanks mom!). While I meal prepped, I made sure to load up the meals with a lot of veggies so that it would be easier to keep up the healthy a little bit. Make one lunch for every day that you're there. That way you can still keep your calorie count low, enjoy a delicious lunch, and enjoy mom's dinner. Notice all of these tips are so you can still enjoy mom's cooking. Or again, if you are someplace not at home and you are going out to eat, look at the healthy section. A lot of restaurants are including healthy options now because people are becoming more conscious of the food that they are eating and watching their figures because social media dictates that we have to be in shape all the time.

Work out!

So while I was on vacation, I at least went to the gym twice and I did heavy workouts so I could sweat some of those calories away. I did at least an hour a day and I made sure that I was sweating by the end of it all. It never hurts to get a workout in on your vacation, especially when your family is running errands while you're still sleeping in because it's your vacation. So find a gym, find out the guest fee or if you're a member of a gym and its Gold's or Planet Fitness, find one of them and go there at least for most of your vacation so you don't completely derail yourself and mess up the progress you've been making. I only managed to gain half a pound and I think I can thank going to the gym for that, especially when you have men who are at least a foot taller and in shape because their job dictates that they have to stay in shape.

Have a strong willpower!

My last tip is just to have a strong willpower. My mother tried every trick in the book to get me to be unhealthy. She shook unhealthy treats in front of my face, cooked things that were unhealthy but also my favorite foods, and just constantly reminded me that my diet was shot while I was home. Unfortunately for her, I only gained half a pound so I didn't screw up too bad.

I hope you guys enjoy these tips and good luck for when you go on vacation!!!

travel
Like

About the Creator

Alix Nicole

24 year old doggy mommy to an an adorable 2 year old Shiba Inu named Lucy. Loves history, loves to write and relax while enjoying a nice cup of coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.