Longevity logo

How To Get Nurtec For Free

My New Found Freedom From Migraine!

By Cozett DunnPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
My first prescription of Nurtec

I am currently 42 years old and have suffered with migraines since I was around 9 years old. Apparently, it's a genetic thing since the condition runs on both sides of my family. As I write this review I am filled with a mixture of emotions. Several years ago, a younger cousin of mine committed suicide due to irretractable migraine. He suffered everyday and battled opiate addiction because of that. I wish he was here. I wish he could have the opportunity to try Nurtec.

I've tried many migraine medications. Maxalt, and other triptans, beta-blockers, OTC medicines, homeopathic and herbal medications. I've tried various manual therapies such as massage for migraine, dry needling, chiropractic care, etc. Nothing has ever brought me relief. I have lost so much of my life due to migraine. Graduations, weddings, funerals, vacations, date nights, and even apprehension about trying to have children due to fear of not being able to take nothing more than acetaminophen during a potential pregnancy. I chose not have children and migraine was a factor in this decision. Migraine has robbed me of many precious milestones that life has to offer. Until now?

I was told by a pharmacist friend, who also has migraine, that she had tried Nurtec and that it was like a miracle drug. She suggested I get with my doctor and try it. I managed to get some samples but because it was a new medication I was nervous to take it. Plus, with the current state of Covid-19 hospitalizations here where I live in, Chattanooga, TN, in the USA our hospitals and emergency departments are slammed with zero room. So, I was afraid if I had an adverse reaction I wouldn't have quick or quality access to medical intervention. I have friends who work ambulances and one of them told me she had a patient on her truck for almost 8 hours at the ER because there was no room. So, I held on to my sample for weeks.

Last week I had an epic migraine. It was one of the bad ones. The stubborn ones. I was tanked up on ibuprofen and acetaminophen and then alternating naproxen. I was taking hot showers and then rubbing my forehead and neck with peppermint oil when I lied down. I made an ice pack and wrapped it with a cold wet washrag to set on my eyes while my head pounded. When they're like that it's pointless to go to the ER because even narcotics can't touch the pain. They make me woozy but they do nothing in regards to migraine pain relief. So, I was getting ready to hunker down for the next 3 to 4 days and cancel my work appointments and try to get friends and family to run any urgent errands I might need.

I sat at my desk rubbing my head and my sample pack of Nurtec sat beside the screen of my laptop. It seemed like it was looking at me. I did one last check in the Chattanooga Covid-19 Support group on FB to see if anyone could update me on the status of our local emergency departments in case I had a reaction. Of course, they were all full. But, I was beyond miserable. I was so sick. So, I thought, "well if I have a reaction and can't get medical treatment....then whatever happens, happens because I am miserable." The pain was absolutely searing, sharp, intense, and throbbing. So, I told my cousin, who is my roommate that I was gonna try Nurtec and to stand by in case I had a reaction. And so, I popped my first Nurtec at 8 pm last Thursday. I went into my cousin's room so I could be close to her in case I started feeling weird. A little after 9 pm...I felt a measurable decrease in migraine pain. It still hurt don't get me wrong. But, there was a definite decrease. At around 10:30 pm the pain had become manageable and I thought perhaps I could sleep it the rest of the way off. Thankfully I had no side effects or adverse reactions.

I laid down around 11:00 pm and as I was drifting to sleep I noticed the pain had decreased even more. I woke up around 1 am and the pain was still there but just barely. I fell back to sleep and when I awoke again around 7:00 am the pain was completely gone...and it hasn't come back since. Nurtec had just worked against one of the worst migraines I have....a rebound migraine, where the weather was a trigger, I was dehydrated, my eyes were strained, I was a day away from my monthly cycle...just the whole perfect storm of triggers for me. And, Nurtec backed that pain down like a boss!

One thing that was weird that I want to mention is that the next 48 hours I could still feel in my body that I had a migraine...but as far as migraine pain in my head...there was zero pain. For the first time I got to feel just my body's response to migraine and it was quite interesting. My pharmacist friend shares the same experience. She feels like she has a migraine but there is no pain. It's a weird feeling. But, I am beyond grateful for this medical breakthrough.

Additionally, Nurtec is crazy expensive. It's over $900.00 USD without insurance. And, with my insurance...which is AmBetter...it still isn't covered. But, Nurtec offers a discount program that you can enroll in via text message. Here's how: text: NSAVE to 26789.

Then take the info they give you to your pharmacist. Initially, Walmart pharmacy told me that because my insurance wouldn't cover it that I wouldn't qualify for the Nurtec discount. She said they would have to send in a prior authorization request to my doctor and see if we could take that route to get approval thru my insurance company to gain eligibility to the Nurtec program. If you are told this...keep trying. Here's why.

The next day I called the pharmacy to check the status of the PA and that particular pharmacist said, "you know what I think I can override this for you and get it for you for free. At least for your first prescription and that will give us time to get your prior authorization for when you need a refill." I was like, "really??" She said, "yes ma'am give me just a minute and I'm gonna see if I can work some magic for you." So, I held for about 2 minutes when she came back to the phone and said, "alright, I've got you taken care of. Your Nurtec is ready and you can come pick it up for zero dollars!" I literally shouted, "OMG, you're amazing!! This changes my life forever! Thank you! I'm on my way now."

So, tonight I sit here with 8 orally disintegrating tablets for free. It's gonna be raining for the next few days but I'm not in fear or dread over weather triggers because I know I have Nurtec. My life is forever changed for the better. I have new found hope. I have new found freedom.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.