Longevity logo

Blue Light Blocking Glasses and How They Can Help You

Honestly, if you spend more than three hours looking at a screen, you need these glasses.

By Deia De MarcoPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Trust me, these are no ordinary glasses.

Have you heard of blue light?

My senior year of college in my environmental chemistry class, a researcher from Cornell University gave a presentation about the effects blue light has on both humans and animals.

Blue light, the highest frequency of light that humans are capable of seeing on the spectrum, effects humans (and animals) in ways that are just now being discovered.

Before retina screen LED TVs, the main source of blue light that humans were exposed to was the sun. As a result, blue light dictates our natural circadian rhythm—when our bodies naturally want to wake up or fall asleep.

It's no surprise that watching TV, playing video games, and even scrolling through a cell phone at night is enough to disrupt our ever-so-delicate sleep schedules.

Blue light effects us more than we know.

Blue light doesn't just affect our sleep cycles, it affects our melatonin, serotonin, and endorphin levels.

This keeps us at an artificial "high" or energy level, so to speak, for much longer than we naturally would be, especially in the evening hours.

This kind of consistent stimulation and sleep disruption can cause some serious side effects, headaches like insomnia, depression, and increases the risk for diabetes and cardiovascular problems.

It's easy to protect ourselves against blue light.

Research from Harvard University shows that wearing blue light blocking glasses seriously reduces the effect of blue light exposure.

Ever since I heard this information, I wanted to protect myself. I had been wanting to get blue light glasses for some time, but most of the "cheaper" models I saw online were around $80.

My experience with blue light glasses.

Me in the office, sporting my pair of LivHó sunglasses in "clear."

I had been wanting to try blue light glasses for some time but I couldn't bring myself to pay so much for a pair of glasses that weren't even prescription.

So when LivHó glasses contacted me about their affordable blue light blocking glasses that were only about $25, I couldn't wait to try them out.

I have had a problem with headaches for years.

Migraines have always been a problem in my life, and I am always looking for ways to reduce my headaches, and the stress caused by them.

With my new job, I spend over six hours a day looking at a computer screen, so implementing the blue light glasses took a huge strain off of my eyes.

I noticed that I get fewer headaches throughout the day when I wear them, and I am able to work for longer periods of timewithout getting distracted, or wanting to get up and walk away from my computer.

Why I Recommend These Glasses

They are an inexpensive option for someone who is looking to limit the amount of blue light exposure they receive on a daily basis.

These glasses helped increase my productivity while limiting the strain on my eyes, brain, and endocrine system. What's not to recommend?

DISCLAIMER:

My mom did say, however, that these glasses made it hard for her to read a screen, so if you need prescription reading glasses, these will not be an adequate substitute.

Wanna get your own pair?

If you are interested in getting your own pair of LivHó glasses, you can use this code to get 20 percent off your purchase! CODE: IU5TRTA7

product review
Like

About the Creator

Deia De Marco

Wanderer, tropically addicted, surf/skater, with a constant hankering for chicken wings and a crisp beer. I love to explore, create, share, and appreciate beauty in all of its forms.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.