Longevity logo

Adapting in changing times

From one to one in person therapy to telehealth

By Lisa Jacovsky Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Adapting in changing times
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Navigator on Unsplash

Working in the field I do; it is important for techniques to be a specific way. Being able to provide one to therapy to children so young was working very well. I was able to train parents and model for them how to apply the techniques. The clients I had were making great improvements. I finally had found my favorite place to be in my field. Then the pandemic hit, and everything had to change.

Adapting

When the pandemic hit, I had been hearing about it but did not realize how serious it was. I had not even gotten the emails from my job that said we can work basically at the risk of our own health. Then my state went into a shelter in place. My first immediate thought was, I hope we can do telehealth. In part because I needed to work to pay bills, but also because I had wanted to try this form of therapy for a few years. When my supervisor told me we would be using telehealth and sent over the guidelines, I was nervous but excited to finally try it.

Telehealth pros

There are different positive advantages to using telehealth one being that I can continue to work. Another advantage is that children and families that need vital 1:1 therapy service can receive or continue it from before the pandemic. For the children I work with being able to continue their therapy services telehealth has become something of a miracle. Some of the families I work with therapy such as I provide is a huge stress relief. Sometimes a parent needs to also know they are not alone in the struggle to help their child. Being able to provide this is rewarding and I am glad I can bring these services to my clients through telehealth.

Another advantage is that I can work from home. Working from home I can get other things done in between clients. I have been able to do schoolwork, write my books or get cleaning done that I would normally do after work. Having this extra time has helped with minimizing stress as well. It has also allowed me to spend more time with my pets building a greater bond with them. Being able to relax with my pets in between clients has been a stress relief and a much better way to relax than before.

Telehealth cons

If there is a pro, then there most likely a con to something. Telehealth has many advantages but as I have learned can also be difficult. Before the pandemic I could do the 1:1 therapy with my clients and then train the family on the techniques. Some families were more hands on than others which was great and benefitted the child. Now doing telehealth we have moved to the family training model. This model is different in now the parent or caregiver is providing the 1:1 therapy. I am just there to guide the parent in how to use the techniques. This provides different challenges. One being that some parents are not great with technology and want to use their phone. Having to hold the phone if they cannot prop it somewhere means it is more difficult for the parent to complete the techniques. This is beginning to lead to frustration for a few of my parents. Luckily not many uses this during our sessions but the few that do, make telehealth aversive to them. It is also important for our families to be consistent when using the techniques. I have found they do not always realize they have to use the techniques outside of session and rely on us and these sessions instead. This misunderstanding leads to different frustrations as well. The last thing we want is our families frustrated or not wanting to use telehealth and stop services.

Another issue I have found is trying to have our form signed. We need a form to be signed to verify session happened but also to be paid. It can be difficult for some families to remember or understand how important this form is. It then becomes frustrating for me as a therapist because then I do not receive my payment and who wants to work then. Sometimes I must send many reminders to parents to get this signature which takes two seconds to do. This can be stressful for me as a therapist and for the parent because who wants to bug someone and who likes getting tons of message reminders anyways. Sometimes I feel that the parents do not take sessions as serious through telehealth either.

What I have learned

I have learned that telehealth is not for all families in the field I work in. For some families applying the techniques themselves just is too much work. Or it is really a concept they cannot grasp. I have also learned there are different stresses for me when it comes to doing telehealth and this model. It brings many advantages, but the disadvantages can some days be too much. I have found a new love and appreciation for doing my type of therapy sessions in person. It has been a great experience learning to use telehealth for my job and I appreciate it. However, I look forward to the day when I can do sessions as we did before the pandemic.

industry
1

About the Creator

Lisa Jacovsky

Author of the award winning series Lets Talk! and podcast host of No Limits with lisa jacovsky

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.