Longevity logo

Abs While driving

A review on slendertone Ab trainer

By Ricky Tucker JrPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

It is hard with Covid-19 to get the physical activity that we did prior to lockdown. Every time you go out you see facilities having severe restriction on how many people can be inside gyms. A few years ago, I spent six months working my way from 248 pounds to 218 pounds. This was while I was going to the gym every day for an hour taking protein powder and prework out. It took me 6 months to increase my physical fitness.

As anyone know being in good physical fitness is something that can never stop. I faced this harsh reality when I went from working on my feet all day long to a sit-down job. Since having been at a sit-down job for a few years and lockdown making it almost impossible to get physical fitness in my weight slowly went back up and soon surpassed my old highest weight of 248 to the point of waying 280 pounds.

Back in June I started working back in the office. On lunch I have been hitting the gym for the last 4 months every day only seeing a 10-pound weight loss through September. This is where I started thinking about how I can drive 2 hours a day and get in the gym more than 30 minutes at a time. Between kids, the drive and working I cannot manage to increase my time to more than 30 minutes a week.

That is where the slender tone came into play. I started using the slender tone in the beginning of October. I was very skeptical, but I decided to start using it on the way home and the way to work. The model that I have has 9 modes 1-5 are starter modes moving to 6 and 7 which give quite a workout even for someone with excess belly fat like me. Mode 8 is for use during workouts like jumping jacks, while Mode 9 is for helping with sit-ups and crunches. Each mode has 100 different power levels.

The first week using the slender tone was spent working through modes 1-5 getting used to the work out levels. Each level I worked from 0- 100. Some Each higher mode had a stronger effect at level 100. It is a little uncomfortable at first before you get used to the electric shock. After the work out you can feel the muscle in your stomach. It left them with that good feeling after a workout. The next day I would wake up thinking wow what a workout.

The second week I spent working up the difficulty level of modes 6 and 7. Both modes are just as difficult, but they are different in how they work the muscle. That second week I couldn't progress past level 50 on either mode. The effects of using the toner could already be felt at the end of week 2. The primary effect I was feeling was a better engagement when I was using my core muscles. What I mean by this is my core has always been week and I would compensate the weakness in my abs with my back leading to back pain. With the toner doing its job I was able to us proper muscle and protect my back.

The third week I would continue to use it twice a week both on the way to work and back home. It was much slower progressing from difficulty level 50 t0 75. It was during this week that I had started developing a preference for mode 7 instead of 6. Don’t get me wrong mode 6 is a good work out but it only has longer phased. Mode 7 will alternate between long phases and short pulses.

The fourth week had slower progress than the prior weeks. I only increased from 75 to 90. At the end of week four is when I tested to see if I was getting results. During this trial period I avoided working my core muscle at the gym in attempt to get a better estimate in how the slender tone helped.

There are several metrics that I used to measure the success or failure of the slender tone as a workout solution. The first is weight loss, this was 5 pounds for the month of October. This was increase in weight lose per month compared to the previous 4 which was 2.5 per month vs 5 pound in the month of October. The second measure for the slender tone belt was planks. In the prior 4 months of exercising including crunches, sit-ups, and planks I could only get to the point of planking for 30 seconds. After using the slender tone for a month, I was able to increase my planking time to 1 min and 10 seconds. The last measurement for the slender tone was convenience. Honestly that is what I loved the most about it was I could do it on the way to work, home. I am evening using it while typing this article up.

All in all, I would I plan to keep using the slender tone as a tool in my physical fitness. It isn’t a cure all it needs to be accompanied with physical fitness , a healthy diet and plenty of sleep.

I release articles about fitness, software development and fiction stories(fantasy and scifi). You can follow me at buymeacoffee.com/rickytuckerjr

product review
Like

About the Creator

Ricky Tucker Jr

I will be feeling my stories with amazing adventures fueled by all the intangible ideas that float through my mind.

You can leave comments, help shape my adventures or buy me a coffee at https://www.buymeacoffee.com/rickytuckerjr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.