Longevity logo

7 Questions Answered: Lucia Light Therapy

My Experience with the Trendy New Relaxation Method

By Stephanie KingPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Prior to beginning my Lucia Light therapy session

*Disclaimer: I work for a social media company and was offered 1 Lucia Light session at no charge. The experience is different for each individual. These thoughts are my own and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts of all individuals who have tried Lucia Light therapy. Consult with your doctor and the business providing Lucia Light therapy before beginning sessions.

What is Lucia Light?

"The Lucia N°03 gently stimulates the central brain (including the pineal gland/third eye) and opens up a space for visionary exploration - a place of unimaginable peace and beauty." -lucialightexperience.com

The bright lights flash at different frequencies and brightness in front of your (closed) eyes, letting your mind create colors and patterns. The process is intended to both stimulate and relax you, potentially leading to help with anxiety, increased creativity, and astral travel.

What does a session look like?

In my case, I was taken into a dim room where I laid on a "bed" of sorts, complete with head pillow and under-the-knee support. I had the option of wearing a blanket (to which I of course said, "Yes!"). I put on over-the-ear headphones and closed my eyes. I chose my style of music. The music was turned up in volume until I signaled it was at the appropriate level for my enjoyment.

The lights were about 18-24" above my face. The therapist was in the room for the entire duration, and I could have stopped at any time.

How do I choose music? Is one style better than another?

This may differ at each location that offers Lucia Light therapy. At my appointment, the therapist told me to choose a style of music that doesn't have lyrics... anything from classical to jazzy to trippy. I started with jazzy during the demo session. When we increased the intensity, I changed to "trippy" music. To my surprise, it made a HUGE difference. Synesthesia became much more likely with the different instruments and notes (the bass lines and drums particularly helped).

How long is one session?

The "demo" version that this particular business begins all customers with is 15 minutes long. Appointments can range from 15-60 minutes in length. I participated in the 15 minute demo, and approximately another 20 minutes after a brief break.

Is this really going to make me relaxed... or take me to another realm?!

As someone who deals with severe anxiety and depression, I am always open to trying new methods of relaxation. When the opportunity for a Lucia Light therapy session presented itself, I was more than willing to give it a go.

It's easy to be skeptical about trendy new ways to relax and open your mind. Especially if you do not currently meditate or participate in more holistic versions of relaxation, it will probably take a few minutes before you really believe Lucia Light will do anything for you.

I myself did not see a huge impact on my relaxation or creativity, but that particular benefit may increase if you participate in more sessions. I also don't believe in astral travel, but my therapist said she went to another realm in her 6th session.

Can Lucia Light therapy be uncomfortable at all?

Possibly. During the session, I had the impulse to blink. It was a very strange feeling, as my eyes were closed the entire time. The lights are very bright and can flash very quickly. It feels almost like you're looking into the sun. I felt the best in the moments I let myself give in to the process—I felt more at ease and "surrounded" by all the light, not just looking at it.

After my session, I felt a bit dizzy and nauseous. The light therapist said it may have been due to me sitting up too quickly after my session... I think it may have been the fact I hadn't eaten in a few hours. Either way, I didn't feel great after (however I do believe this is far from the norm).

Can my mind really create intricate patterns and colors from white light?

Yes! It was shocking to me after a couple of minutes when the light in front of my eyes turned teal. I saw pinks, yellows, blues, and reds, along with lines and circles in patterns. It's bizarre, but it's very cool to know your mind individually made the things you see.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie King

@_stephanieking

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.