Longevity logo

7 Nigerian Celebrities Who've Been Diagnosed With COVID-19

"My world crashed."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

"My world crashed."

One of the most unexpected and life altering things that I and so many other people have experienced in their lifetime happened this year - The Coronavirus Pandemic.

Since the outbreak started, there have been at the time of this writing 44 Million Cases of which there have been 29.8 million recoveries and 1.17 million deaths.

Here in Nigeria too, we have experienced the effect of the virus with 62,224 recorded cases of which there have been 57,916 recoveries, and 1,135 deaths as at the time of this writing.

Nigeria’s entertainment industry has of course not been spared and with the latest announcement that celebrity couple, Jason and Mary Njoku have contracted the virus, I thought I would count down 7 Nigerian Celebrities Who Have Contracted The Coronavirus. Let’s go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1&2 Jason and Mary Njoku

Celebrity couple Jason Njoku, founder and CEO of Nigerian streaming website iROKOtv, and his wife, Mary Njoku, the popular Nollywood actress, producer and ROK film boss, both tested positive for COVID-19 earlier this week.

The revelation came through Twitter where hopped on this afternoon to talk about their experience. He said:

My enemies are hard at work in 2020. Mrs. Njoku and I tested positive for Covid-19. I’m not feeling great, but Mary is well. Literally no idea how I caught it. But we shall see this pass too.

3. Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde

Veteran Nollywood actress Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde opened up about her Coronavirus experience while reacting to a debate on how Nollywood can adhere to the health guidelines of COVID-19 before reopening productions.

Recalling her experience with the disease, the actress said:

I hardly fall ill and so when I left the set and started having chills the next day or so, I knew something wasn’t right. I thought it might be stress. This was on Monday, August 3. I waited till Tuesday and it got worse. I was shaking uncontrollably and my temperature was going through the roof.

My spirit told me immediately, this is not malaria or fever. I have been extremely careful and paranoid about this COVID-19 stuff. So I told hubby I needed to be tested immediately. I have a son that has Asthma!

They came to test me on Wednesday and my result came out on Thursday evening … Positive. My world crashed. I felt crazy and empty.

My symptoms were high fever and chills… luckily no other. But it was so bad, they contemplated coming to evacuate me as my viral load was high and I wasn’t getting better … but God arose for me. I went into isolation immediately. We got my result but my daughter started feeling funny.

So they had to come test the whole family … I had infected my daughter and asthmatic son! My God showed up for me as my son is asymptotic, so positive but not sick ! My daughter lost her smell and taste and had severe diarrhea. All has stopped now, thank God.

My husband and last son tested negative respectively. We are all now in remission … taking another test soon.

It’s physically, spiritually and emotionally exhausting as the doctors tell you it’s a 50/50 chance . Nothing you do really saves you. You can only take the vitamins, manage the symptoms and hope your body fights.

4. Jumabee

Another Nigerian celebrity who contracted the Coronavirus is singer, Jumabee who contracted the illness in UK and has since gone on to discuss his harrowing tale with the illness. He said:

HOW I AROSE FROM COVID-19.

I am sharing my story firstly to testify to the goodness of God and also to lend my voice to the numerous ongoing covid-19 campaigns.

About 2 weeks ago I developed high fever, severe headache and body pains, I thought it was malaria being that I had just come in from Nigeria so I started treating malaria but 3 days later my health got worse, I lost my appetite and became very weak. I couldn’t even sit up let alone stand or walk.

At this point I was thinking hope this is not covid 19 understanding that the UK was a high burden zone, but as I wasn’t coughing at the time, I tried to convince myself it was probably a bacterial infection so I started taking antibiotics, along with paracetamol and a lot of water but still no improvement then I certainly knew I needed help.

We called the ambulance consistently for 3 days but there was no response and even the times they responded, they said they were very busy and could not come. On the third day, they finally showed up, but at this moment, I was already battling for my life, I could no longer breathe properly, I was gasping for breath. Just before the doctors arrived that day I collapsed, I was literally gone. My friends had to perform CPR on me to resuscitate me.

When the paramedics finally came, they confirmed it was covid 19 but that they couldn’t take me to the hospital because all the hospitals were filled up and the NHS was overly overwhelmed, they said even if they took me to the hospital, I would most likely get worse because of the conditions there so they recommended I stayed at home and fight for my life.

After they left, I started having suicidal thoughts, nothing mattered anymore. I got even worse, cough started along with severe diarrhea, my skin began to peel too. Something just had to be done, with the help of many, we found a private hospital after days of search where I was stabilized for days.

On returning home after testing negative. I looked at myself in the mirror and couldn’t believe my eyes, I had lost so much weight, I started crying because I had thought that was the end for me but God gave me life.

5. Chioma

Singer Davido’s popular fiancée and mother of his child, Chioma earlier this year also tested positive for COVID-19.

The singer took to Instagram to announce the news saying:

Hey everyone ! I came back recently from America after cancelling tour. My fiancé Chioma also came back from London recently with our baby. We had no symptoms and still both feel perfectly fine but because of our recent travel history we decided to take ourselves and our all close associates we’ve come in recent contact with for the COVID-19 test on the 25th of March.

Unfortunately, my fiancé’s results came back positive while all 31 others tested have come back negative including our baby. We are however doing perfectly fine and she is even still yet to show any symptoms whatsoever. She is now being quarantined and I have also gone into full self isolation for the minimum 14 days. I want to use this opportunity to thank you all for your endless love and prayers in advance and to urge everyone to please stay at home as we control the spread of this virus! Together we can beat this!

Love, D.

6. Lola Alao

Popular Yoruba actress, Lola Alao revealed that earlier this year, she tested positive for Coronavirus but has now fully recovered from the deadly virus.

Writing about her experience with the deadly virus on Instagram, she said:

I tested positive to COVID-19 but I am fine now. To God be the glory.

I was sick to the bone and couldn't smell anything. I was so scared because I had kids to take care of. You don't ever want to imagine going into self-isolation and not seeing your loved ones. I don't know what you must have heard about COVID-19, but I tell you today that it is way deadlier than you can ever think of.

At this critical time when people are beginning to ignore the warnings against this virus, you can make a difference with your family members by being very conscious of the fact that it is still very much around.

There is a thin line between life and death. Please, be nice to everyone around you always. My name is Lola Alao. Stay very safe, my people.

7. Mr. P

Nigerian singer, Peter Okoye aka Mr. P earlier this year also revealed that he along with his wife and daughter got diagnosed with COVID-19. He said:

For the past three weeks, I have been ill and most people didn't even know what was wrong with me. I kept it to myself. It has been three weeks of hell for me and my family.

I had COVID19 for about three weeks and it happened to me.

I was sick and I tested positive.

The reason why I came out to say it is because I am going to encourage a lot of people concerning this whole social distancing, getting used to sanitizing your hands, disinfecting your environment, wearing your face mask and all that.

It's been hell for this family in this house. Not just me. Even two of my domestic staff.

After a week, my daughter caught the virus as well. It was sad that when she caught it, the doctor insisted that she has to be self isolated in her own room but my wife did something very courageous. She said no.

I was sick and I was being self-isolated in my guest room. I couldn't even see my sick daughter and I was feeling so bad. I felt so bad because I felt that I am the one who actually brought the virus to the house. It was so bad that I had to be calling her on video, checking on her.

The next day, my wife did someting very courageous. She picked our daughter from her room, held her and took her to the master bedroom and she called me and she started crying. I asked her what happened and she said I cannot live this girl alone. I would rather be infected and be with her.

Five or six days later, my daughter was pronounced negative. When she was pronounced negative, we knew it wasn't going to end there. The next day, Lola became positive. It has been hell but we had a bad experience.

I just want to tell everybody that this COVID19 is real. Don't take it for granted.

I am happy to announce that my wife, myself, our daughter and two of our domestic staff all of us are now negative.

The Coronavirus is still very much around. Please wear a mask, wash your hands, and continue to follow all the safety guidelines to keep you and your loved ones safe.

That’s All.

Don’t forget to like my page:

I'm sure you've loved reading this piece. To make sure you keep having fun and don't miss out on any fun in the future, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page above. It's a really fun page and you're really going to love it. So what's stopping you? Like it!

To catch up other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.