Lifehack logo

To Feel at Home

How Can I Capture That Feeling?

By Elise Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

‘I feel at home’ is a phrase many of us have heard but what does it really mean? Is it about being in an actual home that makes you feel a certain way or is there a deeper meaning to it?

For most of my life I have struggled to capture that feeling long enough to be at ease. As a teen and young adult living with my parents never made me feel peaceful because it was such a toxic environment. And whenever I went to other people’s houses, they were always so relaxed and happy, which left me wondering why I couldn’t feel that way in my own home.

It was only three years ago that I changed my life and moved out of my parent’s house and away from my hometown.

I thought by making this change I’d finally feel free but instead, I ended up in another house where I didn’t feel peaceful — a cold, comfortless place with too many housemates and ridiculous rules. It was still better than living with my parents, but I felt trapped in a whole different way.

I’d try to find ways to make my bedroom a place of comfort since that was the only space where I didn’t feel controlled by someone else. And it did work but only for a short time until reality knocked on the door and reminded me that this didn’t feel like ‘home’.

This led me to stay focused on a future dream — having my very own house where I could say ‘I feel at home’ and mean it. But because I was so focused on the future, I gave myself anxiety instead of hope. My present moment didn’t match with my future goal and I had no idea how I would get there.

Everything I was hoping for looked too far away and out of reach.

I spent so much of my time living in a fantasy and that made my present reality feel miserable. And as important as it is to prepare for a future that you’ll be happy with it’s also just as important to feel at peace in the now.

When I finally moved out of the cold, comfortless house once and for all, I ended up in the house I’m living in now and I believed that I’d still feel just as miserable.

But that could be further from the truth. It’s comfortable and peaceful to live in, yes but it’s the small moments that make me say ‘I feel at home here’.

I tried to capture that feeling with these photos.

About These Photos

These photos are a reminder that the feeling of ‘home’ can be found in the simplest moments, like the sun shining into your bedroom in the morning, the smell of fresh flowers from your garden, or the feeling of snuggling up on the sofa.

It’s truly whatever you want it to be, whatever makes you feel comfort, that's how to capture the feeling of being 'home'.

The succulents are a favourite of mine when I walk into the kitchen. Being able to have a little garden in the house really makes the space feel homely.

And of course, having flowers outside is a good reason to go into the garden and tend to the plants. Having flowers reminds me of spring and that's always been my favourite season. It's really comforting and can brighten up any garden.

The sun shining through the window is one of my favourite things on a clear day. Looking outside of my little window always comforts me. It brightens my room and my mood no matter what. And even though there isn’t much of a view I still love sitting by the window and feeling the fresh breeze sweep past me. And bonus is there's always birds flying around my window.

The lounge room is one of the most comforting spaces for most houses. I've always loved a soft cozy blanket and a big cuddly couch - especially on rainy days. And even though this lounge room is very simple it's still very cozy.

I took these photos on pro mode and did a simple edit by cropping and lightening each photo. Surprisingly they came out quite nice considering my phone is quite a few years old.

So if you're struggling to find that comfort that I too struggled to find I really hope this article helped put things into perspective for you. Just remember to find the small moments that bring a little light to your life and build your way up to the ultimate goal you're so desperate to reach. Good luck! Thanks for reading, have a great day.

house
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.