Lifehack logo

The Sisters Pause

Does it Ever End?

By Janet Broomfield JohnsonPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1
The Sisters Pause

In most of our lives, our paths will cross with the Pause Sisters. I say most because I have run into women who say they never met them. That however was not the case with me. Allow me to share with you my experience with these Sisters.

I first met Sister Premenopause in my late forties. She crept into my life bringing an increase in cramps when I would have my periods. I would experience episodes of anxiety, irritability, nausea, and mood swings. I was uncertain as to what was going on but I struggled through.

Four years later, in my early fifties, I started to have hot flashes. I recall shopping in Walmart one day, all of a sudden I could feel the heat traveling through my body. Oddly enough it started in my feet and rose to my head. It was so intense I had to sit down for a few minutes to compose myself. I realized that I had met Sister Perimenopause. With her, I started to have night sweats, increased mood swings, irregular periods, vaginal dryness, and a loss of libido. I knew what was going on with my hormones by that time and started searching for ways to combat the symptoms. I used teas and herbs to help decrease my symptoms. They helped somewhat but the symptoms kept increasing.

Then oh Lawd, the hot flashes and night sweats increased. I would sometimes awaken during the night drenched in sweat. At that time my periods were very irregular, ranging from flowing heavy to missed months. I knew without a doubt I had met Sister Menopause. My libido was nearly nonexistent, and my anxiety was off the chain. It got so bad I went to my physician who suggested I try Prozac. I took it for about a month, it had me so disorganized I ceased to take it. Sister Menopause stayed in my life for quite a few years.

Finally, in my mid-sixties, she bid me farewell and I met her Sister Postmenopause. At last many of my symptoms started to decrease. My libido increased, and I had little anxiety and no periods. Vaginal dryness lingered and still exists in my life today. A major concern with Sister Postmenopause is a higher risk of osteoporosis, coronary artery disease, and UTI infections.

The Sisters share some common symptoms, the major difference is as you progress through your journey with them the symptoms increase. Despite what the medical community has to say your body does not need estrogen replacement. Menopause is a natural progression of our estrogen levels shifting. As our estrogen decreases our vulva starts to thin out and become less flexible. To reduce many of the symptoms I would like to suggest the following natural remedies.

Use a natural lubricant, coconut oil is a great one. It is an antifungal and can prevent yeast infections. However, be aware if you use latex condoms use a different one as coconut oil can cause a break in latex.

As well try seed cycling, choose a day to start your seeds. Day one to 15 eat flaxseed and pumpkin seeds (two tablespoons of ground seeds each). Day 15 to 30 consume sesame and sunflower seeds(two tablespoons each). The combination will naturally increase your estrogen. You can add these seeds to salads, yogurt, and smoothies.

Have more sex, yes you read that right. Regular sex can help stimulate blood flow and moisture in the vagina. If your vagina is feeling dry and uncomfortable, try using pure aloe vera gel around the outside. Buy an aloe vera plant, they are beautiful and inexpensive. Break off a piece and there is your gel.

Adding estrogen-rich foods to your diet can help keep your vagina healthy during menopause and even helps with hot flashes, mood swings, fatigue, and weight gain. Try adding some of the following foods each week to your diet.

Soy products including tofu, soy milk, and soy yogurt. Peaches, strawberries, green beans, bean sprouts, black beans, walnuts, peanuts, garlic, dates, and red wine ( in moderation).

Wear cotton underwear and avoid pantyhose. Cotton breathes and allows air to access the vaginal area. Last but not least, go commando at night. That doesn't mean you have to sleep in the nude, although there are many benefits to that practice. Opt for loose-fitting pajamas or cotton boxers to allow your vulva to breathe.

To answer the question, does it ever end? I can only say that at the age of 73, now and then, I awake during the night or early morning with sweat underneath my breasts. It occurs infrequently, but it does happen.

Most importantly, I encourage you to be selfish; this is a time to do you. Do something special for yourself. Take a walk in nature, enjoy the sunset, and go out dancing with your friends. Sip your favorite wine and take a luxury bath. Live your life Gyrls !

health
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.