Lifehack logo

The Power of Encouragement: How One Small Moment Changed My Life

Overcoming Self-Doubt and Pursuing Your Dreams

By Ritika HirauPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

One small moment in my life that had a big impact on me was when I was in high school and my English teacher encouraged me to submit a piece of my writing to a local writing competition. At the time, I was extremely insecure about my writing abilities and had never shared my work with anyone outside of my immediate family.

My teacher saw potential in my writing and urged me to take a chance and submit my work. I was hesitant at first, but eventually mustered up the courage to send in my piece.

A few weeks later, I received an email informing me that my piece had won first place in the competition. I was completely shocked and overwhelmed with emotions. I couldn't believe that something I had written was good enough to win a competition.

That small moment of encouragement and recognition from my teacher had a huge impact on me. It gave me the confidence to continue pursuing writing and to share my work with others. It also taught me the importance of taking risks and stepping out of my comfort zone.

From that point on, I started to believe in myself more and to take my writing more seriously. I joined the school newspaper and started submitting pieces to other writing competitions. I even went on to pursue a degree in English and Creative Writing in college.

Looking back, I realize that if it weren't for that small moment in my life, I may have never pursued writing as passionately as I have. That one bit of encouragement gave me the confidence and motivation to pursue my dreams, and I will forever be grateful for that small but significant moment.

After winning the writing competition, I felt a newfound sense of purpose and direction in my life. I had always loved writing, but had never considered it as a serious career path. Winning the competition made me realize that maybe, just maybe, I had what it took to pursue writing as a profession.

I started taking writing classes in college and spent countless hours honing my craft. I devoured books on writing and sought out opportunities to share my work with others. I joined writing groups and attended writing conferences, soaking up as much knowledge and advice as I could.

But despite my newfound passion for writing, I still struggled with self-doubt and imposter syndrome. I was constantly comparing myself to other writers and felt like I would never measure up. I started to question whether I was really cut out for a career in writing.

It wasn't until I attended a writing conference and had the opportunity to meet some of my favorite authors that I realized that even the most successful writers struggle with self-doubt. One author, who had won numerous awards and had multiple bestsellers, confided in me that she still felt like a fraud every time she sat down to write.

That conversation was a wake-up call for me. I realized that self-doubt was just a part of the creative process and that I shouldn't let it hold me back. I started to give myself more grace and to focus on the process of writing, rather than the end result.

Over the years, I've had many ups and downs in my writing career. There have been times when I've felt on top of the world, and times when I've wanted to give up completely. But through it all, I've never forgotten that one small moment in my life that had such a big impact.

Whenever I start to doubt myself or my abilities, I think back to that day when my English teacher encouraged me to submit my writing to a competition. I think about how different my life would be if I had never taken that chance, and it reminds me that I have what it takes to succeed as a writer.

That small moment in my life has taught me so much about the power of encouragement and the importance of taking risks. It has shown me that even the smallest bit of recognition can have a huge impact on someone's life, and that we should never underestimate the power of our words and actions.

I often wonder how many other people out there are sitting on a talent or passion, too afraid to share it with the world. How many people just need a small nudge or word of encouragement to pursue their dreams?

I believe that we all have the power to make a difference in someone's life, whether it's through a kind word or a simple act of encouragement. We never know how our words or actions might impact someone else, and that's a powerful thing to remember.

In the end, that small moment in my life has shaped me into the person I am today. It has given me the courage to pursue my dreams and the resilience to overcome the inevitable setbacks and challenges that come with a career in writing.

And who knows? Maybe one day, I'll have the opportunity to encourage someone else to take a chance on their dreams, just like my English teacher did for me all those years ago.

book reviewsschoolhow to
1

About the Creator

Ritika Hirau

"Emotions are so different in every situation and every moment, so I think to agonize every moment is what life is."

Suga...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.