Lifehack logo

The Place That I Love.

This post is based on my own personality.

By Sarah DanielPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
photo by Rick Lobs from unsplash

Here, I feel serene, content, and tranquil. The air is thick with a pleasant aroma that cannot be contained in a bottle since it is not a synthetic fragrance.

It's not a huge room, but it's also not a little one either; I'd call it "cosy." On the left, between large, open fields, and on the right, between red-brick homes.

In this sanctuary, which serves as my personal escape from the outside world, I sing loudly out of sheer delight at being here. I can laugh so hard that my face is drenched in tears. And above everything else, I feel loved here. While I'm here, I feel love wrap and surround me. I adore this place.

When I arrive and raise my head, I am welcomed with the sight of lush, green grass that is occasionally cut too short. Other times, they are let to develop naturally and harmoniously, not in a mystical or delicate way.

This grass is never crossed by me; instead, I prefer to round and walk through the densely packed gravel to one side. The gravel, which was previously meticulously scraped flat, now lies in waves like the sea during a storm, nearly forgotten. little rocky outcrops were pushed up into them, leaving other areas barren and frightened by the footprints of tiny feet.

My way is blocked by a blue, wooden gate, which I can simply unlock so that its rusted, unoiled hinges may swing open. When I enter, it swiftly slams shut, pushed by the wind and with loud protests from the hinges. It only takes a very melancholy-looking blue gate to transport me from a world of commotion and violence to one of peace and love.

I take a deep breath and detect the scent of flowers, bunnies, and stinky trainers that had been tossed away because the owner needed to be someplace else. I can smell the decaying leaves that were once a beautifully built home for ladybirds that have long ago flown away in an old fish tank.

I have a key to this place. Not a fantastic brilliant gold key, but a little silver one. This small key may open any door, but I am certain that it will open this particular door to the realm of peace and love. In addition to this key, a picture is hanging from it. I stare at it in awe as three of the most adorable, cherubic kids that have ever lived on this planet stare back at me. They're all grinning widely and holding on tight as the rollercoaster hurls them away from the camera.

I enter this unique space after unlocking it. I glance around, knowing that if anybody else had entered via this door, they would have found chaos, the remains of a break-in, a violent battle, or maybe a minor nuclear accident. I don't see any of that. I imagine a lovely painting of flowers and butterflies, with the artist having set out their supplies in anticipation of their return.

I saw little automobiles slithering over the floor, carefully and precisely lined up, like the M25 at rush hour. I saw a little Lego square house being constructed by a budding architect. I spot a single little welly boot that is missing its buddy and a Noddy pyjama shirt with jam all over the front.

I enter a another room by following sticky finger prints, where I sit.

I sit and consider how fortunate I am and how precious my favorite spot is to me. When I glance up, I can see that it won't be long until another day of school is finished. I can already hear the sighs and laughs of students who have homework to complete and are told, "No, you can't have another biscuit."

This location, this amazing and magical location? I live there.

house

About the Creator

Sarah Daniel

Writer, blogger, activist. Blog, Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah DanielWritten by Sarah Daniel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.