Lifehack logo

Resin Making

How to use Resin

By Ada ZubaPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
Resin Making
Photo by Javier Esteban on Unsplash

I am proud to say that I am a crafty person, I spend so much time and effort making resin. I even made some and gave them out as presents to my co-workers, the nice thing about resin is that is lasts a while and you can make so many interesting designs with it. You can create art or even practical things such as key chains, and coasters. It is such a unique art that I think is so relaxing to work on. I've never made anything larger than a tray though, but it is also hard to perfect. The ratios need to be exact otherwise it will not work and there's no way to fix it, so start with something small, if you do decide to pursue this hobby. There are a few supplies which you will need:

  • Resin kit
  • Plastic tablecloth
  • Molds
  • Sharpie/ permanent marker

I usually get my supplies from Amazon as it tends be significantly cheaper to purchase than at your local art store. The resin I use is great as it comes with gloves, measuring cups, stir sticks this way you do not have to go and get most of the other supplies yourself. See below for the links:

There are also other resin kits that you can purchase that comes with pigments and colors and molds, so you can just buy everything in one go:

The molds that this particular kit comes with are very hard to master as a beginner as you need to make multiple layers and it is much more time consuming to make. However, there are also other types of resin such as UV where you do not need to mix, but you do need a uv light in order to cure it, and it is much less time consuming:

If you are impatient this the kit I would recommend as it comes with everything you need. It is also a lot harder to mess up when you use UV resin, so it is very beginner friendly.

I recommend you use a plastic tablecloth because resin is very difficult to clean off of surfaces when it is not cured as it gets sticky, and I have ruined a very good coffee table with resin because I thought "I'll be really careful". Nope. Just use the tablecloth:

I usually buy mine at the dollar store as they are much more affordable, there's also these ones:

My favorite molds are ones that make more practical things such as cup holders, and coasters or ones that you make your own jewelry. I really like the keychain ones as they make great gifts.

I really enjoy making coasters and the kit below comes with two different sets:

If you are into boards games or dungeons and Dragons, this is a really cool way of making your own die:

I've made bookmarks and I love using these molds, it can get tricky if you are working with an uneven surface. You can find so many resin molds off of amazon it is ridiculous!

The last thing you need is a permanent marker, just a small thin one should be fine:

Now, that you have all the supplies, you need to take your permanent marker and find the measuring lines and mark them in black, I find it is easier to see the measurements this way because once you pour in your resin, it gets very hard to see the measurements.

By Campaign Creators on Unsplash

Next you want to clear your table and lay down the tablecloth. take out your molds that you plan on using and make sure they are on a flat surface. Some resin does have self-levelling, which makes it easier to work with.

Next, you will carefully pour each part of the resin of an even 1:1 ratio. If it is slightly uneven it will not turn out! So be very careful with this!

By Luis Quintero on Unsplash

Then, you will grab the stir stick and stir it slowly to avoid making bubbles in your resin and stir it until it is completely transparent and mixed well. Then, you can add pigments and colors and mix that in as well, once you have exactly what you want, you can begin to pour it into your mold, some resin kits do come with an eyedrop to have the right quantities of resin. Then, you just have to wait for it to cure. After it is cured you can either sell your product on Etsy or keep it for yourself or better yet give it as Christmas gifts or birthday gifts! *I receive commission from amazon if you click my links*

Thanks! I hope you enjoy your new hobby and if not I hope you enjoyed reading this!

how tocrafts

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ada ZubaWritten by Ada Zuba

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.