Lifehack logo

Reigning in Bad Bipolar Spending Habits

It Can Be Done

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Bad spending habits can be stopped if you just sit on your money, and have whole days where you don’t spend a dime. As a low-income person, I have to save money every which way I can. It almost takes crazy money saving habits to new heights. I mean I can go to the store and spend minimum $15-20. I have spaghetti and meatballs I need to cook, along with crepes, because I have flour for those. I made myself a potato soup, which turned out well. My next soup excursion will happen after my Internet bill clears, and I have time to go to the store.

I’m a minimalist spender. I can get the Sunnyside garbage bags for cheaper. I think I can find Brita water filters online. I didn’t blow as much money on Target as I previously thought. My Target bill is manageable. Some people, who overspend, do so without thinking about having a budget. Budgets stop you from spending too much. Bipolar disorder causes mania in which the manic person imagines they can spend money when they do not always have the means to spend that much money. This is why in some ways, I stay low income, so I can reign in bad spending habits.

Some people worse than I am have very bad spending habits. If you are on a low budget, you can’t spend $30 per grocery shopping trip. Bad spending habits can be reigned in by giving the debit and credit cards to a non-manic person. Society loves to keep mania going. They edge it on. They like people who wantonly spend money, because when you have actual money, you get treated well, too well. Having money makes people treat those who have money like a princess.

Wise spending habits need to be used accordingly. I do the reverse budget each month, as in, I get a spreadsheet together of everywhere I spent money on the category, such as groceries, or gasoline. This month, I’m trying to reign in my grocery spending habits. I have food left over from other months. I have crackers from the food bank. I have been eating cornflakes for breakfast for like four years now. I was wondering when I wanted the excuse to eat oatmeal instead. I have oatmeal from a said food bank, I may as well do that instead.

Don’t spend money unless you absolutely have to. Go to thrift shops for items such as clothing, although for things like bras, it's okay to spend money at Kohl's using their charge card. Charge cards such as the Target credit card as well are useful in the buy now, pay later, that becomes routine. Charge cards do save money because you pay it at the beginning of the month. My car insurance is also something I have to pay for on the 1st, at the beginning of each month. If I wind up with money, I’m paying off my car insurance.

This is why I’m making an effort to write short stories or novellas to publish online. I want to get more money in the bank. I’m done being dirt poor. I can publish articles and fiction. This can make money. Bad spending habits need to be reigned in. This is why I’m staying home a lot these days, as it is crunch time. I want to write. I want to publish. I really would like to make more money. Sometimes those of us on the bipolar spectrum can’t help our bad spending habits but they must be reigned in.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.