Lifehack logo

Quit Smoking…

Research and Help

By Michael GimeraPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Photo by: Michael Gimera

Nicotine is considered THE most addictive substance, and the toughest to give up. That belief is shared almost unanimously amongst alcoholics and drug addicts; people who have gone through 12-Step Programs to deal with drinking or other drug use.

“Nonetheless, by the 1980s, after the health threats of smoking became widely publicized, about half of Americans who had ever smoked addictively quit. Most remarkable of all, more than 90% of them quit without any kind of treatment.”[1] Stanton Peele.

To those who have never smoked, the “problem” of quitting makes no sense: To stop smoking is easier than smoking ~ it requires ZERO effort on your part! For example, when you would normally go outside and smoke,… don’t! Or when you would run to the store in a panic because you’re running low; stay put, relax and save your money!! To these people, quitting smoking isn’t something you actively do. Instead, smoking is just something you stop doing. The change is instant. And Easy.

I began smoking when I was 14 years old. Although I made regular attempts at quitting I had limited success; lasting anywhere from a few days to a year. With those exceptions; I smoked regularly for about 28 years! In those 28 years, I’ve tried several quit smoking methods, read several books on the subject, and put in plenty of research time. I even once wrote a program in Visual Basic to help myself quit and track progress. This article describes my latest efforts. (Note: I’m not a doctor or biologist; just some guy going through the same thing you are; I’m assuming you’re trying to quit smoking if you’re reading this article.)

As of this writing, I’ve been nicotine-free for 2 months, by which I mean no replacement nicotine therapies or gimmicks. ONLY TWO MONTHS!!?? And writing a how-to article? Yeah, would you rather hear from someone with a white lab coat and condescending tone? Sometimes the best coaches are in the worst shape! And it’s not about what I’ve done with the information, it’s what you do with it.

In all of Canada in 2012; 23.1% of men were smokers and 17.5% of women were smokers. Down 1.2% and 1% respectively. While most provinces are around the national average of 20.3% (men & women combined), B.C. And Ontario are on the low end: 14.5% and 19% respectively are smokers. On the high end are Nunavut: 54.3% and the North West Territories: 35.8%[2]

One possible reason for British Columbia being so far below the national average smoking population is that B.C.’s health insurance (HIBC/MSP) covers the cost of prescription and non-prescription smoking cessation products; making them virtually ‘free’ to the end-user.[3] While each province and territory has public-funded “quit smoking” websites, Yukon’s Quitpath.ca is the only other site that outlines ‘free’ smoking cessation products. Paradoxically, Yukon has a high percentage of smokers; 29.4%. The difference between Yukon and B.C.’s programs and the number of smokers might be attributed to fewer people being online in the Yukon and less advertising & awareness of the program in Yukon. Cultural differences may also play a role.

Quitting With Prescription Products

The current prescription products for smoking cessation are Zyban [Bupropion] and Chantix [Varenicline]. I tried Zyban back in the '90s and personally did not find it very effective. I stopped taking Zyban after further researching it and after experiencing certain negative side effects. Zyban is an anti-depressant, which on the face of it makes sense when quitting your “feel good” cigarettes. However, in my opinion, some of the side effects can be downright frightening, if not themselves cause for depression! Zyban's possible side effects include: agitation, dry mouth, insomnia, headache, nausea, constipation, and tremor. Some patients experience weight loss on Zyban. Seizures also occur, especially at higher doses. Using Zyban while pregnant increases the risk of the baby having a heart defect[4]. I’m not saying that Zyban won’t work for you. My personal, non-medical professional, opinion is to avoid it or at least weigh the option fully informed and carefully.

According to an article on Natural News by S.D. Wells[5], Chantix blocks nicotine receptor sites in the brain. It also blocks naturally occurring dopamine and serotonin; making anxiety and depression worse!! I’ve never personally tried Chantix, nor do I feel I would like to based on what I’ve read. Chantix can prevent a person from being able to cope with anxiety, depression, and frustration. The “fight or flight” reactions are disabled, making even small problems seem insurmountable; leading to intense anxiety and suicidal ideation (meaning thoughts of suicide)! The listed side effects of Chantix include; agitation, depression, the onset of: psychosis, mania, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and hallucinations. Some patients attempt or commit suicide. (Dead people don’t smoke).

Again, I’m no doctor, but my personal feeling is that this is not a drug for ingesting, it’s a drug for laying down and avoiding!!

Quitting With Nicotine Replacements

There’s lots to choose from!! Patches, Inhalers, Sprays, Lozenges, Gum[6], E-Cigs…and more!! Anything where you’re getting your nicotine fix somewhere other than cigarettes. Yet again; I’m not a doctor. These options strike me as much safer than the prescriptions. The longest I quit for so far (about a year), was done with the help of nicotine patches. Getting yourself “psyched-up” with a good book about quitting smoking really helps with this method. On the upside; you’re cutting out the over 400 adverse chemicals you would be getting from cigarettes. On the downside; you’re still on nicotine, and after breaking the ‘habit’ you still need to break the addiction. It should be noted though, that most of these replacements deliver significantly less nicotine than a cigarette.

Natural Remedies

I considered hypnosis to be an interesting alternative. Although I haven’t been to a hypnotist in person, I did try Max Kirsten’s Quit Smoking Hypnotherapy[7] audio app on my iPhone (available through iTunes). I found the program had some positive effect; I did cut down without really noticing until I realized I wasn’t buying a new pack of smokes as often. Actor Ewan McGregor claims that Kirsten’s program was instrumental in his quitting smoking. My tip here is to make time each day to listen to the audio. Alas, I did not.

Also on the natural front is a program promoted by NaturalNews.com called “14 and Out”[8]. The program looks at dietary solutions and organic cigarettes which reduce your exposure to chemicals as you wean yourself off nicotine painlessly while supplementing with diet to boost your body’s natural dopamine production!!

Technically, there are really only 3 things any of us “enjoy”, they are: dopamine, serotonin, and oxytocin.

Nicotine is a dopamine mimic and works to raise “feel good” dopamine levels artificially. The more you smoke, the less your body produces dopamine on its own. Eventually, you are not able to feel pleasure without first having a cigarette. That’s where the dependency comes in and that’s what the 14 And Out program aims to reverse with diet and supplements.

According to Psychology Today[9] you can boost your natural dopamine levels by embracing a new goal (like quitting smoking!). You can also find other dopamine-boosting diets online, like this one at DoctorOz.com[10]

Conclusion

So what’s the best way to quit smoking? Well since everybody’s “quit” or experience is different, I can’t give you an absolute; except to say that the best way to quit smoking is the one that ultimately works for you!

I do recommend you exercise extreme caution and ask your doctor a lot of questions if you choose to use the prescriptions; Zyban, Chantix, or similar… I personally don’t like them, but that’s just my personal opinion. What I found in my latest attempt was that tracking my progress with an app (how long have I gone, how much money saved) and repeating to myself; “Not another Puff, No Matter What” has helped keep my focus. I used transdermal patches for a couple of days at the start but then got on with the business of detoxing from nicotine. It’s also been a combination of more hypnosis apps, diet, and especially past experience. When I get a “nic-fit” now, I try to enjoy it. I tell myself that’s the feeling of my body healing itself.

In the end, this article won’t “make you quit”. But hopefully, it’s given you something to think about and maybe set you on a new path…adventure.

Best of luck to you!

Resources:

Stanton Peele, 7 Tools to Beat Addiction Pg. 11. Copyright 2004. Three Rivers Press, New York, NY.

Https://Statcan.gc.ca

Https://www.quitnow.ca/

Http://www.drugbank.ca/drugs/DB01156

Http://www.naturalnews.com/033621_Chantix_Zyban.html

Http://www.nicorette.ca

Https://www.maxkirsten.com/

Https://www.amazon.com/14-Out-Stop-Smoking-Naturally/dp/1940192234

Https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/your-neurochemical-self/201212/five-ways-boost-your-natural-happy-chemicals

Http://www.doctoroz.com/article/dopamine-diet

Resources not directly referenced in this article:

https://www.pfizer.ca/sites/g/files/g10017036/f/201410/Smoking_Cessation_0.pdf[note: Pfizer manufactures Chantix]

Https://www.livescience.com/15115-5-health-benefits-smoking-disease.html[Yes, there actually are benefits of smoking, so we weren’t complete morons for doing it.]

Footnotes:

[1]Stanton Peele, 7 Tools to Beat Addiction Pg. 11. Copyright 2004. Three Rivers Press, New York, NY.

[2]Https://Statcan.gc.ca

[3]Https://www.quitnow.ca/

[4]Http://www.drugbank.ca/drugs/DB01156

[5]Http://www.naturalnews.com/033621_Chantix_Zyban.html

[6]Http://www.nicorette.ca

[7]Https://www.maxkirsten.com/

[8]Https://www.amazon.com/14-Out-Stop-Smoking-Naturally/dp/1940192234

[9]Https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/your-neurochemical-self/201212/five-ways-boost-your-natural-happy-chemicals

[10]Http://www.doctoroz.com/article/dopamine-diet

health
1

About the Creator

Michael Gimera

Michael is an author and background actor with varied interests.

I try to write slowly, in deference to those who don't read very fast. ;)

Whether you loved, endured or hated my story; please leave a comment to tell me about it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.