Lifehack logo

One Mans Junk Is Another Mans Treasure

Be You

By Michaela VallesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
One Mans Junk Is Another Mans Treasure
Photo by Kaylin Pacheco on Unsplash

It is true what they say 'One mans junk is another mans treasure.' I have treasures that are near and dear to my heart; and memory of thrifting for me starts young. Saturday mornings would roll around and I would hear the honk outside signaling that my grandparents were ready to take me garage saling. My Popo (grandpa) would hand me $5.00 and the excitment would set in. The idea of paying for something full price was unthinkable even at the ripe young age of 9. Pulling up to a garage sale, my heart would race. I would already be scoping out the long white tables of grage sale goods. If my grandma saw something she liked but couldn't get out of the car fast enough I would run to her rescue and grab it. As time went on the thrill of finding items that I could buy for $1.00 vs retail price grew. I was on the hunt for treasure. It was partially also because I used to watch this show on TV that showed people taking in random pieces of plates or knick knacks and the value of the item was quadruple what the guy actually paid for at a thrift store.I remember as a kid finding unopened bath and body works perfumes for $.50 a piece. Growing up in a small town, that was a big deal! I would smell expensive, but little did people know I found it at a garage sale. Growin up second has was frowned upon. So even though I found such wonderful items to call my own, I would never brag about it to my friends. Name brand mattered, and so did apperance and the look of 'new.' As I grew older and realized the value of dollar earned and gained confidence I was able to overcome the opinion of others in that area of my life. Instead of shying away from being second hand , I was proud of it. In my early 20's I found a basket full of unopened Ulta Beauty products. There were eyeshadows, lip glosses, and blushes. When I asked the lady at check out how much, because they weren't marked she said $00.10 a piece. I was able to complete a beauty look that most would spend $75.00 for only $1.10! You better believe I posted that one on facebook. Last year I was able to score a pearl necklace originally priced $40.00 for $2.00! I never wore it but just knowing I had it made it worth it. Church sales are my favorite. It's usually packed with good stuff that people generously give. The best thing I have found there was a Dave's Ramsey DVD set for Financial Peace University. I looked it up online and the value of those DVD's were worth $129.99. I purchsed this wonderful life chaning set for $1.00. My smile was ear to ear beaming with excitment; Dave would have been so proud. I am also very happy with my finds like $1.00 capris with a Kohls tag of $27.00. Or, the basketball shorts I bought for $1.50 and when I got home realized someone left $3.00 cash in the pocket. Now, thrifting is also about bargaining. I remember one sale in particular, this guy wanted $10.00 for a coca cola crate. My mom really wanted the crate but didn't feel like it was worth his asking price. I don't know honestly what came over me, but I walked up to the guy and said 'We have $5.00 for that crate , take it or leave it.' He took it! My mom was shocked, and my sister actually told me I was cool. Imgaine my ego. haha. After that I decided people are trying to get rid of stuff, and if they REALLY want it gone; they will bargain. So going forward I have learned the hustle of a good bargain. I never ask 'is this negotiable' I always ask 'will you take ________ 'fill in the blank with the amount of money you are willing to pay. I gurantee 85% of the time, they will accept. If you were to walk into my room right now, I could point out maybe a handful of items that are new. People always ask me 'Aren't you afraid of bed bugs.' My answer 'No.' Here's a tip, always wash what you buy. If you don't have a washer at least let it sit in the sun and bake. This way the germs are dying, well in my opinion. Don't let anyone tell you that you aren't good enough because of where you get your clothes. Hey, someone at one point had to pay full price; and just smile that it wasn't you.

how to

About the Creator

Michaela Valles

I like iced coffee and writing. Guess I joined the right group :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michaela VallesWritten by Michaela Valles

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.