Lifehack logo

Natural Remedies

things to help you during your sick days

By Luna RuizPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Back in June of this year, I had met this guy. Yes, all this to make a boy happy. We started talking and soon sex, we discovered, was a great addiction for the both of us. We both agreed that I would get on birth control because the thought of a baby was something we both didn't want at the time. So I went to the nearest planned parenthood and got onto the patch. Oh, how effective it was. Almost a month later, I would end up in the hospital. The number of hormones from the birth control that were being projected into my body almost killed me. They had discovered a huge blood clot in my left leg. I went into procedure immediately to get it removed and was there for a week and a half. They put me on a blood thinner for the remainder of the year. But this one little pill could not be taken with any other antibiotic or vitamins or I could have some serious bleeding internally.

So today I lay in my bed sick with a headache, congestion, and a really bad cough, telling you how I am trying to making myself feel better. All-natural remedies, no antibiotics.

Coughing:

-honey: this is a great way to soothe the throat if it's dry and help relieve a sore throat or a cough just by itself. Honey has antibacterial products and soothes irritation. I bought myself a squeezable bottle of raw, unfiltered honey and been sucking on it the same way a baby would a bottle. Soon after my throat felt so much better and my cough had almost gone anyway altogether. You can, also, take it one spoonful at a time. Please do not drink it all in one sitting. Small doses every hour or so.

Sore Throat:

-warm water and lemon: This is what I've been using. I am not allowed to drink most teas, so I do not drink them at all. So warm water and lemon is my overall recommendation for clearing a sore throat. It might not be effective immediately but being consistent helps.

-saltwater: this is a very old remedy that runs in my family. It is also known to kill bacteria in the throat. Should be done every few hours. You take half a teaspoon and a cup of water, mix. Gargle for a few seconds.

-Apple cider vinegar: This is one remedy I used once and found it very effective. It kills the bacteria in the throat. This is very acidic so plenty of water during the sessions should be ingested. But take a teaspoon of the apple cider vinegar and dilute it with a cup of water. Gargle. Do this every few hours.

Now going up in a Mexican household I will recommend one thing and one thing only for congestion or being sick in general:

Anything hot and spicy!!! Your congestion will clear up so much and make you feel so much better. I usually make a soup of any kind and add Tapatio to it. A lot of it. Boom. All your mocos will be gone. Congestion gone.

But for those of you who can not take spicy. I get it. I'm not always in the mood for it. So some more remedies I grew up with to get you out of being sick are:

-take a hot bath or shower. Allowing yourself to sit in the steam will clear the body of bad toxins.

-Vicks VapoRub: rub them all over your back and chest and sit some under your nose.

-Wrap yourself in a lot of blankets and clothing. Sweat those toxins out of your body. I am doing it right now.

-Donald Duck Orange Juice: Please don't question me on this one. It helps. I had a bottle of it earlier. Vitamin C is a must to getting your immune system back up there.

So there are some remedies to help you get out of being sick. I hope they help. But I am not licensed, so please speak to a medical professional if it is concerning, especially with Covid out there. Stay distant. Wash your hands. And stay home when possible. : )

health
1

About the Creator

Luna Ruiz

i remember writing my first story in 1st grade. It was about a girl like me, she had glasses and long dark hair. she was teased on, but was very smart with her words...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.